Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 13:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12 with 3.4.2 kernel.
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 89 [1330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 87, 88, 89 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 18:33    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
What comes to my mind...you could test if manual coretemp module loading helps.
In console: # modprobe coretemp


Booted 5.X.3.2.9 live in the regular P4. Error message appeared.Checked "sensors" under Hardinfo .....blank. Ran "modprobe coretemp" in terminal and rechecked "sensors" ....still blank.Restarted X and error message reappeared.

EDIT: Running "sensor-detect". Found a SMSC LPC47M172 Super IO Fan Sensor and reports success.However,at the end of the process the terminal reports that there is no driver for that sensor available.
EDIT 2:
Went ahead and upgraded the frugal install to 5.X.3.2.9 while I'm already there. See what it does from an install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 18:58    Post subject:  

Error message continued to appear in a fresh frugal install. My quick and dirty workaround ....... I deleted "temp2tray" from /root/startup/ ....... no more error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 22:28    Post subject: mt-paint-40  

MT-Paint-40

When an area is selected for 'Copy'... then a new graphic is loaded to paste it into... The 'paste' item hides itself at the r/h bottom of the screen, all that is noticeable is broken-line of the top of the paste item. You can (very carefully) click on that broken-line and drag the paste-item up but, it's a real pain and most not familiar with the graphic program will never find it!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 22:40    Post subject: 3.2.9  

pemasu wrote:
-----------------------------------------------------
sszindian. No I dont get it. I get cpu temp info through sensors input ok.
I suppose we need to ask 01micko about the solution. It sounds like quite simple editing is needed.
Have you run in console: # sensors-detect ...and does it fix the popping up ?
------------------------------------------------------

Yes I tried that and it doesn't fix it! The '# line' fix is posted in Slacko development somewhere where I was kidding 01micko about throwing 'pretty pink' notices at us and James C said... 'I thought it would just go away!!! Laughing Laughing Laughing 'Thanks for remembering James C!'

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4111
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 19:50    Post subject: An ISO will boot straight to desktop if it has this  

An Exprimo will boot straight to desktop without stopping on its initial boot should this be added or appended to kernel-append line
Code:
pkeys=us
This is the default. This means that Exprimo will get all of its localization settings at desktop, FirstRUN, rather than stopping along the way.

Just a note for the next Exprimo build.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4111
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 20:33    Post subject:  

Unusual problem today with Libre3.4.2 where installation on Exprimo 5X3292 had an odd occurance.

Scenaryo
Booted ISO using Netboot on a laptop to customize and remaster a multi-session CDRW with SAMBA, JRE, LibreOffice, and AngryIP (another JAVA application) All seemed to go well until I looked for Libre in the menu system.

Not there....before/after remaster. The screen below are before remaster

Probably minor.
NotetoExprimothread-PPM.png
 Description   Its installed according to the PPM
 Filesize   82.85 KB
 Viewed   765 Time(s)

NotetoExprimothread-PPM.png

NotetoExprimothread-NO_LibreOfficeinMenu.png
 Description   Not there
 Filesize   62.34 KB
 Viewed   775 Time(s)

NotetoExprimothread-NO_LibreOfficeinMenu.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 23:35    Post subject: Re: 3.2.9  

sszindian wrote:
pemasu wrote:
-----------------------------------------------------
sszindian. No I dont get it. I get cpu temp info through sensors input ok.
I suppose we need to ask 01micko about the solution. It sounds like quite simple editing is needed.
Have you run in console: # sensors-detect ...and does it fix the popping up ?
------------------------------------------------------

Yes I tried that and it doesn't fix it! The '# line' fix is posted in Slacko development somewhere where I was kidding 01micko about throwing 'pretty pink' notices at us and James C said... 'I thought it would just go away!!! Laughing Laughing Laughing 'Thanks for remembering James C!'

>>>---Indian------>


Several of us were getting that error message in Slacko.....
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=598888#598888
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 02:13    Post subject:  

Gcmartin. Does in console:
Code:
fixmenus
jwm -reload

fix the problem of no menu entries ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 05:24    Post subject: LibreOffice-3.5.0  

I used 01micko's 'GUI to download LibreOffice' version 0.13 to make a japanese LibreOffice-3.5.0 sfs.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65918
01micko's GUI nicely reforms the .desktop files automatically.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 10:01    Post subject:  

Yeah. Thats what I have in Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.2.9.2 preinstalled. I have it under Document menu entry.
I used it to create LibreOffice-3.5.0 sfs which I uploaded to the exprimo repo. I havent created pet of it yet.

But here is working mime extensions for left clicks and working rox right clicks for it.
LibreOffice3.5-Rox-right-click-0.0.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  LibreOffice3.5-Rox-right-click-0.0.5.pet 
Filesize  96.21 KB 
Downloaded  122 Time(s) 

Last edited by pemasu on Sat 10 Mar 2012, 16:29; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 10:49    Post subject: rox right clicks for LibreOffice  

pemasu wrote:
here is working mime extensions and working rox right clicks for it.

Great.
Only one thing, it seems LEFT click instead of right click. The mime text/xml is better to be right click rather than left click i think.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 11:50    Post subject:  

Well. There are in fact both...left click and right click included.
I have added the application_xml and text_xml rox right click support. The defaul text_xml left click is for amaya ? I uploaded the version 0.0.5 to the previous post.
I removed that text_xml left click to the default wordprocessor binding. I still wonder that amaya binding. I havent ever included amaya to any of my puplets. I wonder how many use amaya. I will change application_xml and text_xml left click to open with defaulttexteditor which will be formidable Geany.
I do like Geany.

Last edited by pemasu on Thu 08 Mar 2012, 13:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 13:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
MT-Paint-40
When an area is selected for 'Copy'... then a new graphic is loaded to paste it into... The 'paste' item hides itself at the r/h bottom of the screen, all that is noticeable is broken-line of the top of the paste item. You can (very carefully) click on that broken-line and drag the paste-item up but, it's a real pain and most not familiar with the graphic program will never find it!
>>>---Indian------>

I didnt quite follow...but that is nothing new....

Anyway....here is latest mtpaint to test
Code:
# ./configure  --prefix=/usr  release intl
---------------------
mtPaint Configuration
---------------------
-------
General
-------
    Version             3.44.03
    System              GNU/Linux
    Toolkit             GTK+2
    File Picker         mtpaint
    Colour Picker       mtpaint
    Animation Package   Gifsicle
    Use FreeType        YES
    Use CMS             LittleCMS
    Icon set            icons1
    Internationalized   YES
    Multithreaded       YES
--------
Compiler
--------
    Optimizations       RELEASE
    CFLAGS              -O2 -march=i386 -fweb -fomit-frame-pointer -fmodulo-sched
    LDFLAGS             -Wl,--as-needed -s
    Static libraries    NONE
----------
File Types
----------
    Use GIF             GIF
    Use JPEG            YES
    Use JPEG 2000       OpenJPEG
    Use TIFF            YES
------------
Installation
------------
    Binary install      /usr/bin
    Locale install      /usr/share/locale
    Locale program      /usr/share/locale
    Install man page    NO
mtpaint-3.44.03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mtpaint-3.44.03.pet 
Filesize  285.44 KB 
Downloaded  121 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wjaguar

Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 17:11    Post subject: Re: mt-paint-40  

sszindian wrote:
When an area is selected for 'Copy'... then a new graphic is loaded to paste it into... The 'paste' item hides itself at the r/h bottom of the screen, all that is noticeable is broken-line of the top of the paste item. You can (very carefully) click on that broken-line and drag the paste-item up but, it's a real pain and most not familiar with the graphic program will never find it!

Thanks for noticing this special case.
Thing is, mtPaint tries to display the paste area at the location nearest to where it was copied from; if the new image is much smaller than the source, the result will (naturally) be a single pixel at the lower right. Maybe in these circumstances, mtPaint should interpret the "Paste" request as "Paste to centre" - I'll consult with Mark Tyler whether this is the right thing to do.

-= With best regards, Dmitry Groshev, maintainer of mtPaint =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 23:15    Post subject: Center mtpaint  

Yes... I believe a center-paste would be better, even when it pasted in upper left corner, it was a pain to go after sometimes.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 89 [1330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 87, 88, 89 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1068s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0221s) ][ GZIP on ]