Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 09:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Guy Dog 5.0.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 13:27    Post_subject:
Sub_title: pmount is calling rox-filer when partition mounted
 

I just updated to guydog 5.0.1 from 5.0.0. Previously when I used pmount, the selected partition would be mounted and displayed in emelfm2. Today following the upgrade, the pattition is mounted, however an error is displayed that rox-filer is not installed.

Originally when I completed the upgrade I used the same savefile. I then deleted the savefile and checked again, the error still exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 13:42    Post_subject:  

Yes, you could do yourself a favor and read the changelog.

Previously, /usr/bin/rox was a dirty hack that launched emelFM2 when ROX-Filer was called, but I decided to remove it because it's too dirty. Instead, I put a placeholder that tells you to install ROX-Filer if you want that functionality.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2684
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 14:03    Post_subject:  

Hey Iguleder, just booted guydog, well version 5.0.0 was when I downloaded it, been wanting to try it since.
I wanted to report network wizard problem but I see it's fixed in 5.0.1

If I choose 1024x768 I get 800x600 res, but I can get higher 1280x1024
If I go to "Choose" tab and choose radeon or ati or radeonhd and then type xwin it doesn't start at all after that, have to revert to "Probe" -> Choose res.

I also get a smaller area on screen visible that is the size of my TV-out so it's kinda 1280x1024 desktop and then same wallpaper scaled to 800x600 begining from top left corner of screen Razz

I like the minimalistic idea and that you change from usual rox desktop and file manager.

As with other newer pups everything works slower on my PC Sad so that's not your fault
Pidgin works, at least for IRC, speaking of that
Why you no come to IRC anymore? Neutral

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 15:12    Post_subject:  

I visit once in a while, I just ... became a very important person Smile

I work a lot and don't have much spare time.

Regarding the network wizard - I'll wait for Barry to fix it, since I'm not familiar with the code. While we wait for 5.0.2, I work on something nice, sort of a proof-of-concept project called Dogbox, a minimalistic implementation of many common executables, like Busybox but written independently with just important features.

Here's the binary - it supports both direct calling (e.g through a symlink with the applet name) or as an argument (e.g "dogbox cat /path/to/file").
dogbox.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  dogbox.gz 
Filesize  4.09 KB 
Downloaded  99 Time(s) 

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 15:55    Post_subject:  

Hi Iguleder:

In the menu.xml file, one of my apps had execute option containing quotes "

But, all quotes in the menu.xml file are escaped with \.

Had to remove the \'s, or app wouldn't start. The only other app that had escaped quotes in the execute line that i could see was xfontsel. I removed those \ also, then ran Reconfigure from menu>openbox>Reconfigure.

xfontsel still works and is puke green now, and my app that wouldn't work with escaped quotes now works with nonescaped quotes.

Otherwise, things looking good.

UPDATE: I fixed my problem with escaped quotes in menu.xml by commenting out line 125 in /usr/bin/ob-xdgmenu. Tested with fixmenus and reconfigure and it worked. Cool

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 17:41    Post_subject:  

5.0.1 installed frugal no problem. This is one fast dog.

What can I use for accessing network shares like with pnethood?

Any way to make the clock 12hr instead of 24hr?

Thanks!

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 17:54    Post_subject:  

1) You'll have to install Pnethood and smbclient.
2) /root/.config/tint2rc is your friend Smile

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 19:25    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
Yes, you could do yourself a favor and read the changelog.

Previously, /usr/bin/rox was a dirty hack that launched emelFM2 when ROX-Filer was called, but I decided to remove it because it's too dirty. Instead, I put a placeholder that tells you to install ROX-Filer if you want that functionality.


I'm sorry I didn't associate the mention of the usability fix with the error message received.

I don't want to install rox-filer, I like to use emelfm2.

Thanks for your excellent innovative work on puppy.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 20:19    Post_subject:  

installed 501 manual frugal as usual to ext4. again noted in ppm puppy 2,3,4, 5, wary, quirky, lucid repos which seem not likely compatible. squeeze main, and slacko included quess ok to use but exprimo noticeably missing which would guess is ok to use.

again could not find any help documentation either in menu or desktop which could help for folks to know which repos to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 20:30    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
1) You'll have to install Pnethood and smbclient.
2) /root/.config/tint2rc is your friend Smile

Thanks Very Happy

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5857
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 21:27    Post_subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install of 5.0.1 on my main Linux box.was able to use the "nv" driver to get the correct 1440x900 screen resolution this time. Sound and internet ....no problem.
Looking good so far.
Guess I'm old-school Puppy.......had to install SeaMonkey and Rox.... Laughing
2011-10-20_20-20-18-thumb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.64 KB
 Viewed   1012 Time(s)

2011-10-20_20-20-18-thumb.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5857
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 21:28    Post_subject:  

Almost forgot.......this release is fast...... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mandibule2005

Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 22:44    Post_subject:  Network
Sub_title: Network fix
 

Barry make a fix for network on is blog !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5857
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 04:01    Post_subject:  

Pleasantly surprised by the low resource usage.
2011-10-21_02-58-58.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   35.77 KB
 Viewed   967 Time(s)

2011-10-21_02-58-58.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 04:23    Post_subject:  

You can lower it to 38 MB without tray icons, tint2 or wbar, just Openbox Smile

By the way - I just wrote build scripts for pptp, gpptp, gadmin-samba and now I'm working on Samba. I want to get a full VPN and Samba stack in Guy Dog.

The next step is Bluetooth, probably Smile

EDIT: attached a 20K bigger rxvt-unicode package with more features, will be included in the next release. Copy n' paste works now.
rxvt-unicode-9.12.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  rxvt-unicode-9.12.pet 
Filesize  107.31 KB 
Downloaded  145 Time(s) 

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0826s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]