Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 21:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 33 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 12:15    Post_subject:  

I can not get a wifi connection with WPA/TKIP in Saluki 005. It always worked fine in other puppies and in 001-004 Saluki.
Xfce4 is fine Smile

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 12:50    Post_subject:  

Barking is essential for testing and reassurance.
Double-click default will only endear you to hardened refugees. One will suffice.
Appreciate the small size, but even the crumbiest default browser (other than ELinks!) would help until all the items in PPM are updated in nluug & ibiblio. Please update FlashPlayer to Opera11.6-compatible version - think mick did this for Slacko? might've been PD for Lupu? Or let folks know how to do their own update?
Could the Xfce Control Panel be reverted to a pre-4.8 version and operated like the full Settings Manager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 14:33    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:
Double-click default will only endear you to hardened refugees.


I don't think xfdesktop has a single click option. Let me know if you find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 14:50    Post_subject:  

I think it has only double click. That's why i move all launchers into second xfce-panel at top.
But in next xfce4.10( beta in January? ) they promise to apply single click since desktop will be handled by thunar

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 21:13    Post_subject:  

To solve the problem where Frisbee won't take your password create the following directory:
Code:
/usr/share/gvfs/remote-volume-monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 21:30    Post_subject:  

For those who had difficulty getting SNS or Dougals Network Wizard to work, did you disable Frisbee first?

You should go into the control panel and tell Frisbee not to start.

After that it should work, as long as you select SNS or Dougals Network from the Internet Connection Wizard.

Let me know if it still doesn't. I'm not sure if my newer dhcpcd is incompatble with the other scripts or not. I don't really want have to include two versons of dhcpcd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 21:33    Post_subject:  

Looks good, but does need a debug, I still have the petget problem with a USB install but this fixes that
pemasu wrote:
Shinobars PPM (petget) folder fixes might help with pupmode=13 ie usb boot situatiations. It changes the way how to save installed applications in pupmode=13.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73829


Also have problem emptying the trash and deleting some files, don't know if it's USB related, I get this message sometimes " unable to trash file invalid cross-device link ", right clicking desktop trash icon the "Empty Trash" greyed out don't work.

To explore sfs files with thunar, right click on sfs file go to " Open With Other Application" then "Use a custom command:" type in "filemnt" then have ability to mount and unmount sfs file's by clicking them, no xdg-open, so can't configure web browser downloader to open mime types, can only set to open download folder using Thunar command.

xf desktop mouse is double click, there has never been a single click option.

I have some themes that seem to work ok with xfce and thunar, try theses.
Win7_theme.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Win7_theme.pet 
Filesize  222.05 KB 
Downloaded  140 Time(s) 
OSX_theme.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  OSX_theme.pet 
Filesize  69.34 KB 
Downloaded  149 Time(s) 
Chrome_Like.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Chrome_Like.pet 
Filesize  51.83 KB 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 
Melted_Plastique3_theme.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Melted_Plastique3_theme.pet 
Filesize  144.35 KB 
Downloaded  136 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 21:40    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:


To explore sfs files with thunar, right click on sfs file go to " Open With Other Application" then "Use a custom command:" type in "filemnt" then have ability to mount and unmount sfs file's by clicking them, no xdg-open, so can't configure web browser downloader to open mime types, can only set to open download folder using Thunar command.


Oops I broke that. I'll fix it for the next release. Xdg-open is called exo-open in xfce.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 22:01    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
For those who had difficulty getting SNS or Dougals Network Wizard to work, did you disable Frisbee first?

You should go into the control panel and tell Frisbee not to start.

After that it should work, as long as you select SNS or Dougals Network from the Internet Connection Wizard.


I told Frisbee not to start, then used SNS and it worked but needs to be rerun each reboot.
Then I used Dougals Network and ran auto dhcp, saved the settings, and the wireless network connects each bootup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 23:12    Post_subject: Saluki
Sub_title: tempicon
 

01micko's tempicon-0.04.pet and lm_sensors-3.1.2.pet work.
image-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.58 KB
 Viewed   795 Time(s)

image-1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 00:32    Post_subject:  

Here's a small mod for the /root/.gtkrc.mine file so that the desktop icons don't have those ugly text box's
Code:
style "xfdesktop-icon-view" {
    XfdesktopIconView::label-alpha = 0
}
widget_class "*XfdesktopIconView*" style "xfdesktop-icon-view"
gtk-icon-theme-name="gnome"
gtk-can-change-accels = 1
gtk-double-click-time = 500
gtk-font-name = "DejaVu Sans 10"


Here's a screen shot using the transparent gtk.mine and a transparent wallpaper and changed the backround color, also shows stuff in the trash but the button is greyed out.



jemimah, I notice there was no xfce screen shooter, works good in conjunction with clipman, gives a preview in Clipboard Manager on taskbar, for the size it's worth including, here is a copy of the one from Quirky nop, seems to work ok, just a thought.
xfce4-screenshooter.gz
Description  not a gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  xfce4-screenshooter.gz 
Filesize  22.76 KB 
Downloaded  116 Time(s) 
Flow-tran.png
Description  Transparent wallpaper
png

 Download 
Filename  Flow-tran.png 
Filesize  94.23 KB 
Downloaded  145 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 00:41    Post_subject: Re: Saluki
Sub_title: tempicon
 

Billtoo wrote:
01micko's tempicon-0.04.pet and lm_sensors-3.1.2.pet work.


There is one builtin, no need for another, also shows motherboard temp and voltages, there isn't much thats needed to add to xfce, has a lot of features.
temp-monitor.png
 Description   
 Filesize   8.36 KB
 Viewed   788 Time(s)

temp-monitor.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 01:10    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
jemimah, I notice there was no xfce screen shooter, works good in conjunction with clipman, gives a preview in Clipboard Manager on taskbar, for the size it's worth including, here is a copy of the one from Quirky nop, seems to work ok, just a thought.


I think it didn't compile when I tried. I'll take another look or use yours if I can't get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 03:16    Post_subject:  

Jem.- angel:
Quote:
I don't think xfdesktop has a single click option

In the 'conventional' Xfce Settings/Xfce 4 Settings Manager/File Manager/Behaviour can be found the 'single click' option. {It works on everything except icons from the displayed desktop.}
But, I don't recognise the present version of Xfce Control Panel and don't see the usual 'Settings Manager'. Would be a good plan to inspect a regular distro installation that defaults to Xfce - there are lots - then all will become clear. I think gray might use the 'regular' Xfce in NOP? Also try Mint9Xfce/Vector/PCLOS-PhoenixXfce/Others, possibly Lighthouse?
It's in there somewhere but not implemented, esp. in Xfce overlay distros like Gnome'buntu and Gnome Mint, into which can be loaded the Xfce desktop. i.e., although Xfce is only a desktop, you need to inspect a distro designed as an Xfce release with all the excess Gnome garbage removed. There are guys who do this very successfully but it's well outside my remit.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 03:19    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
jemimah, I notice there was no xfce screen shooter, works good in conjunction with clipman, gives a preview in Clipboard Manager on taskbar, for the size it's worth including, here is a copy of the one from Quirky nop, seems to work ok, just a thought.


I think it didn't compile when I tried. I'll take another look or use yours if I can't get it.


jemimah, that xfce4-screenshooter still has the help button active which links to " /usr/bin/xfhelp4 " , this opens file:///usr/share/doc/index.html in conjunction with /usr/bin/xfbrowser4 which is already in Saluki, but not being used by the look of it

And while I remember, the open on the right click menu of the desktop trash don't work for me either, it's strange when emptying the trash, it pops up with a message that files can't be modified and do you want to skip them, if I select yes to all they delete, weird Confused

xfhelp4
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
#  gxfce
#
#  Copyright (C) 1999 Olivier Fourdan (fourdan@xfce.org)
#  Copyright (C) 2003 Jasper Huijsmans (jasper@xfce.org)
#
#  This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
#  it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
#  the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
#  (at your option) any later version.
#
#  This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
#  but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
#  MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
#  GNU General Public License for more details.
#
#  You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
#  along with this program; if not, write to the Free Software
#  Foundation, Inc., 59 Temple Place - Suite 330, Boston, MA 02111-1307, USA.
#

HELP_DIR="/usr/share/doc"

if [ ! x"$1" = x"" ]; then
    HELP_FILE="$1"
else
    HELP_FILE="index.html"
fi

# Check for translated documentation
if [ -n "$LC_ALL" ] ; then
  LC=$LC_ALL
elif [ -n "$LANG" ] ; then
  LC=$LANG
else
  LC="C"
fi

if [ -r "$HELP_DIR/$LC/$HELP_FILE" ]
then
  URL="$HELP_DIR/$LC/$HELP_FILE"
elif [ -r "$HELP_DIR/`echo $LC | sed 's/\(..\)_.*/\1/'`/$HELP_FILE" ]
then
  URL="$HELP_DIR/`echo $LC | sed 's/\(..\)_.*/\1/'`/$HELP_FILE"
elif [ -r "$HELP_DIR/C/$HELP_FILE" ]
then
  URL="$HELP_DIR/C/$HELP_FILE"
else
  URL="$HELP_DIR/index.html"
fi

xfbrowser4 $URL


xfbrowser4
Code:

#!/bin/sh

if [ "x$BROWSER" = "x" ]
then
  for b in exo-open  firefox epiphany galeon mozilla konqueror dillo
  do
    if which "$b" > /dev/null 2>&1
    then
      BROWSER=$b
      break;
    fi
  done
fi

if [ "x$BROWSER" = "x" ]
then
  echo " *** Error ***: xfbrowser4: Could not find browser to use."
  echo "                Please set the BROWSER variable."
  exit 1
fi

if [ ! "x$1" = "x" ]; then
  case $1 in
      *://*) URL=$1;;
      *) URL="file://$1" ;;
  esac
fi

case $BROWSER in
    firefox*)
   $BROWSER -a firefox -remote openurl\($URL,new-window\) || \
      $BROWSER $URL
   ;;
    communicator*|netscape|mozilla*|phoenix*|firebird*)
   $BROWSER -remote openurl\($URL,new-window\) || \
      $BROWSER $URL   
   ;;
    opera*)
       $BROWSER -remote openURL\($URL,new-window\) || \
      $BROWSER $URL
   ;;
   exo-open)
       $BROWSER --launch WebBrowser $URL
   ;;
    *)
       $BROWSER $URL
   ;;
esac

if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
   xmessage -center -file - -title Error <<EOF
Unable to execute browser.
Online help is not available.
EOF
   exit 1
fi

exit 0

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 33 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1411s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0410s) ][ GZIP on ]