Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 18:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 43 of 250 [3743 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 13:11    Post subject: I'm not entirely sure which message this is.  

Embarassed

It's the readme message listed in the iso in version 7. It was called something else in version 6.

Hope that helps.

Pete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 13:21    Post subject:  

Ah, ok thanks. I'd never even seen that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 13:28    Post subject: Mounting drives  

Automounting is pretty dangerous on Puppy. First it gives windows users the idea that it's ok to not unmount, like it is on windows. If you do that in linux, you absolutely will lose data. Secondly, having the drives that you are not using unmounted prevents them from getting damaged, either by the user doing something dumb or by something going wrong with the software.

Thank you for the explanation. I did not know this. I am so glad that my friends here at Puppy taught me well to mount and unmount. That is why I was missing the drives showing on desktop so I could see if they were mounted or not.

I started working on 7 and noticed those messages about what drives were available. At first I thought that it meant that they were mounted. But I see that it does not.

I look forward to seeing how this issue is handled in version 8.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 13:48    Post subject: Re: Luki 6
Subject description: I see you posted 7 while I was working on six. GREAT.
 

Yeah the big white cursor is the best for visibility. Maybe I'll have it the default.
Yes, especially since the backgrounds are so beautiful. Exclamation Exclamation

The premium cursor is supposed to be animated, but it is kind of annoying.
Animated is fine if it would get bigger and smaller. Fading in and out defeats its function.


Pete22 wrote:

No desktop key on task bar. there is a thingee that tells where each window is on this workspace but nothing that let me see the desktop monetarily.

You can add that in the panel preferences if you want. I'll replace the workspace switcher with the desktop shower for 008.

Wow Thanks

Pete22 wrote:

I also had trouble after I maximized a page, it only wanted to be full size or minimized after that. I would like the choice of having it go back to it normal size too.


I'm not sure what the cause of this is.

My guess then it was user error.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 13:57    Post subject: Firewall  

Pete22 wrote:

did this puppy automatically set up a firewall or not? I found a place and set one up, but I still don’t see a place where I can tell if it is on.

It does not set one up automatically. In my opinion the firewall is not usually necessary and requires a fairly high level of expertise to configure and monitor correctly. I'll think about an applet but I think it just adds unneeded junk to the tray.

I wondered about this just paranoia from using windoze. Users, however, might be more comfortable if they knew it was on. If they saw it come on and then disappear that should be fine. Or perhaps a good explanation as to why it s not needed because Puppy is so Wonderful. Very Happy

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1904

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 14:18    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
jemimah wrote:

Code:
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
from xorg.conf.

Mavrothol can you see if that is in your xorg.conf?


Yes. is there. I'll check latter if this is the issue.


Commented out the suspicious line to no effect.
The working driver had no issue with this change.
The faulty driver showed the same errors as before including the inability to detect the protocol.
Would you mind posting your compile configure parameters?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 14:36    Post subject:  Re: Saluki
Subject description: A community project with an innovative Xfce desktop
 

jemimah wrote:
The focus will be user friendliness, innovation, improved look and feel, and solid, functional applications. We attempt to address the most common complaints of new Puppy users and raise the bar for Puppy usability, customizability, and stylishness.
YES!
A contemporarily-presentable Puppy, at last!

Finally someone who gets it, and sure enough - it's a woman! Very Happy

I've tried 007, and it's totally going in the right direction! Loving it already!
I suggest avoiding the pinkness & feminine font as default, though, as it comes across as "girly" and might shy away a few "machos".
And I'm hoping the disk-(nearly)-full blinkining can be turned off if so desired (haven't tested it, but I'm assuming it's still blinking). Smile

Anyhow, this dawg is pleased. Cool

_________________
I used to only like Puppy as a friend, but now I think our relationship is starting to develop into something more... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 14:37    Post subject:  

Hi jemimah,

Thanks for this distribution.

Manual frugal installation of 007 on an ext4 partition. Booted up to the desktop was flawless. shinobar's pupsaveconfig works great, much faster and more user friendly now and it's great that it defaults to 4fs save file. Great that there are minimum applications, however, I do miss Bootmanager coming up after creating a save file so that the usual sfs files may be selected for next boot.

Only problem that I've noted is that pmount is extremely slow, taking almost 40 seconds to mount or unmount a drive. Other distributions take less than 3 seconds.

Cheers,
Jim

System: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 14:47    Post subject: Flash  

Pete22 wrote:

xfce Panel Preferences - When I started I had no idea what a panel was.


I guess you'd call it a taskbar?

Yes.
This brings me to 2 points.

1-In relation to the Bill Gates and law stuff. We need a cheat sheet of terms for ex windoze users. or better yet I suggest instead of using the windows terms, use the linux terms but with a twist. Windows terms could also be added by default as [I'm sorry I don't know the right words for some things] little bubbles that pop up as you mouse over something. When a user got comfortable with the linux terms, these mouse over windoze bubbles could be then be turned off.

2-A panel is a taskbar. Yes, It's so simple, and yet a panel can do so much more than a taskbar can do in windoze. I think comparing it to a taskbar gets them in the right ballpark. But to really configure what they want their panels to do they need to see some in action; so they can understand what is possible.

This is why I think an interactive set up tool for all the features would be great. It could show what something was, explain new terms, and then show several ways of how it is used. With this knowledge the user then set their preferences for an item. Of course there would be a bypass for the geeks to tweak to their delight.



Flash: You don't really have to update it unless your favorite websites tell you that your flash is too old. I think about an updater though.

I understand about the software now. I think an updater would be good, because adobe is always trying to get you to download some other software at their site when it updates through its website. .

I think that the storage flash is talking about is some sort of cookie but not the same kind of cookie that websites usually use. I could be wrong about what they are because I have never seen Windoze ask me how I want to handle this type of storage. So I think an explanation to newbies about what these are and how they might want to handle it would be helpful some where.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 15:05    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
jemimah wrote:

Code:
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
from xorg.conf.

Mavrothol can you see if that is in your xorg.conf?


Yes. is there. I'll check latter if this is the issue.


Commented out the suspicious line to no effect.
The working driver had no issue with this change.
The faulty driver showed the same errors as before including the inability to detect the protocol.
Would you mind posting your compile configure parameters?


Here it is. I didn't do anything special with it.
config.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  config.log.gz 
Filesize  8.4 KB 
Downloaded  83 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 15:09    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Hi jemimah,

Thanks for this distribution.

Manual frugal installation of 007 on an ext4 partition. Booted up to the desktop was flawless. shinobar's pupsaveconfig works great, much faster and more user friendly now and it's great that it defaults to 4fs save file. Great that there are minimum applications, however, I do miss Bootmanager coming up after creating a save file so that the usual sfs files may be selected for next boot.

Only problem that I've noted is that pmount is extremely slow, taking almost 40 seconds to mount or unmount a drive. Other distributions take less than 3 seconds.

Cheers,
Jim

System: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One


Is the drive mounter in the tray working at a reasonable speed?

There's really no reason to reboot to load sfses. Since you can load them on the fly, you might as well load them on the first boot. I could bring up sfs loader then, but you're already spammed with so much info on the first boot I'd rather not add more chaos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 15:17    Post subject: Re: Flash  

Pete22 wrote:
Pete22 wrote:

xfce Panel Preferences - When I started I had no idea what a panel was.


I guess you'd call it a taskbar?

Yes.
This brings me to 2 points.

1-In relation to the Bill Gates and law stuff. We need a cheat sheet of terms for ex windoze users. or better yet I suggest instead of using the windows terms, use the linux terms but with a twist. Windows terms could also be added by default as [I'm sorry I don't know the right words for some things] little bubbles that pop up as you mouse over something. When a user got comfortable with the linux terms, these mouse over windoze bubbles could be then be turned off.

2-A panel is a taskbar. Yes, It's so simple, and yet a panel can do so much more than a taskbar can do in windoze. I think comparing it to a taskbar gets them in the right ballpark. But to really configure what they want their panels to do they need to see some in action; so they can understand what is possible.

This is why I think an interactive set up tool for all the features would be great. It could show what something was, explain new terms, and then show several ways of how it is used. With this knowledge the user then set their preferences for an item. Of course there would be a bypass for the geeks to tweak to their delight.



Flash: You don't really have to update it unless your favorite websites tell you that your flash is too old. I think about an updater though.

I understand about the software now. I think an updater would be good, because adobe is always trying to get you to download some other software at their site when it updates through its website. .

I think that the storage flash is talking about is some sort of cookie but not the same kind of cookie that websites usually use. I could be wrong about what they are because I have never seen Windoze ask me how I want to handle this type of storage. So I think an explanation to newbies about what these are and how they might want to handle it would be helpful some where.

Pete


Well there is a Tips and Tricks application. I can add it to the menu for 008.

As for updating - I always thought the update nags were one of the most irritating thing about windows. The Puppy motto is more along the lines of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." Once the repo is working, you should be able to check for updates there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 16:14    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:


Is the drive mounter in the tray working at a reasonable speed?

There's really no reason to reboot to load sfses. Since you can load them on the fly, you might as well load them on the first boot. I could bring up sfs loader then, but you're already spammed with so much info on the first boot I'd rather not add more chaos.
The drive manager in the tray works fine, thanks, I had not discovered it. Hope that the speed problem with pmount can be corrected otherwise it should be replaced by the drive manager in the tray with an updated icon. There is one problem though, /mnt/home/ partition does not show up, in my case sdb2 is missing but it should be shown as mounted. That eliminates a simple way to look at the partition.

As for bootmanager configuration, it's convenient to use it to set up sfs files that you want to use all the time ie: libreoffice, java, etc. Maybe I should explore the capabilities of loading them on the fly, maybe that would do what I want. However, why has the bootmanager configuration changed so that it is not possible to use it to set up sfs files to load upon boot. It really doesn't need to be loaded upon first reboot, but does need to be accessible.

Thanks, Saluki is developing into an awesome distribution. I'm looking forward to trying it on other hardware.

Cheers,
Jim
image-2.jpg
 Description   Other distributions
 Filesize   59.54 KB
 Viewed   554 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

image-6.jpg
 Description   Saluki
 Filesize   22.14 KB
 Viewed   559 Time(s)

image-6.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 17:22    Post subject:  

/mnt/home does show up in the side panel in thunar, but it does not show up in the mounter because it is not possible to unmount it. I may be able to make it so it shows up but is greyed out.

The old bootmanager sfs loader is gone because it's been replaced with sfs-load. Having both is confusing. You can just click on any sfs file to load it immediately.
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.9 KB
 Viewed   488 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 18:15    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
/mnt/home does show up in the side panel in thunar, but it does not show up in the mounter because it is not possible to unmount it. I may be able to make it so it shows up but is greyed out.

The old bootmanager sfs loader is gone because it's been replaced with sfs-load. Having both is confusing. You can just click on any sfs file to load it immediately.
Thanks, I didn't realize that "sfs load on-the-fly" was so simple to use and I was under the false impression that when a sfs loaded with "sfs load on-the-fly" , upon reboot that it unloaded. Embarassed Next question. How do you unload a sfs file that you no longer want loaded? You keep teaching an old dog new tricks. Smile

It would be helpful for /mnt/home to show up in the mounter if it can be used to open the file manager to show the partition as it does when a partition is mounted. Also, is it possible to show the same information about the partitions that are unmounted as is shown for a mounted partition?

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 43 of 250 [3743 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1376s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0267s) ][ GZIP on ]