Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko RC
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 21 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 19:56    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@grump: Are you typing a space after the comma in the above commands? If so, you will still be asked for a password.

I have just been having another fiddle - trying to pipe the output to a file to post here.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
mount.cifs //192.168.1.101/DadE /mnt/network/STUDY/DadE -o username=guest,guest

I first run the mount.cifs line directly in the console - it worked and DID NOT WANT A PASSWORD!
I umounted.cif'd, then somehow accidentally clicked the .sh containing the above code in the ROX window, and to my surprise and delight X did not freeze, and the share was mounted. I umounted and clicked again - success once more.

I don't know what I did different, but now it seems to be ok.

I don't think I put a space after the comma, but maybe I did.

Thanks again - happy pup walker here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 21:40    Post_subject:  

01micko,

Dell computer that needs Nvidia 173XXX driver.
Running Slacko 5.29.5 as live CD with save to CD.
Using Slickpet->drivers->click here to check your graphics card.
Recommended Nvidia 173.14.28 driver.
Selected Nvidia button
Downloaded driver, installed, xorgwizard probe, and restart X server using Nvidia driver.
This driver now works in latest Slacko.

Note:
It said it was downloading 173.14.28 driver, PPM says 173.14.28 driver installed, but in Nvidia X server settings it says it is 173.14.30
Anyway, it works.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 21:54    Post_subject:  

Slacko 5.29.5
Frugal install to USB flash drive

On first shutdown, at save option window, selected save to sdb1 (the flash drive).
On reboot did not have save file on drive , but some of the directories.
Is this what should happen?
Things did not seem to work right after that.
first shutdown.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.2 KB
 Viewed   1331 Time(s)

first shutdown.jpg

save to sdb1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.65 KB
 Viewed   1350 Time(s)

save to sdb1.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 22:11    Post_subject:  

Quote:
On first shutdown, at save option window, selected save to sdb1 (the flash drive).
On reboot did not have save file on drive , but some of the directories.
Is this what should happen?


Yes.. because that saves to the entire partition so the drive becomes "/". If you choose save to file then it works like a normal frugal, my preferred method which works on the wife's macbook.

What didn't work right? Can you elaborate?

BTW, it's normal that not all dirs are there, only ones that you have actually written to (as in install pets etc) get saved. It then becomes the top layer in the layered filesystem.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 02:07    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I have not compiled the 173xxx .....

I will not compile the nvidia-96xxx version...


Again the question. What do you support?


Puppy was/is designed for OLD kit. Slackware has always prided itself on compatibility with older kit.

mick, you're a fine, hard-working, generous guy, but don't lose sight of prime objectives! Tell the spoilt brats with their Tb memory, PAE kernels to push off! Your magnum opus would do well if it runs on anything with an Athlon label, and maybe even a few K6-II/III in the hands of the keenest experimentalists.
If you feel the urge to push your obvious talents into the modern idiom, why not start work of porting a new-pup onto the new ARM A-7 announced this week:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-15372756
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 02:10    Post_subject: truncated display of A4 pdf or ps documents  

Hi all,
The current /usr/bin/gv displays truncated A4 pdf or ps documents.
Letter sized are correct displayed.
Problem arises when printing: the print is truncated as well ...! Shocked

To get A4 files fully displayed, just edit /usr/bin/gv as:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

#Panzerkopf: Using a temporary file instead of pipe.

[ ! $1 ] && exit

ps2pdf  -sPAPERSIZE=a4 "$@" /tmp/$$.pdf
epdfview /tmp/$$.pdf
rm -f /tmp/$$.pdf


just add -sPAPERSIZE=a4 at line 7 as shown.

Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 02:43    Post_subject:  

01micko,
Will release candidate 2 made with the new woof, have a fix for the Save button on the desktop that brings up the splash message of "Saving Ram to...." that never seems to disappear unless it is clicked on.

Also, I tried something new.
Using Properties, I removed all Write properties for my slacksave.3fs file as I was curious what would happen.
I then created a test file and that file was retained in memory.
After a reboot, the test file was still there and the write privileges to the slackosave file were still the same with no write boxes checked.

My test PC for Slacko RC booting a USB install is a 10 year old Toshiba Satellite 1.8mhz intel, 512 megs ram, 512meg swap partition, on a 4gig flash drive formatted to ext3.
I formatted it as ext3 only because I was unsure if I could create a swap partition if the main partition was formatted to fat32.

Anyway, I am looking forward to Friday to check out RC2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 03:51    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Hi All

@soundNICK try the standalone VLC 1.1.11 here, it was compiled in slacko and has none of the codecs stripped at all.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=571072#571072

hope this helps

Don


I was trying to play an mkv file
Slacko default . . . the audio was out of synch, no matter what settings I tried
So I tried VLC
the image quality and the synch was better better but the image broke up (pixelated) and stopped every few seconds and then resumed.
As a last resort I booted up into Pinguy OS which also uses VLC and was able to watch the file (after some setting changes) as intended . . .
Just reporting this. A good test file for me now Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 04:15    Post_subject:  

Hi all

@ Lobster, can I please have a link for that mkv file, so I can use it for testing as well

@bigpup with it being saved to a flash drive it will be running in a different pupmode, (pupmode=13 I think) and I dont think it will recognize the files saved like that on a flash drive, only a normal frugal install.
I know a frugal install to a normal hard drive is pupmode=12,

pupmode=13 only saves when the save button is clicked or the session is ended, (normal for a frugal install on a flash drive)

pupmode=12 saves automatically (on the fly) as you make changes (normal for a frugal install on a hard drive)

hope this makes sense

cheers

don

_________________
Very Happy Testing PuppyPhone version 1.3PRE Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 05:21    Post_subject:  

Psync improved slightly. Hopefully a server text change will not now screw up the final report window.
Also added DST change dates to display.

Psync 2.6 is available in the additional Software/system section.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 05:30    Post_subject: Saving RAM to pup_save file  

Booting from a CD and saving in a savefile in a VFAT or ext3 formatted USB stick (PUPMODE=13) works OK but the "Saving RAM to 'pup_save' file..." remains there for ever (as mentioned before).
The problem I think is in the pup_event_frontend_d lines 527-536 where yaf-splash is called in a sub-shell and "YAFPID=$!".
If I read the bash manual correctly, it says
Quote:
$ Expands to the process id of the shell. In a () subshell, it expands to the process id of the invoking shell, not the subshell.

I do not know what the "kill $YAFPID" command actually kills, but yaf-splash is running and saving works OK.

Latter: On further review however, looks like that pup_event code has not been changed in that bit for some time, and I know it does work fine in other puppies in a similar setting Confused but in slacko it sure fails to kill yaf-splash

Latter-latter: indeed is not the scripting. Replacing "YAFPID=$!" with "YAFPID=`pidof yaf-splash`" still fails to kill the splash message and adding some echo commands can be seen that the yaf-splash PID echoed from pup_event_frontend_d is not the one that "ps | grep yaf-splash" detects.
Maybe something with yaf-splash/gtkdialog end then?...

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 06:26    Post_subject:  

Quote:
@ Lobster, can I please have a link for that mkv file, so I can use it for testing as well


I am too embarrassed to publicly provide a link to my stash of prawn porn. Cover your goldfishes eyes. Sent as PM. Embarassed

. . . Meanwhile got my Slacko powered virtual shrine going to meditate on my sins against sardines.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=574702#574702
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/BuddhistYAP
yy.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.75 KB
 Viewed   1172 Time(s)

yy.jpg


_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 07:48    Post_subject:  

Hi all

thanks lob will see if I can make a better version (I think vlc 1.1.12 is out)

cheers

don
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 08:18    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Quote:
On first shutdown, at save option window, selected save to sdb1 (the flash drive).
On reboot did not have save file on drive , but some of the directories.
Is this what should happen?


Yes.. because that saves to the entire partition so the drive becomes "/". If you choose save to file then it works like a normal frugal, my preferred method which works on the wife's macbook.

What didn't work right? Can you elaborate?

BTW, it's normal that not all dirs are there, only ones that you have actually written to (as in install pets etc) get saved. It then becomes the top layer in the layered filesystem.

I stopped using it by saving that way, but will do another install and see what happens.
One thing that happened was nothing in menu->shutdown would work.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 08:19    Post_subject:  

Mick,

Check this video. Would you be interested for Slacko.

Bootsplash

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 21 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1512s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0569s) ][ GZIP on ]