Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 21:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Love Puppy but want it on your HDD alongside Ubuntu/Mint?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
sgull


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 22:49    Post subject:  

Tman wrote:
In my opinion, using the grub4dos bootloader config that comes with most modern pups is the simplest method.
As Shinobar has said, it will autodetect other Grub2 installs.


Although the method I used, that of editing Grub2 configuration files, seems to have worked, I really wish I'd looked more closely at using the grub4dos bootloader instead. As you say it does seem simpler than the more involved "round-about" method I ended up messing with.

Next time... Confused

_________________
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 Frugal

Last edited by sgull on Sat 07 Apr 2012, 10:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 07 Apr 2012, 02:53    Post subject:  

Guys are you really sure that grub4dos work for every full install distro?

Re the editing of grub.conf directly. I read about that thing on another site too.
But where using an old scrap machine that I ditched and forgot to do a note
where I read it. Typical of me. That guy renamed 10_custom to 07_custom
or something. Humor that one Smile

Edit Ooops it where in this thread by Artistjsb. first post.
Correction it is 40_custom he renames not the other one.

Hahah my poor memory change things around. Not good memory at all.
Happy though that I have found this thread again. Bookmark it now! Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 07 Apr 2012, 10:21    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Guys are you really sure that grub4dos work for every full install distro?


It has worked for every distro I tried so far. For distros that use grub2, it should be fairly easy. I had to tweak the menu.lst for vector linux. I just installed Arch and had to tweak it also. Actually it wasn't really that hard.
You just need to provide the proper uuid, and the exact path+name for the initrd file and the kernel file. Some distros have totally different names for them ( see Slitaz menu entry below ).
But there are only 2 files to search for (usually located in the /boot folder).

Below are my menu entries for full-installs. I don't have the settings for Vector Linux, cause I removed it. I also removed Mint and Debian because usage and commands are pretty much the same as Ubuntu-Studio. My final distro is going to be Fedora.

Code:

### Slitaz frugal installs

title SilTaz 4.0 RC3 - chainloader method
  root (hd0,1)
  chainloader +1

title SilTaz 4.0 RC3 - uuid method
  uuid 88a85285-c831-46e4-a400-c771b6625876
  kernel /boot/bzImage   rw root=/dev/null home=88a85285-c831-46e4-a400-c771b6625876
  initrd /boot/rootfs.gz

### Full installed Linux

title Ubuntu Studio 11.10 (sda2)
  uuid 3db3c8d0-00dd-4886-baf8-68502d04004e
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 pmedia=atahd ro
  initrd /initrd.img

title Arch Linux (sda4)
  uuid 1c81c9c8-50a7-435d-ac96-bf795cab63d5
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda4 ro vga=773
  initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img

title  Arch Linux Fallback (sda4)
  uuid 1c81c9c8-50a7-435d-ac96-bf795cab63d5
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda4 ro
  initrd /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img


EDIT: oops Slitaz was an unconventional frugal install..I've corrected the menu description.
-

Last edited by Tman on Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:18; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 07 Apr 2012, 13:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for sharing that one.

I will try your code on the crunch variant of arch?
And Crunchbang for debian too?

I have an 8Gb usb running now so hopefully I managed
to download the iso and set it all up within the two hours
I have before bed time.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1452s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0476s) ][ GZIP on ]