Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 04 Jul 2020, 06:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Transferring Puppy install from one computer to another
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 968
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 14:57    Post subject:  Transferring Puppy install from one computer to another  

Now that i have Puppy linux installed on my Dell 3000, I would like to install Puppy Linux on my HP laptop. Is it possible rather than installing a new copy of Puppy on the laptop, to just take the setup i have on my Dell and put it on the laptop? If i can do that, that would really be cool!!! Smile Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1779

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 16:21    Post subject:  

If you mean moving your settings to another computer, the answer is a qualified yes.

With a frugal installation, your save file can be copied onto a flash drive and moved to another computer.

(It's a good idea to keep a backup/master save file on a flash drive anyway, in case your computer's save file gets corrupted.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 17:57    Post subject:  

it all depends on what you refer to.

Ooops after reading some of your other posts.

"I already did a Full install to my internal HD. "

You ahve full install of Puppy with a 2GB swap?
That is only needed if you have to do very demanding
editing of audio or video? But maybe that is your goal?
Anyway to move a full install is that even possible?

I am out of this thread, I know nothing about full installs.

my older text

Does the other computer have the same screen resolution?
Is it intel chips on both or maybe totally different drivers needed.

the save file may not give same result of them too different.

You have 30 posts so I should have read through them to find out
what install you have? Is it a full install? or a frugal install?

Does both have formatted partitions similar. I mean do you have both
formatted in NTFS and doing a frugal install on both.
or is one ext2 and the other ext3 or something.

Would the save file really not care about such differences?

I think you should give more info on the set up

But I bow out of the thread due to me know too little.
I only do frugal install on NTFS 99% of the time so I
know very little about ext 2 or 3 installs

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 968
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 18:30    Post subject:  

I have a full install on my Dell 3000 desktop computer. This computer has 2GB of RAM and a large HD (around 200GB)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 449
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 18:39    Post subject:  

most likely installing it would be easier than trying to copy it over?
If you do find an way to - you need to rerun xorgwizard.
This is because of the different hardware.

i swapped hard drives before but never cloned one. Razz

_________________
3.01 Fat Free / Fire Hydrant featherweight/ TXZ_pup / 431JP2012
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Peace and Justice are two sides of the same coin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 968
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 20:28    Post subject:  

You're right. I finally came to the conclusion that doing a fresh install and copying over files is much easier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
babaguy


Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 21:36    Post subject: Creating a new CD of your present Puppy Setup  

Hi !

You've probably already seen to your new install - but can you make a CD or flash drive of your current system, and use THAT as your install CD on the HP laptop?

That way, you won't have to go back through everything, adding any new programs, etc. that are already happily a part of your first Puppy machine...

Just a thought...

_________________
"Real happiness lies in making others happy." - Meher Baba
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 968
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 23:08    Post subject:  

I would like to know exactly how I could do that. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4421
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 23:35    Post subject:  

rmcellig wrote:
I would like to know exactly how I could do that. Any ideas?


He's probably referring to making a remaster copy.
Easier to do with a frugal install than full; (mainly because
full requires "Dougals remaster script" which isn't included
in the menus.)

It still needs to be installed with the installer.

Better to just have your favorite .pets saved on a flash drive.

Only takes ten minutes to do a full install once you've done it a few times. That's actually faster than frugal to hard drive
install once making sizable save files is taken into account.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 449
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 21:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
Better to just have your favorite .pets saved on a flash drive.

With TXZ_Pup its even easier:

load your converted pets to tgz using pet2slack to an file on your flash drive.
add all the updates from the other install and copy of slaxer_pkg_tools2.4.
on the new install you click slaxer_pkg_tools2.4 script and you are updated with all your apps in 1 min or less.

and if you pack the files that need configuring by use of pet maker.
way easy Very Happy Very Happy

sorry about the txz-pup plug but its so fast cloning your setups that way. Very Happy Twisted Evil Very Happy

_________________
3.01 Fat Free / Fire Hydrant featherweight/ TXZ_pup / 431JP2012
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Peace and Justice are two sides of the same coin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0664s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0287s) ][ GZIP on ]