Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 21:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 25 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 05:35    Post_subject:  

Chris

There is a good post by TazOC here that explains things.
Using "nvidia.modeset=0" appears wrong. As TazOC goes on, nouveau is the kernel driver, however I have omitted the nouveau Xorg driver, so I don't think it gets loaded at all. Perhaps the "xforcevesa" param is what you need?

What actually happens? Do you get to xorgwizard? Or blackscreen and nothing?

If you can get to a prompt type "HELP", no quotes. See what happens Wink

(can you PM me, I lost that number Wink )

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2131
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 05:42    Post_subject: Re: Like billtoo's background pix!  

Tui wrote:
Hi Billtoo, I like you holiday background pix.

Can and would you post me the file of it?

I have a wide screen monitor, 16x9 format, would it fit that?


Thanks
Tui


Here's a link to it, it will adjust to your screen when it prepares to dl it.

They keep adding more so the page number may change.

http://www.desktopnexus.com/search/christmas/41/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 05:56    Post_subject:  

Thanks mate....onto it now.

Do you get to xorgwizard...yep.

puppy pfix=ram xforcevesa nomodeset...no good.

Shall reboot.

All falls down.

Nice hearing from you mate.

"""""""""""

Dell Studio XPS 13 Laptop Technical Specifications:

Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 (2.4GHz, 3MB L2 Cache, 1067MHz FSB)

Chipset NVIDIA GeForce MCP79MX

Graphics ...not sure which one

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M G

NVIDIA GeForce 9500M – 256MB

http://www.notebook-driver.com/laptops-information/dell-studio-xps-13-laptop-technical-specifications/

Cheers.....Chris.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 06:11    Post_subject:  

aarf wrote:
01micko wrote
Quote:
Please report anything good or bad.


it is good that it probably includes xdelta but it is bad that xdelta is not often used .
waste not want not. all these extra bandwidths are contributing to global warming. it will be the fall of civilization as currently envisioned, the undoing of mankind as we know him. the barbarians will bomb more unsuspecting innocents in order to steal their oil to generate more power to fuel the bandwidth explosion. need more? just ask.

oh yes i forgot to mention that after the barbarians bomb the innocents, the EU vetoed unregulated London city financial institutions will declare them persona non grata and then steal the innocents money and give it to the UN to squander on 5 star hotel rooms, latest new white 4WD vehicles and multiple massively obsolete "security", not to mention padding secret bank accounts in obscure tax havens.
are we getting closer to deltas yet?
have we got enough good and bad things yet?

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 06:48    Post_subject:  

aarf wrote:
aarf wrote:
01micko wrote
Quote:
Please report anything good or bad.


it is good that it probably includes xdelta but it is bad that xdelta is not often used .
waste not want not. all these extra bandwidths are contributing to global warming. it will be the fall of civilization as currently envisioned, the undoing of mankind as we know him. the barbarians will bomb more unsuspecting innocents in order to steal their oil to generate more power to fuel the bandwidth explosion. need more? just ask.

oh yes i forgot to mention that after the barbarians bomb the innocents, the EU vetoed unregulated London city financial institutions will declare them persona non grata and then steal the innocents money and give it to the UN to squander on 5 star hotel rooms, latest new white 4WD vehicles and multiple massively obsolete "security", not to mention padding secret bank accounts in obscure tax havens.
are we getting closer to deltas yet?
have we got enough good and bad things yet?

oh rats didnt make it. Crying or Very sad looks like i have to fork out 50 cents and go to the al queiida owned internet cafe and download the full iso. or i could just pass, enough slacko testers here already. Idea

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 07:11    Post_subject:  

deltas are 30M, uploading to smokey01 now
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 07:24    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
deltas are 30M, uploading to smokey01 now

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/slacko/
too late i've committed suicide already.Laughing
actually i was under the impression that BK already has a delta maker online at ibiblio

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 11:48    Post_subject:  

slacko-5.3.1-SCSI-PAE_HIGHMEM-ALT.iso

delta comes down fast from smokey less than 5 minutes. booted and went to take a screen shot> lost the window to scale it to 600 wide. cant proceed. >kill mpaint. next screenshot more careful with scale 600 window> go to save> lost window to save.cant proceed because jwm loses window through the roof. windows dont fit the screen so to see the bottom of the window, need to push the window towards the top of the screen. if this pushing is done using the top bar to drag, the window will disappear before it gets to the top of the screen

need to lupify and use openbox but have lupufied racy already so slacko is not going to be tested further. same as slacko 5.3

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 218

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 18:27    Post_subject: veetle HD plugin  

I've installed veetle HD plugin on slacko 5.3.
It seems to be installed properly but doesn't work.
I also have it installed in lupu 5.1.1 and its working well.
I would like to get it working in slacko if I can. I know this is a long shot but if anyone out there can help it would be appreciated-irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aikidave

Joined: 11 Dec 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 00:30    Post_subject: Sound problem with Slacko  

Quote:
hi aikidave,

Does this happen on second boot or several after? The answer to this is critical.

I ask this because sound is reconfigured on every boot so should be consistent. It may be that some file system corruption has crept in. What type of filesystem is on the root of the stick? FAT32 is ok but I prefer ext2 linux. It does seem more robust and is a maintained technology.


I created another bootable Slacko on a different USB stick (Sandisk). It is Vfat format, I believe. I have booted it 4 times so far on the laptop, and I still have sound and the sound controls. Maybe it was file system corruption. I'll keep using it and see what happens. If I have a problem again, I'll try the ext2 linux format.
Thanks for the suggestions.
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 01:21    Post_subject:  

I've been using Slacko 5.3 since it came out, and 5.28 and 5.2.9 before that - on an oldish Toshiba A200 laptop. It works very well for me, except for 2 apps I like to use -
- Shrink 1.1 (to shrink images to pre-determined sizes by right-clicking) and
- Pcdripper - to rip CDs incorporating pcparanoia - sort of like EAC in Windows - see here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=157790

Both these work nicely in Lupo, so I've pretty much gone back there, after getting the shiny new 5.2.8.003 iso and 'upgrading' my 5.2.8 version. (What pain, but that's another story involving an overloaded save file). However I have to say that 'upgrading' to Slacko 5.3.1 was painless this morning.

Anyway, these pets install in Slacko, but nothing happens, and I'm not clever enough (ie I haven't got a clue about) how to get them to work in Slacko. I always use Puppy with live CDs.
.....

2 hrs later edited to add - speaking of paranoia I tried again to install these pets in Slacko, and am very pleased to say that Pcdripper is working nicely, but Shrink is not. It has made the shrunken photoes directories, but the 'Shrink to ..' entries do not appear in the drop down menu. So, I'm back in the Slacko kennel again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 03:50    Post_subject:  

Hi grump,

can you run shrink from the commandline to see if there are any error messages?
cheers
emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 04:24    Post_subject:  

Hello Emil -

What is this 'command line' of which you speak?






Ok, being serious, I'll have a look - but first I have to find the executable.

Edit an hour later :
Although the 'Open With ...' menus are not there, it works if I drop an image file on the icons in usr/local/shrinkimage (where it seems to install), so that's good enuff for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 04:51    Post_subject:  

good news -
You probably can add the shrink program to the "Open With" list by creating a symmlink in the folder /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/SendTo.

Try to follow instructions you get when
rightclick item in Rox
Choose "Open With"
Choose "Customize"

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2131
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 07:28    Post_subject: Slacko Puppy 5.3.1  

I did a full install of 531 main to a dual core HP desktop pc.
I installed the mesa pets and the proprietary Nvidia driver.

Wed 14 Dec 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-5.3.1 Linux 2.6.37.6
0.0 VGA compatible controller:nVidia Corporation GT216[GeForce GT 220](rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (342x271 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 220/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 290.10

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500
Core 0: 1200 1: 1200 MHz

# glxgears
31749 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6349.766 FPS
31759 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6351.618 FPS
31769 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6353.598 FPS

I installed the Google Earth sfs and it's working perfectly, I'm
liking that Smile
No problems so far, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1008s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]