Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 18:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 79 of 250 [3740 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 00:23    Post subject: libgphoto & symlinks  

Hi jemimah & all;

While installing some pets, ppm reported that libgphoto was missing. PPM located and installed it, but continued to report that it was missing. Downloading libgphoto from the repo and installing it from "local" reproduced the same results, even when PPM "Uninstall" shows it has been installed: in fact, lists it several times. Could it be a symlink or several are needed? Sorry, I don't recall what pet I originally installed which claimed it was missing since now every time I install something the system is apparently set to rescan for missing dependencies of all installed pets.

Speaking of symlinks, while I usually run firefox from /mnt/home (in order to conserve Save-Space) and utilize it from several Puppies, I haven't been able to do so since firefox 7. [When I try that, firefox starts but hangs]. But most of the space-saving benefit is actually accomplished by moving .mozilla out of / and symlinking it back. If Thunar is used to create a symlink, the file created is named "link-to-.mozilla". The "link-to-" part has to be manually deleted as firefox apparently only will use a file named ".mozilla" and so, not finding one, re-creates a file with that name. The problem does not occur if rox is used to create the symlink: drag & drop, select "link relative." Is there any way to alter Thunar's naming behavior? Personally, I prefer rox, but I know that others might want to operate using only Thunar.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1214
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 01:24    Post subject: Re: libgphoto & symlinks  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi jemimah & all;

While installing some pets, ppm reported that libgphoto was missing. PPM located and installed it, but continued to report that it was missing. Downloading libgphoto from the repo and installing it from "local" reproduced the same results, even when PPM "Uninstall" shows it has been installed: in fact, lists it several times. Could it be a symlink or several are needed? Sorry, I don't recall what pet I originally installed which claimed it was missing since now every time I install something the system is apparently set to rescan for missing dependencies of all installed pets.

Speaking of symlinks, while I usually run firefox from /mnt/home (in order to conserve Save-Space) and utilize it from several Puppies, I haven't been able to do so since firefox 7. [When I try that, firefox starts but hangs]. But most of the space-saving benefit is actually accomplished by moving .mozilla out of / and symlinking it back. If Thunar is used to create a symlink, the file created is named "link-to-.mozilla". The "link-to-" part has to be manually deleted as firefox apparently only will use a file named ".mozilla" and so, not finding one, re-creates a file with that name. The problem does not occur if rox is used to create the symlink: drag & drop, select "link relative." Is there any way to alter Thunar's naming behavior? Personally, I prefer rox, but I know that others might want to operate using only Thunar.

mikesLr


I just tried putting .mozilla in the /mnt/home directory, the way I did it was to copy and paste, it gave an error about system link,

I clicked yes to all and it copied the .mozilla, I checked the dir for size with rightclick Howbig and compared it with then original, all was good,

then deleted the original and right mouse button dragged .mozilla from /mnt/home dir to /root and selected link here and it created a system link in /root, it appears to be working fine.

Edit, I just tried the same with the firefox dir, that seems to work also.

with the "link-to-", that's used to create a link to a file in the same directory, such as in /usr/lib.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 05:00    Post subject: Desktop drive icons  

Jemimah made a reasonable case against having all mounted and unmounted drive icons on the Desktop (as traditionally puppy does) and also a case against thunar-volman (because of its HAL dependency).
For those not convinced and inspired by deepsea's work, here is a pet that will recapitulate the traditional puppy behavior, eg will show all drives, mount them and/or open thunar on click and unmount them if the unmount area of the icon (x) is clicked.

Restart X or reboot after you install for the changes to take effect

One "problem" is has is that is shows devices with their device name and not their label name. This results in tmount "thinking" that the device is not mounted and show it also as unmounted. e.g. it shows for example both "/mnt/sdb1 -> /mnt/sdb1" mounted and "/mnt/sdb1 -> /mnt/sdb1_label" unmounted. But no harm done and can unmount them OK (but not mount it in another point of course). At this point however tmount should not get a lot of use Wink .

BTW, I thought that the XFCE desktop grid cell size is 2.5x the icon-size. However in Saluki appears to be 100 pixels. Is that a configuration option?

Edit: version 0.4 will work in big screens too (tested on 1920 X 1200).
v0.3 had a problem if the icons where on the far right or bottom of a high resolution screen
luki_deskdriveicons-0.4.pet
Description  Puts drive icons on the desktop that can be mounted, unmounted or opened by (double-) clicking. v0.4 also works with high resolution screens
pet

 Download 
Filename  luki_deskdriveicons-0.4.pet 
Filesize  5.16 KB 
Downloaded  114 Time(s) 

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Sun 19 Feb 2012, 13:03; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 10:05    Post subject:  

Hi,
I am now running Saluki on my rather old Toshiba laptop. Seems to work like a dream. I'm planning to start over with my idea for a Puppy that gives users a quick way to start learning programming. I'm thinking that making some sfs packages for Saluki may be the best way to do this.

mark

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10521
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 10:28    Post subject:  

Test of luki latest iso on Acer D255 Atom N450 double core?

Yes works but I am not used to the way it is set up.
But apart from my naive comments do go for it.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Sun 19 Feb 2012, 12:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 479

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 11:34    Post subject:  

Jemimah,

Something curious happened on install (Saluki 0.1.1). The flash installer launched when I connected to my network, but installed the flash plugin for Mac instead of Linux... That was odd.

No biggie. I downloaded the tar for Linux and replaced the pertinent files, but thought you would want to know. I've never seen the installer pick the wrong plug-in before. Cosmic quirk?

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 14:08    Post subject: Re: libgphoto & symlinks  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi jemimah & all;

While installing some pets, ppm reported that libgphoto was missing. PPM located and installed it, but continued to report that it was missing. Downloading libgphoto from the repo and installing it from "local" reproduced the same results, even when PPM "Uninstall" shows it has been installed: in fact, lists it several times. Could it be a symlink or several are needed? Sorry, I don't recall what pet I originally installed which claimed it was missing since now every time I install something the system is apparently set to rescan for missing dependencies of all installed pets.

Speaking of symlinks, while I usually run firefox from /mnt/home (in order to conserve Save-Space) and utilize it from several Puppies, I haven't been able to do so since firefox 7. [When I try that, firefox starts but hangs]. But most of the space-saving benefit is actually accomplished by moving .mozilla out of / and symlinking it back. If Thunar is used to create a symlink, the file created is named "link-to-.mozilla". The "link-to-" part has to be manually deleted as firefox apparently only will use a file named ".mozilla" and so, not finding one, re-creates a file with that name. The problem does not occur if rox is used to create the symlink: drag & drop, select "link relative." Is there any way to alter Thunar's naming behavior? Personally, I prefer rox, but I know that others might want to operate using only Thunar.

mikesLr


When dependencies are specified the name has to exactly match what's in the package list. The name should be libghoto2 so if it says libgphoto, that might be the issue. What pet is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 14:20    Post subject: Re: Desktop drive icons  

mavrothal wrote:
Jemimah made a reasonable case against having all mounted and unmounted drive icons on the Desktop (as traditionally puppy does) and also a case against thunar-volman (because of its HAL dependency).
For those not convinced and inspired by deepsea's work, here is a pet that will recapitulate the traditional puppy behavior, eg will show all drives, mount them and/or open thunar on click and unmount them if the unmount area of the icon (x) is clicked.

Restart X or reboot after you install for the changes to take effect

One "problem" is has is that is shows devices with their device name and not their label name. This results in tmount "thinking" that the device is not mounted and show it also as unmounted. e.g. it shows for example both "/mnt/sdb1 -> /mnt/sdb1" mounted and "/mnt/sdb1 -> /mnt/sdb1_label" unmounted. But no harm done and can unmount them OK (but not mount it in another point of course). At this point however tmount should not get a lot of use Wink .

BTW, I thought that the XFCE desktop grid cell size is 2.5x the icon-size. However in Saluki appears to be 100 pixels. Is that a configuration option?

Edit: version 0.4 will work in big screens too (tested on 1920 X 1200).
v0.3 had a problem if the icons where on the far right or bottom of a high resolution screen


The close box thing makes this a good deal more palatable for me (although double clicking makes this a bit weird). I'll fix it up and add it as an option to the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 14:23    Post subject:  

Eathray wrote:
Jemimah,

Something curious happened on install (Saluki 0.1.1). The flash installer launched when I connected to my network, but installed the flash plugin for Mac instead of Linux... That was odd.

No biggie. I downloaded the tar for Linux and replaced the pertinent files, but thought you would want to know. I've never seen the installer pick the wrong plug-in before. Cosmic quirk?

Eathray


That is odd. I'd understand if you used Midori to download it, since I have it masquerading as Safari. But I have no idea why the flash downloader would do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 17:26    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
I've uploaded an sfs for Xbmc (35MB - needs python installed first).

Also there is a new pet for Pitivi - another python video editor.


Thanks a bunch for taking time and prob. expensive bandwith for making a XBMC.sfs.

That said i can not make it play video files. i have now tested it on my main saluki machine a HP HDX9050 with the ati drivers installed. the program runs like a charm and music / pictures work. only it will not play video files. I tested Saluki and XBMC on my gaming machine a asus g73 and wow saluki was just wow. but there on a i7 the xbmc just stutterd and didnt work properly.

and for last the default image viewer ristretto does not work on any machine i have tested saluki on Smile

thanks alot for Saluki i like where this is going
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 17:29    Post subject: Re: saluki sweet  

jemimah wrote:
einar wrote:
have now tested saluki 11 on my acer aspire one. it will be the main system for that machine Smile i was wondering what happend to glxgears ?


Try:

Code:
vblank_mode=0 glxgears


this worked, thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 19:02    Post subject:  

einar wrote:
jemimah wrote:
I've uploaded an sfs for Xbmc (35MB - needs python installed first).

Also there is a new pet for Pitivi - another python video editor.


Thanks a bunch for taking time and prob. expensive bandwith for making a XBMC.sfs.

That said i can not make it play video files. i have now tested it on my main saluki machine a HP HDX9050 with the ati drivers installed. the program runs like a charm and music / pictures work. only it will not play video files. I tested Saluki and XBMC on my gaming machine a asus g73 and wow saluki was just wow. but there on a i7 the xbmc just stutterd and didnt work properly.

and for last the default image viewer ristretto does not work on any machine i have tested saluki on Smile

thanks alot for Saluki i like where this is going


I see the problem with video playback. I'll try to fix it and upload again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 22:02    Post subject:  

I uploaded a new build of xbmc. Let me know if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2012, 04:27    Post subject: Re: Desktop drive icons  

jemimah wrote:

The close box thing makes this a good deal more palatable for me (although double clicking makes this a bit weird). I'll fix it up and add it as an option to the next release.


That's nice.

One thing I would do is export a flag from pup_event_frontend_d to /tmp ( where you have added the notify line - BTW pup_event_frontend_d.orig in included in 011 Wink ), and have the xfce4_desktop_icons loop run only if this flag is present.
No need to run probdisk and probpart all the time since pup_event_frontend_d is doing it already.
Also add a flag generated by xfce4_desktop_icons itself for its first run after boot.

Ideally most of the needed files should be generated by pup_event_frontend_d directly but that's probably too many changes in it.
Anyway, I'll probably try a version 0.5 later today if you (or anybody else) does not by then.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1214
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2012, 07:27    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
I uploaded a new build of xbmc. Let me know if it works.


With this one I had the problem of no sound but installed it to a new save then installed the nvidia drivers and all was good, though it won't run the plugins, just pops up an error script failed, the previous version the plugin ran but wouldn't play the video, the gmail plugin worked fine,
the plugin I ran was for Australian ABC TV iview, I know it works as I have it on my Xbox XBMC, it also works with Boxee, XBMC is full of bugs, such as the weather not working with weather.com, the log shows " ERROR: WEATHER: Unable to get data: Invalid License Key",
don't worry I know the joy of trying to get XBMC to play the game, I've been using it for the past six years on my Xbox and it still gives me grief. Confused

Oh, the video and sound works fine now for local content.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 79 of 250 [3740 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1180s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0278s) ][ GZIP on ]