Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 14:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to patch Slacko full install?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
gundul3l3k

Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Location: Surabaya,indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 02:05    Post subject:  How to patch Slacko full install?
Subject description: I don't want to run as root. How can I fix that?
 

how to patch my full install slacko? ,b'cos puppy is running as root and my internet connection is open Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 02:20    Post subject:  

What are you trying to do?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gundul3l3k

Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Location: Surabaya,indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 07:14    Post subject:  

I read ones thread in this forum that linux kernel 64 bit have been hack.that why i just worried my comp will be hack .I just re installed my slaco >The windows became messy and there is no icon ,can not take screenshot that I could show in this forum .All shortcut icon gone ,bacground is gone.some of the menu function is not work.
so is there anything i can do to strenghten slaco security.?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 07:32    Post subject:  

Hello gundul3l3k

You will have to describe your installation details. Is there anything you installed that may have caused this odd behaviour? Did you have an unclean shutdown? Is there any filesystem corruption on your machine? Answers to these questions are important. You can fix filesystem corruption by booting from the live CD and running "fsck" on your installation partition, beware it must not be mounted.

Be aware that running as root is not a huge problem. The most important thing on your machine is YOUR personal data, not the operating system. If you run as a user then your data is equally as exposed as if running as root.

Please help us to help you Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gundul3l3k

Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Location: Surabaya,indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 08:27    Post subject:  

1at the.first time i installed slaco in frugall and the icon and wallpaper is gone.ok..my be I'am doing wrong .I tried to reinstalled ,same problem have shown


2.So I do full installed ,there is seem alrights

3.yes ,the electricity in my village is not stable many time goes down.

4.I did downloaded and installed devx.xxx.sfs and opened on fly ,it seems no problem.

5.to day I boot slaco and has problem like before icon +bacgrounds gone

6.I am using pentium 4 ,1.9 ghz ,1 gig ram ,7 patition grub installed
windows,dreamlinux,zencafe,warry(frugall),slaco

7. I just visiting lifehacker site to see how to optimize surfing.
I do installed netact,zenmap,wireshark,etherape(not working at all/user only)

that all I can remember Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 09:20    Post subject:  

By the sound of it, you should have pfix=fsck as a boot parameter on your PC. That way, your file system will be checked each time you boot Puppy and maybe stay ahead of file system errors from improper shutdown due to your power situation in your village.
If you had a frugal install, you would just add that to the end of the kernel line in /boot/grub/menu.lst for each of the versions of linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gundul3l3k

Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Location: Surabaya,indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 11:08    Post subject:  

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 30
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Lupu 525
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppy525/initrd.gz
kernel /puppy525/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy525 pfix=fsck
initrd /puppy525/initrd.gz

title Lupu 525 RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy withot pupsave
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppy525/initrd.gz
kernel /puppy525/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy525 pfix=ram,fsck
initrd /puppy525/initrd.gz

# Full installed Linux

title Dreamlinux
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.28.5-1-i686-dream root=/dev/hda5 vga=791 splash=silent,fadein,theme=default console=tty1 ro quiet resume=/dev/hda8
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.28.5-1-i686-dream

title Dreamlinux root
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.28.5-1-i686-dream root=/dev/hda5 ro quiet single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.28.5-1-i686-dream


title zencafe
uuid abf3aab1-b158-4ebf-ab11-bf6b68c855c9
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 ro

title Slacko Puppy 5.3
uuid 301574f4-4b38-44f5-8521-cdef1220c51e
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda9 ro

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
errorcheck off
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bootmgr
chainloader /bootmgr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr
chainloader /ntldr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /io.sys
chainloader /io.sys
errorcheck on

# Boot from Partition Boot Record

# additionals

title Find Grub2\nBoot up grub2 if installed
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /boot/grub/core.img
kernel /boot/grub/core.img

title Grub4Dos commandline\n(for experts only)
commandline

title Reboot computer
reboot

title Halt computer
halt

above is my grub menu where or how to write pfix=fsck as boot parameter for slaco ,thank for help and quick answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 11:56    Post subject:  

Boot lupu 525 RAM and then open a terminal and type "e2fsck /dev/[partition slacko is installed on ex. sda1]"

The reason I suggest taking that route is that with slacko being a full install, it would be mounted and and you are not supposed to do a file system check on a mounted partition.

But booting lupu with the pfix=ram parameter loads it entirely into memory and so the partition will remain unmounted if slacko resides there.
Otherwise, just boot lupu and do the file system check on the partition containing slacko.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gundul3l3k

Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Location: Surabaya,indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 13:32    Post subject:  

dev/sda9 where slacko installe is no problem
ss.png
Description  ckeck result
png

 Download 
Filename  ss.png 
Filesize  439.22 KB 
Downloaded  69 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0649s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]