Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to add Slacko to Grub?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
abu_ilya

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 10:51    Post_subject:  How to add Slacko to Grub?  

I got this PC which only has an old working linux on HD, no USB-access and no optical drive working. I found out it is possible to add an iso-file to grub as described in this thread:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1549847
I got this working for Ubuntu Lucid but I'd like to have also an entry for puppy-slacko. The thing is, I don't know how to change the lines properly for puppy
I tried it like this but it's wrong:
menuentry "Slacko ISO" {
loopback loop (hd0,1)/boot/iso/slacko.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz boot=/boot/iso/slacko.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/initrd.lz
}

Does anyone here know how to do it properly?

thanks in advance
abu ilya
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maik.murks


Joined: 28 Mar 2011
Posts: 331
Location: at home, at work or on holidays

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 11:05    Post_subject:  

If you would take a look into your slacko.iso you should recognize that there is no initrd.lz at all. So, if you really want to refer to an initrd, it could be perhaps a better idea to refer to initrd.gz instead.

Cheers Wink

Maik.Murks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
firak

Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 12:43    Post_subject:  

I yaust set up a pc with this limited cofiguration, and install on it puppy.
using an other compiuter and an external box for portable driver hd.

The trick I use was to
1- EXTRACT THE HD FROM THE CASE OF THE PC
2- INSTALL THE HD IN AN EXTERNAL CASE PORTABLE USB
3- INSTALL PUPPY LINUX FROM AN OTHER COMPIUTER ON THIS HD
4- CHANGE OR REMUVE SOME LINES IN syslinux.cfg (I don't remeber now)
5- Put angain the HD whit the new os puppy on it in the original compiuter.

I hope it can be usfool to you.

Maybe you situation is different.
I have already 2 pc with puppy,
a 3°rd one pc was almost broken.
is not able to boot from usb, cd broken, HD whit acient bootloder lilo .
There was no way to install on it new operating sistem, but.....
I youst remuve the hd, inslall linux on the hd, and mout it again.
it did work, on an toshiba p4 notebook.

I hope you can do a similar trick. Ghive immense sodisfaction to resuscitate ancient machines!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abu_ilya

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 16:17    Post_subject:  

maik.murks wrote:
If you would take a look into your slacko.iso you should recognize that there is no initrd.lz at all. So, if you really want to refer to an initrd, it could be perhaps a better idea to refer to initrd.gz instead.

Cheers Wink

Maik.Murks


Right you are! I changed initrd.lz to initrd.gz and now I can boot puppy directly from harddisk!

thanks
abu
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 19:48    Post_subject:  

Hi! Thanks for describing a way to boot Puppy that
I had never heard of Smile

Hm there where a guy some days ago? that also had
a iso boot but was that really Puppy?

I don't have grub2 on my computers but I do have it
on a USB so I have to test how it works on that one Smile

Anyway. Now when you have solved this issue
maybe you could edit the title like this?

How to add Slacko to Grub? [Solved]
That would be much appreciated.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abu_ilya

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 09:37    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Hi! Thanks for describing a way to boot Puppy that
I had never heard of Smile

Hm there where a guy some days ago? that also had
a iso boot but was that really Puppy?

I don't have grub2 on my computers but I do have it
on a USB so I have to test how it works on that one Smile

Anyway. Now when you have solved this issue
maybe you could edit the title like this?

How to add Slacko to Grub? [Solved]
That would be much appreciated.

As you can see the moderator already changed the title to something more useful, anyway it's nice you share my enthousiasm about this way of installing puppy too.

best regards,
abu ilya
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 10:37    Post_subject:  

Thanks, I tried to mimic what you told us but failed.
Maybe I know too little. How did you get grub2 on the
USB using what installer? I use these three wild guess codes



menuentry "Slacko ISO1" {
loopback loop /boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso
linux (loop)/boot/vmlinuz boot=/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Slacko ISO2" {
loopback loop (hd0,2)/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz boot=/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Slacko ISO3" {
loopback loop (hd1,3)/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz boot=/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.gz
}

None of them booted. I even fail to see them on the os to boot.
I must have done something very wrong because them don't get listed.

I will test again using same name is you had. slacko

Nope none got visible and I have ubuntu entries that is invisible too.

So there is something very odd going on.

I maybe should ask Lance over at the Pendrivelinux site. He made the original

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abu_ilya

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2011, 11:09    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks, I tried to mimic what you told us but failed.
Maybe I know too little. How did you get grub2 on the
USB using what installer? I use these three wild guess codes



menuentry "Slacko ISO1" {
loopback loop /boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso
linux (loop)/boot/vmlinuz boot=/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Slacko ISO2" {
loopback loop (hd0,2)/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz boot=/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Slacko ISO3" {
loopback loop (hd1,3)/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz boot=/boot/slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-MAIN.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.gz
}

None of them booted. I even fail to see them on the os to boot.
I must have done something very wrong because them don't get listed.

I will test again using same name is you had. slacko

Nope none got visible and I have ubuntu entries that is invisible too.

So there is something very odd going on.

I maybe should ask Lance over at the Pendrivelinux site. He made the original

Hello,
I did not install on USB, I started from an old PC which had a working linux with grub installed. So the begin situation was: working linux with internet access but no USB-access and no working optical drives.
Here are the steps I followed:

1. boot PC under Linux and become root (su or sudo -s)
2. mkdir /boot/iso
3. cd /boot/iso
4. download slacko-iso-image (I renamed it to slacko.iso)
5. mv slacko.iso /boot/iso
6. make a file /etc/grub.d/40_custom with the following content:
#!/bin/sh
echo "Adding 40_custom." >&2
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply #type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to #change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry "Slacko ISO" {
loopback loop (hd0,1)/boot/iso/slacko.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz boot=/boot/iso/slacko.iso noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
}

7. update-grub
8. reboot
choose puppy-slacko

hope this helps
abu ilya
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0652s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]