Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 13:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 250 [3742 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 12:24    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
It's not a bug it's a feature:)
there's an option to make a symlink via custom actions

Creating a symbolic link

Name: Create symlink
Command: ln -s %f ”%n (symlink)”
File pattern: *
Appears if selection contains: Directories, other files


Hi magerlab,

I fixed it now it works

Name: Create Symlink
Command: [ `basename $PWD` != %n ] && ln -s %f link-to-%n

now when I make a link in the same folder such as "Downloads" the link looks like this and works "link-to-Downloads"
, I knew it should have worked, had me baffled as to why it didn't Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 12:38    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:

I looked for the transparent panel, that was in Xfce panel preferences it allowed transparency with a slider than set alpha level, it appears to be missing, the older version use to make the panel and the icons on it transparent, the new version is supposed to only make the panel background transparent.


I think you are supposed to use a transparent background with the panel (like the transparent wallpaper). At least thats the impression I got from the xfce tour page.


I thought that too, I tried a transparent image but it just shows up as a black bar, I'm pretty sure that the bars are independent from the composite window settings, it has it's own settings in the panel preferences, well in the 4.6 version it did and by what I have read online there is supposed to be a alpha setting in the panel preferences also, I tried looking for a image of the 4.8 panel to confirm it, I'll look some more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 12:50    Post subject:  

Yeah I looked at the source. It is a bug of some sort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 13:22    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
Yeah I looked at the source. It is a bug of some sort.


Here is a youtube vid showing the panel being adjusted http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMtwRM_65FY it shows a alpha slider as I thought there should be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 13:28    Post subject:  

I can force it to appear, but gtk is not playing ball. I have no idea why not. So I can get all-translucent panels, but not where the widgets are opaque.


Edit: GAH!!!! found the probem.
Remove this from /etc/profile and reboot and it'll work.
Code:
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 13:51    Post subject:  

as far as I remember opaque panel works if compositor for xfwm is enabled. After that you'll get alpha slider. I'll check that out if it works, I'm not in saluki now
_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 14:03    Post subject:  

Anyone cracked the single/double click conundrum yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 14:30    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Anyone cracked the single/double click conundrum yet?
home edit preferences behavior
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 14:35    Post subject:  

Thanks, friend!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alec78

Joined: 18 Mar 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jan 2012, 14:50    Post subject: Delta Files  

Hi all,
Thank you for your prompt action Jermimah.
I should have been more specific, however, I had just downloaded the 005 iso and you were posting about the next iso, I panicked hence my post. I was thinking about future isos.
Very Sorry.
Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 18:10    Post subject:  

Wanted to try pnethood to access samba shares

Loaded the pets and setup the share OK but the "Show" button in pnethood didn't work.

Presumed that this was because it wanted /usr/bin/rox so wanted to create a symlink to /usr/bin/Thunar - tried to do so with the right click menu and hit the previous reported bug (sorry feature) that symlinks can't be created in the same directory (although a broken link is created and no error messages are given).

So copied Thunar instead of symlinking and renamed the copy rox - "Show" button in pnethood then worked.

/usr/bin/rox also needed to make pfind pets work (i.e. open found objects).

Thought - maybe having the rox symlink built in would allow some pets that assume the availability of rox to work without additional development?

This is a lesson learnt carried over from iguleder's guydog....which also exchanged rox for a different file manager.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 18:26    Post subject:  

If you just symlink it, you get a bunch of errors on bootup as the background daemons try to add icons to the rox pinboard and such. If I get rid of that code entirely, it would prevent the real rox from working if you install it. We need a wrapper that gracefully does the right thing. Contributions welcome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 15:50    Post subject:  

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to say that I'm not going to be nearly as active in Puppy Linux stuff as I used to. Since November 2010, I have been spending much of my free time trying to learn puppy and trying out so many different pups/puplets.
But this year, I have decided to transfer my free time to a new project in my life, that I hope will lead to a new career. Puppy Linux is still my main OS, so I will still be browsing through this forum, but not nearly as often as I used to. I leave Saluki in the very capable hands of Jemimah. She has a lot of back-up from forum members, and although my assistance may have been helpful, it is not really needed. I may drop in on this thread once in a while, but for the most part, Saluki shall go on without me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 17:52    Post subject:  

a few saluki wallpapers.
pupja8,3.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   16.41 KB
 Viewed   682 Time(s)

pupja8,3.jpg

pupja8,2.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   12.91 KB
 Viewed   667 Time(s)

pupja8,2.jpg

pupdc25,3.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   12.92 KB
 Viewed   666 Time(s)

pupdc25,3.jpg

puja8,1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   28.57 KB
 Viewed   664 Time(s)

puja8,1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 18:22    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
If you just symlink it, you get a bunch of errors on bootup as the background daemons try to add icons to the rox pinboard and such. If I get rid of that code entirely, it would prevent the real rox from working if you install it. We need a wrapper that gracefully does the right thing. Contributions welcome!


Hi jemimah

I don't see any errors on reboot with my copy of /usr/bin/Thunar renamed to /usr/bin/rox

I've looked in dmesg and in /var/log/messages - no errors I can see

Where do you expect the errors to appear?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 250 [3742 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1059s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0261s) ][ GZIP on ]