Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Nov 2019, 11:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
My First .pet did not work
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 14:50    Post subject:  My First .pet did not work  

I wanted to install nmap but couldn't find anything up to date for puppy. So i converted nmap-5.51tar.bz2 to a .pet

my steps

me@puter: ~/dls$ tar xvjf nmap-5.51tar.bz2
./configure
# new2dir make install
# dir2pet nmap-5.51tar.bz2-i486

I also did change directories at one point.

Sources
http://www.tuxfiles.org/linuxhelp/softinstall.html
http://puppylinux.com/development/createpet.htm

Now the pet was created but, when I entered "nmap" in the command line it says "nmap-command not found"

Is there a different command for making packages for the terminal?

(Does it matter that I compiled it from my other operating system?) I compiled in Kubuntu and restarted into puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 17:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
me@puter: ~/dls$ tar xvjf nmap-5.51tar.bz2
./configure
# new2dir make install
# dir2pet nmap-5.51tar.bz2-i486


i think that new2dir make install did make the source and installed it .

You actually would need to install the pet in the puppy OS .

new2dir uses the checkinstall package .

On some environments i have probs with new2dir installwatch ,
not doing a make install but make or make -i -n -s -t -a -l -l on an
older unstable debian sqeeze puppy atm .

You also have to watch out to run dir2pet without absolute pathname , it does not filter the basename and cd into the dirname and creates a deep folder structure inside the pet which would install the pet to /mnt/sdg5/root/download/package/usr for example instead of /usr .

You need to watch out that the dirs are not changed on some binaries .
Xorg for example looks in --prefix=/opt/test/3rd-try for fonts if configured that way
and would crash saying could not find font if just copied to another installation without that obscure directory structure ,
.


The output command not found would say that you did not installed the nmap binary into your current PATH , defined in /etc/profile .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 17:41    Post subject:  

Wouldn't you want your final pet to be
named nmap-5.51.pet

In that case you make a folder named nmap-5.51
with the correct path structure inside

and then the command

Code:

dir2pet nmap-5.51


You should read Barry's instructions

http://puppylinux.com/development/createpet.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 17:52    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Wouldn't you want your final pet to be
named nmap-5.51.pet

In that case you make a folder named nmap-5.51
with the correct path structure inside

and then the command

Code:

dir2pet nmap-5.51


You should read Barry's instructions

http://puppylinux.com/development/createpet.htm

after new2dir make install it created the -i486
# dir2pet said that -i486 extention was required?

Yes I will go read Barrys instructions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 17:57    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
Quote:
me@puter: ~/dls$ tar xvjf nmap-5.51tar.bz2
./configure
# new2dir make install
# dir2pet nmap-5.51tar.bz2-i486


i think that new2dir make install did make the source and installed it .

You actually would need to install the pet in the puppy OS .

new2dir uses the checkinstall package .

On some environments i have probs with new2dir installwatch ,
not doing a make install but make or make -i -n -s -t -a -l -l on an
older unstable debian sqeeze puppy atm .

You also have to watch out to run dir2pet without absolute pathname , it does not filter the basename and cd into the dirname and creates a deep folder structure inside the pet which would install the pet to /mnt/sdg5/root/download/package/usr for example instead of /usr .

You need to watch out that the dirs are not changed on some binaries .
Xorg for example looks in --prefix=/opt/test/3rd-try for fonts if configured that way
and would crash saying could not find font if just copied to another installation without that obscure directory structure ,
.


The output command not found would say that you did not installed the nmap binary into your current PATH , defined in /etc/profile .


my path was /root/my-documents/nmap-5.51.tar.bz2

So are your saying not to cd into /nmap-5.51, just work in /root/my-documents?

All I did in the Kubuntu was unpack and ./configure

but I guess I will try again and do it fully in puppy. I just want to make sure there is not a different command for Terminal programs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 18:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
So are your saying not to cd into /nmap-5.51, just work in /root/my-documents?

I usually hit the backspace key to open a console in /root/my-documents/ and tar xzf pkg.tar.gz
cd ./pkg
./configure --build=i486-pc-linux-gnu --prefic=/usr
OR
./configure --build=i486-t2-linux-gnu
OR ***
./configure
make
new2dir make install
make clean
cd ../
dir2pet nmap*-i486
WITH many ENTER or ignore

I have also adjusted the scripts to read -t 10 to automate them . I am still working on them .

./configure would mostly default to /usr/local .

IF nmap needs a lib and the path to it is hardcoded to look in /usr/local/lib/libnmap.so and i change the directory structure from /usr/local to /usr before dir2pet this might break things , but i guess i would get a "not found" instead of a "command not found"
OR
"error while loading shared libraries: libbfd-2.20.51.0.2.20091009.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

You would also need the basename for dir2pet , NOT the absolute path using the mouse to select the directory and paste the whole path into the console like :
NOT : dir2pet /root/my-applications/nmap*-i486
YES : dir2pet nmap*-i486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 18:57    Post subject:  

I don't use i486 in the name of pets anymore
because all pets are compatible to i486 architecture.

Where there can be problems is AMD versus Intel.
A few pets won't run properly on AMD.
______________________________________________
I suggest using GUI apps to make a pet package
as much as possible.

I've been using stu90's pet package to make pets recently.
I like it Laughing
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=572936#572936

_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15543
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 23:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
A few pets won't run properly on AMD


Sausages Exclamation [dogie cussing] Wink
This might explain a few probs I have been having . . .

Do pets compiled on AMD always work on Intel?

_________________
Puppy on Raspberry Pi Release Candidate Cool
http://wikka.puppylinux.com/ProjectStatement Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 15:09    Post subject: compiling with AMD computer  

I'm not an expert at compiling but I think AMD computers would
have a very bad reputation if they couldn't compile
programs properly.

GCC is used to compile the programs and I'm sure they are
careful to make sure their compiling program runs equally well
on AMD and Intel
http://gcc.gnu.org/


However Playdayz has complained about the various libraries and
such in Lucid Puppy -----> That there is strange differences
between AMD version and Intel versions, so he has concentrated
on making Lucid puppy run properly on Intel computers.

___________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0614s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]