Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 08:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3-RC2 (5.3.2.4[0])
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 33 [488 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 15:57    Post subject:  

I checked the wcpufreq in LHP 64 which uses 3.0.4 kernel. Tazoc has fixed the script simply with "||" the two location choices of drivers. Here is fixed wcpufreq pet. There is still one bug in script. The script does not rule out non needed drivers where there is choosable dropdown box for performance, powersave...etc.
wcpufreq-0.8-k3.x.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  wcpufreq-0.8-k3.x.pet 
Filesize  38.76 KB 
Downloaded  145 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 16:21    Post subject:  

Whoops wrong area.
Last edited by smokey01 on Mon 23 Jan 2012, 16:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 16:27    Post subject:  

Smokey01. Thanks for info, but...maybe wrong thread. I copy your post and repost it to the Exprimo thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 16:42    Post subject: Re: Broadcom
Subject description: fw
 

mavrothal wrote:
peebee wrote:

The firmware is there - it's now in /lib/firmware/b43 - Barry took the decision to stop putting compressed firmware into /lib/modules/all-firmware and instead ship with all the firmware already uncompressed into /lib/firmware.


Hmm..., b43 is the only common firmware between /lib/firmware and /lib/modules/all-firmware. How come?
Is the /lib/firmware version for this kernel? and if it is does the kernel "knows" it? (Mick?)

In any case, this firmware is not working in my iMac.
"ls -l /dev/.udev/firmware-missing/" says
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 68 2012-01-23 19:53 b43-open\x2fucode16_mimo.fw -> /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:15.0/0000:04:00.0/ssb0:0/firmware/ssb0:0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 68 2012-01-23 19:53 b43\x2fn0initvals16.fw -> /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:15.0/0000:04:00.0/ssb0:0/firmware/ssb0:0

and indeed initvals16.fw is not present in /lib/firmware/b43. Though ucode16_mimo.fw, is.

peebee, does your wifi works after you modprobe b43?
Is there anything in /dev/.udev/firmware-missing/ after you modprobe b43?
What about the output of the "for x in $(udevadm trigger --dry-run --verbose); do udevadm info --query=all --path=$x; done" command mentioned before?


The Broadcom firmware is proprietary and therefore independent of kernel version. I'd say mavrothal that your issue is slightly different to peebee's with the ucode16_mimo.fw not loading. Perhaps too that the firmware is expected to be compressed???

The initvals16.fw looks like some weird mac dependency for b43, and I can't find it! You may be able to find it and extract it on your OSX system. If you get that to load then maybe ucode16_mimo.fw will load with it? Confused

I have attached the compressed firmware which works with wuxiandianzi's lupu variant with k3.1.8 .. includes b43.tar.gz and b43legacy.tar.gz
b43-compressed-1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  b43-compressed-1.pet 
Filesize  134.88 KB 
Downloaded  170 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1792

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 17:52    Post subject: Re: Broadcom
Subject description: fw
 

01micko wrote:


The Broadcom firmware is proprietary and therefore independent of kernel version. I'd say mavrothal that your issue is slightly different to peebee's with the ucode16_mimo.fw not loading. Perhaps too that the firmware is expected to be compressed???

The initvals16.fw looks like some weird mac dependency for b43, and I can't find it! You may be able to find it and extract it on your OSX system. If you get that to load then maybe ucode16_mimo.fw will load with it? Confused

I have attached the compressed firmware which works with wuxiandianzi's lupu variant with k3.1.8 .. includes b43.tar.gz and b43legacy.tar.gz


Did I say this is a pain?...
The pet does not work compressed or extracted.
I compiled b43-fwcutter and extracted the firmware from broadcom-wl-5.100.138 and now is telling me the firmware is too new Shocked and ifconfig still gives me "ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not supported"
I think I'll stay with puppies running in the VM in the Mac (at least for today Very Happy )

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 646
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 18:42    Post subject:  

Tried current version on a Compaq Armada M700
P3 450 with 320mb RAM. Will not boot. First tried a manual frugal install (ISO checksum was fine, before anyone asks..), then downloaded again and burnt a CD, but no joy. Kernel and initrd are found, but then it hangs with just a flashing cursor, no error messages.
Previous version booted ok.
Tried the CD on the desktop PC - ECS 755-A motherboard (Socket 754) with a Mobile Athlon XP-M 2800 CPU and a GeForce FX5200 graphics card. Got to desktop ok, but the crappy Goodmans LD1930W monitor (its really a telly) is hopeless at its supposed native resolution of 1440×900 - very flickery and fuzzy (that's with XP as well), and is only usable at 1024x768. Anyway, got to desktop, and menu items were all blank. Did ctrl+alt+backspace to exit X and run xorgwizard to change the resolution. Text was wider than the screen, but managed to run it. Couldn't get back to a desktop with Xorg. Tried Xvesa, but the desktop was black with just a hint of taskbar and no mouse - had to reboot. I don't use this PC for Puppy much, but wanted to check the CD was ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 19:33    Post subject:  

Thanks for testing Keef,

k3.1.10 (BFS patched) seems UTS on old gear. I tried my Athlon but I think the mobo is kaput as I can't boot anything! I'll give it a good clean and see what happens. If you get time it would be interesting to see how k3.1.9 slacko-5.3.1.2-SCSI.iso works on your kit. James C reported success on his PIII 766Mhz coppermine and his Athlon machines. It doesn't have the BFS patch which I think is what screwed up k3.1.10.
http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/slacko/slacko-5.3.1.2-SCSI.iso
8058773fcdce248d3958feb8a4e60cb8
Note is has unfixed bugs but is mostly working ok.

Mavrothal,
My wifes macbook uses brmsmac driver.. I wonder if yours would work with it? You could unload b43 (no, it didn't load did it?) and try it. Wifey's was loaded ootb though, or maybe I'll compile wl.

ha! I know I said I'll revert to k2.6.39.4 but this b43 crap is getting the better of me! Might try again with k3.1.9, or recompile 3.1.10 W/O BFS. I'd try 3.2.1 but it fails to compile against aufs., patches ok but get a make error.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 23 Jan 2012, 19:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1516
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 19:35    Post subject: Re: Broadcom  

mavrothal wrote:
Code:
for x in $(udevadm trigger --dry-run --verbose); do udevadm info --query=all --path=$x; done > /root/udef_info.before     # or .after

will generate the udef_info.before (or .after) file in home.


Hi mavrothal

Here are the requested files...remove the .gz

Thanks
peebee
udef_info.after.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  udef_info.after.gz 
Filesize  163.1 KB 
Downloaded  146 Time(s) 
udef_info.before.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  udef_info.before.gz 
Filesize  161.46 KB 
Downloaded  133 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 20:31    Post subject:  

Just for the record, i got my Athlon going, 5.3..1.2 is fine, 5.3.1.3 no go. Smae as other Athlon users' reports, hangs at blinking cursor.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 613
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 21:45    Post subject: 5.3.1.3  

Hmmm... got this new pretty little pink box that pops up (first thing on the desktop) that says... ERROR: Your module doesn't work. Run "sensors-detect"

I did what it asked but no new modules were found for it to config. ?

Also got this with the last two versions of EXPRIMO.

Never seen this turkey before???

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 22:18    Post subject: Re: Slacko 5.3.3-alpha3 ..testing (5.3.1.3)
Subject description: next slacko, late kernel, cutting edge features
 

01micko wrote:
...
_______________________________________________________
ALL b43 (broadcom wireless) users, I need reports. ON FAILURE I need kernel logs from a pfix=ram before you load up b43!
    /tmp/udevtrace.log,
    /var/log/messages
    /lib/modules/3.1.9-slacko_4g/modules.alias
    device ID (run lspci -nn|grep -iE wireless)
    output from lsmod
_______________________________________________________


Ok, let's see if this is ok:

The lappy is a HP Mini 2140 2gb RAM 160Gb hdd booting this shiny new Slacko from a usb stick.

The b43 module loads - not first off - have to load the module in the network wizard - and an new interface wlan0 shows up. However, it looks like the interface wont wake up. The wireless is turned on and off with a toggle switch on the front - slide to turn on, slide again to turn off. I can't tell what state the switch is in. In Windows the status light changes from orange to blue.

Hope this helps. I like the look of this pup thank you!. Using it on this ols Toshiba A200 no probs.
stuff4mick0.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  stuff4mick0.tar.gz 
Filesize  59.04 KB 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 23:05    Post subject: Re: 5.3.1.3  

sszindian wrote:
Hmmm... got this new pretty little pink box that pops up (first thing on the desktop) that says... ERROR: Your module doesn't work. Run "sensors-detect"

I did what it asked but no new modules were found for it to config. ?

Also got this with the last two versions of EXPRIMO.

Never seen this turkey before???

>>>---Indian------>


I had same thing when I booted 5.3.1.3.
Found culprit to be in startup menu, item is tempicon.sh which starts the cpu temp in tray on some BUT not all machines. Mine is one of those where tempicon does not work nor does cpu-temp. Something to do with my hardware.

I simply deleted tempicon.sh in startup menu and the pretty little box went bye bye.

majorfoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 23:08    Post subject: Re: 5.3.1.3  

majorfoo wrote:
sszindian wrote:
Hmmm... got this new pretty little pink box that pops up (first thing on the desktop) that says... ERROR: Your module doesn't work. Run "sensors-detect"

I did what it asked but no new modules were found for it to config. ?

Also got this with the last two versions of EXPRIMO.

Never seen this turkey before???

>>>---Indian------>


I had same thing when I booted 5.3.1.3.
Found culprit to be in startup menu, item is tempicon.sh which starts the cpu temp in tray on some BUT not all machines. Mine is one of those where tempicon does not work nor does cpu-temp. Something to do with my hardware.

I simply deleted tempicon.sh in startup menu and the pretty little box went bye bye.

majorfoo


I just tried to ignore it in hopes it would just go away...... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 23:25    Post subject:  

Assembled another box out of spare parts, so Slacko 5.3.1.2 (k-3.19) live pfix=ram.Display,sound and internet all working and correct on initial boot.
Tried Lucid and Exprimo first....both booted to a distorted,unusable display using "nv".No problem with "nouveau" though.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.1.2

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP67 - mcp68-01 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "1024x768" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
Code:
[   118.983] (--) NOUVEAU(0): Chipset: "NVIDIA NV67"
[   118.983] (**) NOUVEAU(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32


-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Memory : 903MB (161MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Mon 23 Jan 2012 09:21:52 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

-Version-
Kernel : Linux 3.1.9-slacko_4g (i686)
Compiled : #1 SMP Mon Jan 16 02:17:47 EST 2012
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.13 (stable)
Default C Compiler : Unknown
Distribution : Unknown distribution

Audio device : nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio
VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation C68 [GeForce 7050 PV / nForce 630a]
Ethernet controller : nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jan 2012, 00:25    Post subject:  

Just for the heck of it, Slacko 5.3.1.3 live pfix=ram. Same results.... working well too.

-Version-
Kernel : Linux 3.1.10-slacko_4g (i686)
Compiled : #1 SMP Sun Jan 22 07:46:39 EST 2012
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 33 [488 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1169s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]