Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 19:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 202 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 07 May 2012, 21:24    Post_subject:  

Does saluki have the option to run as spot or the fido user account ability, both are handy as at times soem apps dont work, i cant join an irc channel as puppy is root by default and my irc client is in root.

so how do i use spot and Fido to do this.

edit: found we have spot.so i tested with pidgin.
Code:
su spot -c pidgin.
I just add that code to the desktop app and it will run the app and user spot. would anyone know how i can make this system wide so all instances of pidgin or other apps will run as spot by default..

this is a test really so i can see how it is done. i am wanting to run irc client pidgin, xchat etc s spot mainly.

my options are as follows.
  1. run just the apps i need as spot.
  2. run the whole os as spot user.
  3. or run as fido user (if this ability is in saluki)
can anyone advise what is the best options.

I notice that running pidgin as spot i have now 2 pidgin instances. the origional /root/.puiple and /root/spot/purple making the save fiel bigger. is it safe to remove /root/.purple if i am only going to run pidgin as spot. I assume it is.

Thanks in advance for any ideas and suggestions you may have. .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2596
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 05:30    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
I was intending on releasing the xfce 4.10 beta/preview today, but it ate the partition table on my Windows partition and a couple of my USB drives sometime during development and I want to figure out why first.

I had a weird thing going on with Saluki20 the other day, where it was confusing a HDD partition and a USB stick partition. Both of the had the same name (Boot) and I wondered if that was confusing Saluki.

Sorry I don't have any real detail - it took me a few minutes to realise that it was mounting and unmounting the wrong partition and in the confusion I decided it was safest to just shut down. Didn't seem to lose any data, but just thought I'd mention it in case there was any common cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 09:32    Post_subject:  

here are some things i noticed today
  1. midori browser cant even play youtube videos. (maybe midori does not by default look for the flashplayer in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins like other browsers. where would i put the plugin for midori). i have the flashplayer installed and can use view youtube fine in the google chrome browser.
  2. there is no java app or sfs in ppm
I hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 10:17    Post_subject:  

Regarding the default browser - lets not start a big discussion about that. No matter what the default is, it will disappoint the majority of users. At this point there is no good choice for a default.

I personally strongly dislike nag screens telling that pop up and tell me what do do (like install a browser). That's one of the reasons I hate running Windows. Perhaps a message about it that comes up the first time midori is run would be less obtrusive.

Slickpet and the like were developed in response to the fact that the PPM was pretty unusable and unreliable. For me, it makes no sense to maintain two PPMs - I'd rather have just have one that works.

The saluki website is nearly ready for action. That will be the ideal place to put documentation and introductory information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
l2ulinux


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Location: Blountstown, Fl.

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 11:17    Post_subject: Saluki
Sub_title: Web Browser
 

I hope I did not upset you about the Midori browser. I understand you wanted a small browser and it fit for use and size. If they would check many Linux releases are starting to install it as start-up browser.

And you are right about Windows, I also only use I/E when I really have to.
We can use what you want there are install one we like better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 12:12    Post_subject:  

I've uploaded 022.

Have a recovery strategy in place before testing this one, just in case.

Do let me know if you any of your disks end up corrupted - I think that issue is fixed, but I'm not 100% sure.

The new XFCE is very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 12:17    Post_subject: Re: Saluki
Sub_title: Web Browser
 

l2ulinux wrote:
I hope I did not upset you about the Midori browser. I understand you wanted a small browser and it fit for use and size. If they would check many Linux releases are starting to install it as start-up browser.

And you are right about Windows, I also only use I/E when I really have to.
We can use what you want there are install one we like better.


No not a problem. It's only that browser choice always ends up to be a heated and aggravating discussion - right up there with religion and politics.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1433
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 13:49    Post_subject:  

The first thing that I found is that if a menu or control panel item is dragged to desktop it removes it from the menu, control panel, can't put it back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2128
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 14:15    Post_subject: Saluki
Sub_title: version 22
 

I did a manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive.

Saluki, version 022 on Tue 8 May 2012

Chip description:
5.0 VGA compatible controller
ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS690 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1280x800 pixels (338x211 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

# glxgears
785 frames in 5.0 seconds = 156.988 FPS
773 frames in 5.0 seconds = 154.575 FPS
786 frames in 5.0 seconds = 157.073 FPS

Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Memory 1812MB (226MB used)

Haven't tested 22 much yet but will later, good so far.
screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.97 KB
 Viewed   756 Time(s)

screen.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
l2ulinux


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Location: Blountstown, Fl.

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 14:32    Post_subject: Saluki-22
Sub_title: Testing
 

The XFCE Desktop Setting in the Control Panel will not let you set the choice of the background. I played around with it single image and image list and got it to set my choice. It was after clicking on each several times before it landed on the right one. When switching between the two it would change the background when clicking back to image list almost every time to a new background.

When setting up my savefile and rebooting it did not save my choice of background but everything else seems to work ok.

If no one else has this problem I will download again and start over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
l2ulinux


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Location: Blountstown, Fl.

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 16:10    Post_subject: Saluki-22
Sub_title: Testing
 

Computer:

Processor 4x Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz
Memory 2064MB (186MB used)
Operating System Unknown distribution
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Tue 08 May 2012 03:09:08 PM CDT

Operating System:

Version
Kernel Linux 3.2.8-ski (i686)
Compiled #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Mar 12 16:42:30 EET 2012
C Library GNU C Library version 2.10.1 (stable)
Default C Compiler Unknown
Distribution Unknown distribution
Current Session
Computer Name puppypc10462
User Name root (root)
Home Directory /root
Desktop Environment XFCE 4
Misc
Uptime 1 hour, 53 minutes
Load Average 0.02, 0.14, 0.19
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 16:17    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
The first thing that I found is that if a menu or control panel item is dragged to desktop it removes it from the menu, control panel, can't put it back.


Yeah I just noticed that. Hopefully I can find a fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 16:19    Post_subject: Re: Saluki-22
Sub_title: Testing
 

l2ulinux wrote:
The XFCE Desktop Setting in the Control Panel will not let you set the choice of the background. I played around with it single image and image list and got it to set my choice. It was after clicking on each several times before it landed on the right one. When switching between the two it would change the background when clicking back to image list almost every time to a new background.

When setting up my savefile and rebooting it did not save my choice of background but everything else seems to work ok.

If no one else has this problem I will download again and start over.


You need to use single image and browse to the image you want. I can't figure out how to get this version to show all images in /usr/share/backgrounds like the last one did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 17:53    Post_subject:    

jemimah wrote:
Regarding the default browser - lets not start a big discussion about that. No matter what the default is, it will disappoint the majority of users. At this point there is no good choice for a default
there is no suitable browser. firefox, chrome, opera and even seamonkey are all good browsers. i know you choose midori because if size.which is better than what lupu has by default. which is dillo (only good for reading html files). i dont see a pet for google chrome/chromium in the repose but found a chrome sfs file that works.

jemimah wrote:
I personally strongly dislike nag screens telling that pop up and tell me what do do (like install a browser). That's one of the reasons I hate running Windows. Perhaps a message about it that comes up the first time midori is run would be less obtrusive.
I totally agree with this to a point. one screen detailing the changes adn differences etc is good for a first time boot.

jemimah wrote:
Slickpet and the like were developed in response to the fact that the PPM was pretty unusable and unreliable. For me, it makes no sense to maintain two PPMs - I'd rather have just have one that works.
I agree 2 repos is a bit silly. The only good thing about slickpet etc is that it has all the common things people keep asking for eg dropbox, java, and other great stuff, and i like the layout look and feel.. the default ppm in most puppies in not really that bad anyway, it just needs to be maintained. (i never understood why they needed 2 really. and to uninstall pets you still have to use ppm). i noticed that a few apps are missing from saluki atm like dropbox sfs, java, take a look what is in them if people would be happy to build them for the saluki community it would help. and save jemimiah allot of work.

jemimah wrote:
The saluki website is nearly ready for action. That will be the ideal place to put documentation and introductory information.
excellent keep it up. a website with relevent links to stuff would be great idea. Hopefully you will have some help maintaining that. its a big ask for one person to be the main it.
_________________
HiDeHo is an ideas man. loves to come up with ideas that others think are good and can use
if you are a sneeky computer geek check out sneekygeekers click here
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 18:18    Post_subject:  

HiDeHo wrote:
Does saluki have the option to run as spot or the fido user account ability, both are handy as at times soem apps dont work, i cant join an irc channel as puppy is root by default and my irc client is in root.

so how do i use spot and Fido to do this.

edit: found we have spot.so i tested with pidgin.
Code:
su spot -c pidgin.
I just add that code to the desktop app and it will run the app and user spot. would anyone know how i can make this system wide so all instances of pidgin or other apps will run as spot by default..

this is a test really so i can see how it is done. i am wanting to run irc client pidgin, xchat etc s spot mainly.

my options are as follows.
  1. run just the apps i need as spot.
  2. run the whole os as spot user.
  3. or run as fido user (if this ability is in saluki)
can anyone advise what is the best options.

I notice that running pidgin as spot i have now 2 pidgin instances. the origional /root/.puiple and /root/spot/purple making the save fiel bigger. is it safe to remove /root/.purple if i am only going to run pidgin as spot. I assume it is.

Thanks in advance for any ideas and suggestions you may have.
after testing some things out i noticed that i cant run midori or my chrome.sfs as user spot. but i can run pidgin, thunderbird.sfs, skype.sfs as spot. running as spot does add a 2nd set of user files in /root/spot so i removed the original ones from /root to save space in the save file.

i notice there is no documents in /usr/share/doc for spot and not much i found in the forums. will keep searching till i do.

_________________
HiDeHo is an ideas man. loves to come up with ideas that others think are good and can use
if you are a sneeky computer geek check out sneekygeekers click here

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 202 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1377s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0419s) ][ GZIP on ]