Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3-RC2 (5.3.2.4[0])
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 10:01    Post_subject:  

A2 and support files is uploaded

see main post

Should be more fun than A1 Smile (in a fun way)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 10:48    Post_subject: 5.3.1.1  

Hi Mic!

Looks like the makings of a good program 'Keep After It!'

One problem that I've never encountered in a puppy to date... while running 5.3.1.1 (maybe this is fixed in 5.3.1.2? haven't tried that one yet.)

eth0 'not' recognized Ethernet cable is plugged into computer and works with Slack0-5.3.1 and all other puppy's.

wlan0 'is' recognized however I don't have wifi router active but Linksys AE1000 Wireless-N Adopter is plugged into computer.

-----------------------------------------------------
Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controller

PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge

Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
-----------------------------------------------------
>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 10:58    Post_subject:  

sszindian wrote:
One problem that I've never encountered in a puppy to date... while running 5.3.1.1 (maybe this is fixed in 5.3.1.2? haven't tried that one yet.)

eth0 'not' recognized

yep, known issue should be fixed in current version 5.3.1.2 (get the delta Wink )

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 11:10    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
A2 and support files is uploaded

see main post

Should be more fun than A1 Smile (in a fun way)


Hi Mick

Pristine manual frugal install using the 5.3.1.1 to 5.3.1.2 delta...

Can confirm that the "B43 not detected" problem is still there....but putting modprobe b43 into rc.local solves.

Let me know if I can test anything for you.

In case it helps, I've attached the /var/log/messages file from wuxiandianzi 's lupu528-k318 (remove .gz to fool forum)

Cheers
Peter
messages.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  messages.gz 
Filesize  60.44 KB 
Downloaded  242 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2128
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 11:25    Post_subject: Slacko 5.3.2-alpha2 ..testing  

I did a manual frugal install to my acer revo nettop pc.
It went straight to the desktop at the correct resolution, using the
nouveau driver I think.
The builtin wireless adapter isn't supported,
Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe.
I plugged in a linksys rt73 usb wireless adapter and it is working
well.
I installed the devx and kernel source sfs and the Nvidia driver for
the ION chip in this pc, it took an extra reboot and 2nd try to
compile the nvidia driver because the nouveau driver conflicts with
the proprietary nvidia driver, it did successfully compile after doing
that.

Mon 16 Jan 2012 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-5.3.1.2 Linux 3.1.9-slacko_4g
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation ION VGA (rev b1)
oem: NVIDIA product: MCP79 Board - hornet-0 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU 330
Core 0: 1600 1: 1600 2: 1600 3: 1600 MHz
spupscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   115.99 KB
 Viewed   1288 Time(s)

spupscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 11:49    Post_subject:  

lots of strange stuff with screen driver just now but touchpad is no longer slow Smile


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 11:52    Post_subject:  

Edit after testing with correct cli command
nope that did not help.
I tested to use it prior to deciding timezone and keyboard
and tested it after that restart too and none of that helped.

The only thing that repair it is to edit out from xorg.conf the added
info which is kind of sad because a lot of that should be there and
I should only edit the part that make 1024 x 768 invisible.

But I have no idea how to do that.

In lupu528 it looks like this


Quote:
#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


But in Slacko that part seems to be missing. Maybe it is another
file I should look in on slacko? I remember vaguely that I did borrow
a xorg.conf file from lupu to use in slacko last time to correct the
"feature" that I don't want to have. 1024 x 600. I want to ahve the

1024 x 768 instead.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 13:12    Post_subject:  

Duplicate post.
Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 13:13    Post_subject:  

Hi Mick,

Wow, that was a quick update. Frugal installations on my main desktop and my Dell Inspiron Laptop. Everything tested works fine including wifi and wifi printing. Very Happy

I was able to compile the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-290.10.run after first removing the nouveau driver which is always a problem. Incidentally, sys-info reports that the vesa driver is being used regardless of driver used.

Hope that you will reinstate the ability to chose Numlock state in Personalize Settings.

Posting from laptop.

Cheers, Very Happy
Jim
image-1.jpg
 Description   Image is of desktop on main desktop computer.
 Filesize   53.9 KB
 Viewed   1202 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 14:29    Post_subject:  

Much better. Live pfix=ram. Booted to the correct desktop with working sound and internet.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.1.2

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-86 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
nouveau

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "1366x768" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 2854MB (158MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Mon 16 Jan 2012 12:26:24 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

Audio device : nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio
Bridge : nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet
VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 14:37    Post_subject: 5.3.1.2  

Yes Sir... 5.3.1.2 fixed the 'eth0 problem!'

One slight thing... PupTelly in Multimedia seems to be missing, no biggie but I have my computer as 'My full-time TV Also' and, that sure was handy.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 14:47    Post_subject:  

I know we are supposed to be testing but could'nt resist Smile


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 17:24    Post_subject:  

Jim,
numlock was my oversight, if you install it it will show up in Personalize Settings:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/numlockx-1.2-i486.pet
As for nouveau, I may have to put in a cheat boot code like TaZOC has. I do have an nvidia but it works fine, I'll try my other nvidia which usually plays up with nouveau, and if it does I'll try to compile the latest source. Surely they (the devs) must be getting there, since nv is now unsupported.

Dave,
I have seen that odd behaviour, I thought it was jwm, but I see you are using openbox, maybe try that xcompmgr we had troubles with:
http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-13.37/slackware/x/xcompmgr-1.1.5-i486-2.txz
If you get flicker try commenting in /etc/profile @line 92: #export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1.
EDIT: Shoot! It is jwm! Fooled me! maybe try the older jwm out of 5.3.1, if that's ok I'll report to Joe.

Indian,
I left out pupradio because zigbert now has radio functions in Pmusic, but I guess the telly part is not covered, back in, for now just install it:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=371420#371420

peeBee,
Thanks for report on b43. I did have an idea to put it in /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG, still may do so if I can't find the real problem (maybe you can try that). I may PM rerwin, he is somewhat of a module expert.
EDIT: the same kernel log from 5.3.1.2 for comparison may be useful. Wink

Billtoo,
Thanks for letting me know the kernel source works Cool

James,
Good nouveau worked for you for a change Laughing

pemasu,
scanpci is deprecated. I should remove that code from netsetup.sh. I have had no issue with SNS and Network Wizard in 5.3.1.2

-

I have found 2 bugs. gmtk was broken so gnome-mplayer fails, install fixed version:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/gmtk-1.0.5-i486.pet
If it fails install the DEV file too: (please let me know if you needed to do this)
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/gmtk_DEV-1.0.5-i486.pet

Oversight: I left sfs_load at 1.2... sfs_load-1.3 fixes it:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=490716&search_id=1097794942#490716

-

Thanks for reports.. bit better than A1 eh? Rolling Eyes Laughing

_

My thoughts


On release i will bump the version to 5.3.3. This is way more than a bugfix release, even more than a 2 point release, but 2 points will do, version numbers, so long as they exist and are in correct order are of little importance.

Ffmpeg will not be updated to keep compatibility with mlt, a dependency of openshot-1.4. I may offer a 0.9x version in PPM.

Seamonkey will be updated, likely 2.7. I will experiment with jemimah's adrive concept (see saluki thread). Also will include a browser installer. Links will likley be the defaulthtmlviewer, it can handle cups!

I seriously dislike pupdialog. No offence Barry, but gtkdialog is already a wrapper. Pupdialog is seriously slow on my lappy. Pupdialog is a wrapper of a wrapper.

We also need a new splash prog for puppy since yaf-splashes demise (with good reason).. I am going to attempt to write one against gtk/gdk using svg images, since techno came up with a neat text2svg script. This will likely not happen soon enough!

If this kernel is ok I will compile a PAE version. All nvidia/ati drivers will be available eventually.

if you have any feature requests NOW is the time! Next will be beta and feature freeze.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 17:52    Post_subject: Menus change  

Hi Mick

Haven't managed to pin down exactly how it happens but the menu structure does change on me unexpectedly - from a 2 level structure to a 1 level structure.....

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 18:02    Post_subject:  

peebee,

It's to do with jwm_tools. Default is 2 level. If fixmenus is ever run it will bork things. Could be a bug in my PPM patch. What pets did you install?
An X restart will bring back 2 level, or better, run this:
Code:
jwm_menu_create && jwm -reload

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0977s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]