Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 15:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3-RC2 (5.3.2.4[0])
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 27 of 33 [488 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 07:53    Post subject:  

shinobar wrote:

Barry says UTF-8 slows scripts. It is right as for English, but UTF-8 is preferable for other languages, i suppose.


This has not been noticeable to me using en_GB.utf-8 (British English) for "normal" use. This may just be an issue to developers running demanding scripts.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 08:32    Post subject: Re: FirstRUN and system when hostname is changed  

gcmartin wrote:
Slacko SAMBA - The BUG - Shows original Hostname when NO logout has occurred for desktop user before SAMBA installation started

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=75209&start=343

It is discussed many times on the environment variable HOSTNAME does not reflect the change with the Quickset/Firstrun/Personalize settings.
I think the fundamental issue is the script xwin restarts without re-evaluateing the /etc/profile other than the environment variable 'LANG'(see the last lines of '/usr/bin/xwin').

But practically, i guess no problem with the 'HOSTNAME' and no need to logout or even restart X(my firstrun does not restarts X if the change is only the hostname).
Actually, as for the samba server, restart is required for the samba server, not the X server.

My question is, who reads the 'HOSTNAME'?
As for the samba server, it does never read the variable 'HOSTNAME'. But the mick's 'simple samba settings' reads the variable 'HOSTNAME'. In this point of view, the script should read the output of the command 'hostname' instead of the variable 'HOSTNAME, that is $(hostname) rather than "$HOSTNAME" (~line 66).

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 09:03    Post subject: Re: FirstRUN and system when hostname is changed  

shinobar wrote:
'HOSTNAME, that is $(hostname) rather than "$HOSTNAME" (~line 66).


Yes, that solves it, though for true resetting of HOSTNAME a reboot is needed (for /etc/profile and kernel).

I will reupload samba with the fix.

Thanks, saves me a headache Laughing

~

I'm hoping to get RC out on Friday.

I'm in front with my homework now Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 09:44    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
shinobar wrote:

Barry says UTF-8 slows scripts. It is right as for English, but UTF-8 is preferable for other languages, i suppose.

This has not been noticeable to me using en_GB.utf-8 (British English) for "normal" use. This may just be an issue to developers running demanding scripts.

Forgive me if I am talking rubbish, shinobar is the expert here...

But just for the record, I run with UTF-8 enabled, sometimes in Russian, Spanish, whatever...
Having UTF-8 does not seem to slow things down in English, but it does get slower in other languages...
I have timed it, some things are definitely a bit slower in non-English UTF-8 locales.

However, I have found that when devs use a well placed 'LANG=C' inside (a function of) a shell script,
then you can remedy the slow down easily.. I have done this with Pup-Advert-Blocker on my system..

LANG should get reverted obviously.. So:

OLDLANG=$LANG
LANG=C
...
(do stuff)
...
LANG=$OLDLANG

But as long as you have the right LANG set when pulling in locale files,
then you can usually pretty much run the rest of the script with LANG=C

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 06:45    Post subject:  

I just compiled samba

samba_full-3.6.3-s.pet

It includes Samba Simple Setup gui with shinobar's bugfix for hostname. I have done very limited testing, haven't tested printing yet.

Also, if you have a custom smb.conf the setup gui detects that and offers a way out before it starts.

The compile is slightly different, swat and private are in different locations, no big deal. It is the complete package with all binaries and libraries stripped, still only ~32M in size.

Configure args:
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-swat --enable-cups --localstatedir=/var --sysconfdir=/etc --with-statedir=/var/locks --with-configdir=/etc/samba

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 12:26    Post subject: seaside's SFSdirload-standalone-0.3.pet as amended
Subject description: to accomodate the lightning fast jwm_tools-1.9.pet from technosaurus
 

Hi 01micko, seaside, technosaurus
and, for now, especially Puppy experts

Below is an excerpt from a thread from technosaurus. Any Puppy amateurs, like myself, should make a backup if they decide to try this small change of code.

Firstly. at least for now, my understanding is that it only works with JWM where it has a speed improve improvement over "fixmenus" of some fifteenfold.

This means that, even on my 1998 desktop (then high performing and still a pleasure to use even without a hard disk) I can load multiple (up to 7 in my case) sfs files and refresh the menus in a few seconds.

However, the screenshot below shows I currently get some additional Drive Icons which overlay my existing icons.

References:

from seaside http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=590655&sid=620a7c181846cbdd5dd5f7ccc516213f#590655

where his opening sentence reads
"SFSdirload-standalone-0.3 allows you to arrange your SFS files in directories and load each directories' sfs files all at once."

The change as in the screenshot is to
/root/.etc/rc.d/init.d/SFSdirload
but there alternative additions shown in the code below.


technosaurus wrote at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=221279794&t=70804

"Forget about deciding whether to yaf-splash or gtkdialog-splash while creating jwm menus when it happens in <0.2 seconds _AND_ supports subcategory menus using only basic shell commands (no other requirements)

Thanks to amigo for his readline trick (and others) posted here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70238

usage:
Code:
#to get a menu without subcategories
jwm_menu_create && jwm -restart


Code:
#to get a menu with subcategories
SUBMENU=0 jwm_menu_create && jwm -restart


Code:
#to test with another language
LANG=de_JA SUBMENU=0 jwm_menu_create && jwm -restart

see the German translation for a localization template "

My regards

Note - I am using Slacko 5.3.1 Main. Though I have never used a Full installation - where this may be not or less applicable. Finally, if there are any questions please ask the experts.
The extra drive icons .jpg
 Description   This would need fixing - perhaps it is already fixed in the latest Slacko.
 Filesize   27.77 KB
 Viewed   1261 Time(s)

The extra drive icons .jpg

The coding changes.jpg
 Description   See the two lines 22 & 23 commented out and the two added lines at 24 & 25.
 Filesize   26.91 KB
 Viewed   1198 Time(s)

The coding changes.jpg


Last edited by Jasper on Thu 16 Feb 2012, 15:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 12:27    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko,

The Drive Icon screenshot in my post immediately above was taken using Slacko 5.3.1 Main which is the only program I use apart from testing (and occasionally printing "Slacko data" from W98SE).

I have huge faith in your abilities which is why I added in the screenshot - "perhaps it is already fixed in the latest Slacko" so thank you for your most helpful explanation - where I'm pleased to read the Drive Icon quirk is resolved with a choice of displays.

I remain totally delighted with 5.3.1 - I just wanted to report on my effort to load many large sfs files and update the JWM menu in a few seconds.

My regards

PS I was also pleased to hear you're ahead with your college work.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Posted from this place holder after reading 01micko's response below.

Last edited by Jasper on Thu 16 Feb 2012, 17:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 12:28    Post subject:  

Hi again,

My wife and I will be rather busy with three upcoming birthdays this month of younger family members - two 65ths and a 40th.

As I recall it was Lobster, stu90 and me who expressed the greatest interest in Linux Portable Apps. Recently stu90 kindly explained to me how he can make them - and I was going to forward his PMs to Lobster to see if I could be of any help in making some.

However, since multiple sfs files may be available with updated menus in a few seconds and as they are easily made from pets there seems little point in making Portable Apps.

My regards

PS I hope to find some time to test any new Main versions of Slacko.

Last edited by Jasper on Thu 16 Feb 2012, 18:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 12:29    Post subject:
Subject description: LibreOffice - Enable systray Quickstarter
 

I wanted to automate libreoffice>Tools>Options>Memory>Enable systray Quickstarter (just from interest and because I like to minimise numbers of keystrokes and mouse movements).

After instalingl a version of the xdotool pet the following works:
Code:

xdotool key super+c
sleep 2
xdotool type libreoffice
sleep 2
xdotool key Return
sleep 6
xdotool key alt+T
sleep 2
xdotool key alt+O
sleep 2
xdotool key Down Arrow
sleep .5
xdotool key Down Arrow
sleep .5
xdotool key alt+e
sleep 1
xdotool key Return
sleep 1
xdotool key ctrl+q
sleep 1
xdotool key alt+z


Notes:
(1) The sleep times are unoptimised, specific to my computer, and hit and miss.
(2) In the first line I had already made a shortcut of Winkey+c to load my urxvt console.
(3) In the last line I had already added Alt+z (for zap) to JWM which closes windows exactly as Alt+F4 does - though, for me, more comfortably and easily reached.

My regards

The above works, but It took me more than 3 hours to achieve it. If anyone has a couple of minutes, or more, to spare to translate it into reasonably elegant code I would very much like that - though it is not important.
-----------------------------------------------------
I had already made this place holder so my apology that it is not purel Slacko.

Last edited by Jasper on Thu 16 Feb 2012, 17:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 15:47    Post subject:  

Jasper

At this point you can make a choice of which drive icons you prefer to keep.

The "new" ones are a feature of techno's jwm_tools and in Slacko they are turned off by default. If you want to keep those ones I'm sure you know how to run desksetup Wink to remove drive icons (and in distros without desksetup run event manager).



To remove those drive icons, which are simply an extra jwm-tray, there is a configuration file ~/.jwm/JWMRC. Near the top of that file you will likely have DRIVES="1". Change that to DRIVES="", restart jwm and they will disappear. There is a YAD gui for configuration, but it is still a little buggy so there is no menu entry.

There is also a setting for submenus in that file, maybe you are aware?

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 19:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
I remain totally delighted with 5.3.1


Me too. Smile
. . . wait a minute I am using slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI.iso
- that is the new kernel that Mick is not too happy with? Shocked

How is the course going Mick? What are you learning?

Talking of portable apps.
http://portablelinuxapps.org/
Many of them worked in Lucid. Very few in Slacko
(that has been my experience). Shame. Crying or Very sad

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 08:54    Post subject:  

WOOHOO!

The death of Adobe Flash is nigh!

The next slacko-rc WILL play youtube vids ootb with NO, I repeat NO flashplayer installed Cool

Yes, yes, it's late, I know .. I've been buried in a batch of macros.. Rolling Eyes

Stay tuned...
new-seamonkey-noflash.png
 Description   
 Filesize   183.28 KB
 Viewed   949 Time(s)

new-seamonkey-noflash.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 667
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 09:02    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
WOOHOO!

The death of Adobe Flash is nigh!

The next slacko-rc WILL play youtube vids ootb with NO, I repeat NO flashplayer installed Cool

Yes, yes, it's late, I know .. I've been buried in a batch of macros.. Rolling Eyes

Stay tuned...

STUPENDOUS! !

Thank you Very Happy

_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2619
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 13:00    Post subject: jwm_param_gui
Subject description: DRIVES SUBMENUS and LANGUAGE
 

01micko wrote:
Jasper

At this point you can make a choice of which drive icons you prefer to keep.

The "new" ones are a feature of techno's jwm_tools and in Slacko they are turned off by default. If you want to keep those ones I'm sure you know how to run desksetup Wink to remove drive icons (and in distros without desksetup run event manager).



To remove those drive icons, which are simply an extra jwm-tray, there is a configuration file ~/.jwm/JWMRC. Near the top of that file you will likely have DRIVES="1". Change that to DRIVES="", restart jwm and they will disappear. There is a YAD gui for configuration, but it is still a little buggy so there is no menu entry.

There is also a setting for submenus in that file, maybe you are aware?

HTH


Fixed in jwm_param_gui now (and LANGUAGE added)
see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70804&start=97
jwm_param_gui_0.7.2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.37 KB
 Viewed   946 Time(s)

jwm_param_gui_0.7.2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2012, 17:45    Post subject: Re: 5.3.3-Beta  

sszindian wrote:
Some more testing.....

Seems to be a problem with the PPM 'UMPlayer' (both versions there)

The Stand Alone Version: When activated appears on the screen as it should - When you type a selection in the Youtube Address Bar, the second window opens displaying the files (as it should) but... the 'Thumbnail Graphics' do NOT appear. When you click on a file, the audio works but the video does not!

The Regular Plain sfs Version: When activacted appears on the screen as it should - When you type a selection in the Youtube Address Bar, the second window opens displaying the files (as it should) WITH the Thumbnail Graphics.' When you select a thumbnail file, the video works in the main window (as it should) but... there ISN'T any AUDIO!

Hope I got that right!

>>>---Indian------>


Ok, that's weird. I'm not having an issue with umplayer or smplayer BUT I don't know how on earth I play a youtube vid in it!!! Is that the only problem? Does it play local video ok? DVDs? (does for me). Is it because of the 'vesa' xorg driver?

The other strange thing is that they are both exactly the same compile, just the essential qt4 libs are added to the standalone version.

_____________________________________________________________________

L18L, thanks for that, just made RC Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 33 [488 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1209s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]