Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 16:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
dual monitor laptop
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
beningh

Joined: 25 Dec 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 25 Dec 2011, 03:56    Post subject:  dual monitor laptop
Subject description: dual monitor laptop screen is odd
 

I got a ASUS Z37S Laptop with NVIDIA GeForce 8400mg. And a Viewsonic VX1937 (19") monitor. (puppy 5.28 ). I installed "NVIDIA X Server Settings". Everything went great. The setting on the left monitor is the viewsonic at 1440x900. The right monitor at 1280x800 with twinview. The displays look good. The wallpaper goes across both monitors ok. But when I maximized a program on the left monitor, it will not fill the whole screen, but I can drag it out to the edges of the monitor. When I maximized a program on the right side, it is larger then the monitor, running into the left monitor. I can still drag from one monitor to another. I can live with this (I think). But what if I get a program some day that does not like this.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 25 Dec 2011, 08:27    Post subject:  

If ur using JWM, that may be the reason, it does not work well when maximising windows on the '2nd' screen.. If that is the case, then try installing 'openbox' or xfce, etc...

They can be found here, they might work on your Puppy: http://akita.scottjarvis.com

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 25 Dec 2011, 10:02    Post subject:  

I may be wrong, but I think for twinview to work as you are trying to, both monitors need to use the same resolution, as sliding from one screen to the other there is a resolution mismatch
I've seen it work brilliantly with Compiz/Beryl

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0405s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0029s) ][ GZIP on ]