Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 05:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 30 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sat 24 Dec 2011, 16:55    Post subject:  

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.1

Chip description:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "1024x600" Depth: Depth 24

-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N450 @ 1.66GHz
Memory : 1023MB (207MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat 24 Dec 2011 02:51:58 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x600 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) IGD x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
-Input Devices-
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse
Power Button
Sleep Button
Lid Switch
Power Button
PC Speaker
1.3M WebCam
Video Bus
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>
-SCSI Disks-
ATA TOSHIBA MK1665GS
SanDisk U3 Cruzer Micro
SanDisk U3 Cruzer Micro
USB2.0 CardReader

The early ENE cardreader for this netbook works out-of-the-box Smile
If we can ever come up with a real trackpad driver instead of the ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse driver, I'll be tickled pink!

Thanks for the hard work!!!

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Dec 2011, 07:41    Post subject:  freememapplet segmentation fault
Subject description: AND umount does not create the right icon for sda1
 

SLACKO-5.3.1# uname -r 2.6.37.6

Full installed to partition sda10 on

Manufacturer: Dell Inc. Product Name: OptiPlex 745 Type: Desktop
Type: Central Processor Family: Core 2 Manufacturer: Intel
Current Speed: 1866 MHz
# free -m
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1000 330 670 0 27
-/+ buffers: 302 697
Swap: 1004 0 1004



#

SLACKO<>LUPU BUG :

/root/Startup/freememapplet_tray

# strings
bash: strings: command not found

BUT is named strings-GNU so not a bug with strings
AND busybox is compiled with the strings applet too

# busybox strings /root/Startup/freememapplet_tray |grep df

df -m | grep ' /initrd/pup_ro1$' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 2,4 -d ' '
df -m | grep '/dev/root' | tr -s ' '| cut -f 2,4 -d ' '
df -m | grep ' /initrd/pup_rw$' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 2,4 -d ' '

Slacko uses the woof df while Lupu df-FULL , which is ok in frugal mode .

The slacko freememapplet_tray is compiled for the Lupu df output .

#

WOOF BUG :

/bin/umount

Since i have installed slacko full to sda10
running /usr/local/Partview/pdff.pl
by clicking the freememapplet_tray icon
the sda1 alway showed as mounted on the desktop
thought it had been successfully unmounted .

The problem is with grep '/dev/sda1' not doing a grep -w '/dev/sda1' :
simply grep would also grep sda10 up to sda19 .
Adding -w to grep for the mount_icon part of /bin/umount seems to have solved this :
Code:
 if [ "`df | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 1,6 -d ' ' | grep -w "$drvPATTERN" | grep -v ' /initrd/' | grep -v ' /$'`" = "" ];then

    if [ "`df | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 1,6 -d ' ' | grep -w "$drvPATTERN" | grep -E ' /initrd/| /$'`" != "" ];then

I am expecting few more to come in this df and mount issue .

#

Other than this no real problems so far .

I really like the slacko modprobe compiled with zlib support opposed to debian/ubuntu modprobe !
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5721
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 26 Dec 2011, 18:06    Post subject:  

Just manually upgraded the Slacko frugal install on my Windows 7/PCLOS/Lucid box from 5.30 to 5.31.Other than needing to quickly redo my icon layout everything appears to have upgraded fine with all previously installed apps still functioning normally.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.1

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: G98 Board - 5610002u Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
nvidia

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: " 1440x900 " Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#

# glxgears
10548 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2109.600 FPS
10897 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2179.400 FPS
10599 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2119.800 FPS
10657 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2131.400 FPS
10527 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2105.400 FPS
10763 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2152.600 FPS

VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2011, 22:25    Post subject: SOLVED - HDD always spins  

HDD-active light is always illuminated whether booting with or without save-file. Lucid 5.28 not doing this. Any information i can provide?

EDIT: Same machine, clean 5.3.1-004 install to manual-frugal USB flash drive. Does not exhibit this behavior. Oh well, another non-issue.

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS

Last edited by MoebusNet on Sun 01 Jan 2012, 08:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5684
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 15:26    Post subject:  

There seems to be an issue with viewnoir......



Works fine for filenames containing only english chars

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 15:43    Post subject:  

I dont ever use finnish special characters in filenames but now I was curious to test what I can find from keyboard in dpup exprimo. So these characters should work.
xxx.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   81.35 KB
 Viewed   1471 Time(s)

xxx.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 23:20    Post subject: viewnoir and no ascii chars  

zigbert wrote:
There seems to be an issue with viewnoir......
Works fine for filenames containing only english chars

Tried on Slacko + lang_pack_ja-1.4.sfs and has no problem.
So, it is not the issue of the vewnoir itself.
I have not tried the lang_pack_all yet.
viewnior.png
 Description   Japanese file name
 Filesize   25.01 KB
 Viewed   1382 Time(s)

viewnior.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 23:37    Post subject: Re: viewnoir and no ascii chars  

shinobar wrote:
Tried on Slacko + lang_pack_ja-1.4.sfs and has no problem.

But fails under en_US locale. en_US.UTF-8 is OK.
viewnior_en_US.png
 Description   Fails under en_US (no UTF-8).
 Filesize   7.77 KB
 Viewed   1392 Time(s)

viewnior_en_US.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 28 Dec 2011, 23:45    Post subject: Re: viewnoir and no ascii chars  

en_US.UTF-8 is OK except the title bar.
viewnior_en_US_utf8.png
 Description   Under en_US.UTF-8. OK except the title bar.
 Filesize   14.2 KB
 Viewed   1371 Time(s)

viewnior_en_US_utf8.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 00:00    Post subject: Re: viewnoir and no ascii chars  

shinobar wrote:
en_US.UTF-8 is OK except the title bar.

Confirmed on the native(without lang_pack) Slacko 5.3.1 MAIN with RAM mode.
Of course the Japanese filename is unreadable because of lacking the font, but no problem in showing the image.

To set the locale with UTF-8, choose 'en (English)' or any language on the Country wizard. Tick on 'UTF-8' checkbox appears on the next window.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1885
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 05:36    Post subject:  

01micko, here's the fix for the Slackware libpng, which is a 'lil bit smaller:
Code:
ln -s libpng14.pc ./usr/lib/pkgconfig/libpng.pc
ln -s libpng14 ./usr/include/libpng                       
ln -s libpng/png.h ./usr/include                         
ln -s libpng/pngconf.h ./usr/include


I added this to the libpng FIXUPHACK and now stuff seem to compile just fine!

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5684
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 12:39    Post subject: Re: viewnoir and no ascii chars  

shinobar wrote:
To set the locale with UTF-8, choose 'en (English)' or any language on the Country wizard. Tick on 'UTF-8' checkbox appears on the next window.
Ok, so this is the trick Smile Thank you.
I meant that this option was available in the main window earlier ? Maybe I wrong....
If I set it to nb_NO I don't get a second window.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 15:33    Post subject: Re: viewnoir and no ascii chars  

zigbert wrote:
If I set it to nb_NO I don't get a second window.

Wow! it is the bug of the 'Country wizard' i have to fix.
Use the 'Choose locale' instead Laughing

EDIT: Updated firstrun-1.9.6.pet (1 Jan 2012)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58312

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Sun 01 Jan 2012, 01:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 07:38    Post subject:  

Sorry if this comment is late...

tempestuous wrote:
01micko wrote:
Barry has an option in Woof.. Boot scsi, I accepted this for k2.6.29.4 and in this release k2,6,37.6

I'm unfamiliar with Woof, but that's interesting. It appears that a basic set of SCSI drivers (as specified by Barry) is then included in the initrd.

Obviously the 3 new Fusion SCSI drivers are not included, so if desired these would need to be manually inserted (and modules.dep updated) ...
or maybe the Woof script could be modified to automatically include these new modules?
But anyway, no one has specifically asked for boot support from a Fusion SCSI interface at this stage.


01micko wrote:
Aitch has reported success on an old server box of his a few pages back.

Yes, it appears that booting from SCSI works, that's great ...
but of course Aitch's SCSI hardware uses the aic7xxx SCSI driver, nothing to do with the 3 new drivers.


Yes, actually Adaptec AIC-7892A U160/m....and I'm not booting from harddrive mbr/grub, as I'm using noryb's win installer version, though boot is finding the savefile/s and sfs, so I presumed it would, as I had an earlier Dell server working OK with a previous scsi booting puppy that Barry did
Sadly, I don't have a working Dell server with Fusion MPT interfaces to test

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5684
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 09:46    Post subject:  

GrubConfig is not found in the menu. If this is intentional (to only offer Grub4Dos), there is a message in the universal installer mentioning GrubConfig.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 30 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1030s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]