Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 11:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Suggestions for an internal modem for my Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 13:27    Post_subject:  Suggestions for an internal modem for my Puppy?  

I am getting kind of sick of not being able to use Puppy online. I have one of the piece-of-junk Conexant HSF winmodems. It came with the computer. I want a new one though. One that's easy for both Puppy and Windows to recognize, internal, and is fairly cheap too (preferably under $30, though I don't know what modems are going for lately). Any suggestions? Any old modems lying around that someone wants to be generous and just send me, out of the kindness of their heart? Very Happy

Ok, I didn't really expect that last part to work. Laughing

_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 21:58    Post_subject: Modem Working  

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/ModemPageWorking
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
outcydr

Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 02:02    Post_subject:  

i can't guarantee this but, last time i checked these were still available at wal-mart for about $25
Stratitec IC56A
i think you can get them at target stores too, for slightly more
it's what i did - use the lt modem package for puppy
it's a bit slower in windows but fine in puppy

i've hesitated about putting this in the wiki working modems page because i wasn't sure it would work for other machines as well as mine

can anyone else confirm this as a good choice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ChazZTheSpazZ

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 11:38    Post_subject:  

I just thought of something. How do I know if a modem is a winmodem or not? Is it on the box?
_________________
I agree with Glenn Beck. Elmo is definately the antichrist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0408s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0029s) ][ GZIP on ]