Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 21:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 124 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 06:16    Post_subject:  

Whenever I go near anything based on Racy, or Racy itself, I always replace /etc/fonts/fonts.conf, local.conf, fonts.dtd with those from Slacko. It turns this:



into this:



Fixes some font issues with Opera and a whole bunch of problems with various spreadsheets from various sources I have to use.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 07:01    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Whenever I go near anything based on Racy, or Racy itself, I always replace /etc/fonts/fonts.conf, local.conf, fonts.dtd with those from Slacko. It turns this:



into this:



Fixes some font issues with Opera and a whole bunch of problems with various spreadsheets from various sources I have to use.



Nice Smile Please fix this in luki 15 Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
KJ

Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Location: Above sea level .. about 320m

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 09:19    Post_subject: Fonts  

This font fix look good to my tired eyes. Is there a .gz or .pet fix available? KJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 09:45    Post_subject: Re: Fonts  

KJ wrote:
This font fix look good to my tired eyes. Is there a .gz or .pet fix available? KJ


Here you go, give it a try. Please back up your save file first, just in case Smile
fontfix-1.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fontfix-1.0.pet 
Filesize  5.53 KB 
Downloaded  227 Time(s) 

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oliverjames

Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Location: Divonne-les-Bains, France

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 11:06    Post_subject:    

Thank you Jemima and all for a very functional and attractive OS. Here I speak of Saluki 013.

I tried 014 but it fell over a couple of times. The principal issue I had with 014 was being unable to write to an NTFS partition from a Ext4 format save file. Ext 3 enables this with no issues. I haven't had the time to verify if this glich exists in 013. Both 013 and 014 are on Ext4 formatted partition.

I'm using an external DAC with this system. This setup managed to break the Alsa settings in 014. So far no problems in 013.

Cheers,

Oliverjames
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 11:11    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Python 3.1.4 and Pygame
 

antiloquax wrote:
@Jemimah

Re-built pet that installs to /usr
Python 3.1.4

Regarding Scratch:
I've just booted into Saluki14 with pfix=ram.

It might be okay to ignore the libpulse message - I changed the plugins entry to ALSA in the shell-script.

I've remade the pet with the original name and it now uninstalls correctly.

It does seem to be working (cat meows when asked to!)

I'll try to get the libv4 thing working as soon as I can Very Happy


Thanks. I'll check this out when I get back home tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 12:13    Post_subject:  

Can somebody explain why it seems impossible to add a second panel?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 12:25    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Can somebody explain why it seems impossible to add a second panel?
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   38.63 KB
 Viewed   1375 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 12:34    Post_subject:  

Thanks Geoffry. Natch I tried that, but it crashes the desktop to try adding another panel. Add the second panel, all goes well. Try to move it, and desktop crashes. Re-boot without moving panel, and new panel does not survive re-boot. Tested on two different machines.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 13:53    Post_subject:  

dup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 13:55    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
you are not a coder

Ha! Ha! Ha!

This joker can neither read nor research. I know my limitations, but, evidently, he does not.

Oh, can't write a decent line of english(sic) without resorting to txt spk, either. Rather proves my oft repeated observations about transAtlantic education....

Back to the plot: still experiencing display issues with Saluki, even on most modern kit.


sage with your own words. 2 days ago you needed help with pfix=nox, today it's that I failed in my research of you and you imply your a code writer now.

with your own words whining, slander, bigotry.

"Xorg default is rated @ 1600x???, same feature as Saluki."
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=611793#611793

"Saluki ! It's the only one that consistently boots into the wrong default resolution."
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=611982#611982

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 18:05    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Thanks Geoffry. Natch I tried that, but it crashes the desktop to try adding another panel. Add the second panel, all goes well. Try to move it, and desktop crashes. Re-boot without moving panel, and new panel does not survive re-boot. Tested on two different machines.


I'm having no problem with it, I tried it with three extra panels and all survived a reboot, removed them and no crashes, strange that you get the same result on two machines, you may have a corrupted copy of Saluki. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 18:14    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Thanks Geoffry. Natch I tried that, but it crashes the desktop to try adding another panel. Add the second panel, all goes well. Try to move it, and desktop crashes. Re-boot without moving panel, and new panel does not survive re-boot. Tested on two different machines.


I'm having no problem with it, I tried it with three extra panels and all survived a reboot, removed them and no crashes, strange that you get the same result on two machines, you may have a corrupted copy of Saluki. Confused


No, tried it with 13 and 14 with same result which means I must have installed something which conflicts. Wbar is only thing I can think of but removing it made no difference. Will try again with a vanilla save file. Thanks for he input.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 20:15    Post_subject: fyi  

I came across a ref in mageia for their xfce4, that there is a weather-plugin around that can be set as your background with updates at selected intervals.
May be an interesting idea for someone to follow up with the xfce4 group?
Wonder what resources it would chew up though.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 20:17    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Thanks Geoffry. Natch I tried that, but it crashes the desktop to try adding another panel. Add the second panel, all goes well. Try to move it, and desktop crashes. Re-boot without moving panel, and new panel does not survive re-boot. Tested on two different machines.


I'm having no problem with it, I tried it with three extra panels and all survived a reboot, removed them and no crashes, strange that you get the same result on two machines, you may have a corrupted copy of Saluki. Confused


Fixed with new save file (a load of work)

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 124 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1313s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0502s) ][ GZIP on ]