Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 15:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko RC
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 23 [331 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:47    Post subject:  

@emil: Try this change:

Code:
title slacko(on /dev/sda3)
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /slacko/vmlinuz psubdir=slacko pfix=ram ro vga=normal pdev1=sda3
  initrd /slacko/initrd.gz

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Thu 20 Oct 2011, 13:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:53    Post subject: Re: Script to freeze X  

rcrsn51 wrote:
grump wrote:
On command line it asks for a password = there is none so I press Enter. ... .
Change your script to
Code:
#!/bin/bash
mount.cifs //192.168.1.101/DadE /mnt/network/STUDY/DadE -o username=guest,guest
This will work your script. You may be a little more universal to use
Code:
mount -t cifs -o username=root,password=woofwoof  //192.168.1.101/DadE /mnt/network/STUDY/DadE
I have found this to work on all PUP distros, used thus far, trying to use folders from Windows, Macs, and Linux PCs on the LAN. Its because some of the distro are implemented with subsystems that require the mount command to use the "password=" approach. So, by using the parm your script should work on most distro where you use it.

Finally, if you want your Pup to run your script every time you boot, then post back for Slacko directions to do this.

Hope this helps

Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:57    Post subject: Re: Script to freeze X  

gcmartin wrote:
You may be a little more universal to use
Code:
mount -o username=root,password=woofwoof  //192.168.1.../resource /mnt/network/STUDY


???

Please explain. Why would you login to a Windows machine using the credentials of a Puppy user?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 11:03    Post subject: Re: Script to freeze X  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Please explain. Why would you login to a Windows machine using the credentials of a Puppy user?
Management and tracking on the internal LAN at the sharing source.

@rcrsn51 PM me with this if you like.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 14:18    Post subject:  

emil wrote:
What I noticed is, that the step in the boot process where it says "Looking for Puppy files ..." seems to take more time now on my computer and there are red dots appearing. Was there a change somewhere?


I don't have the thread address to hand but I think that Barry added an extra delay because some systems were completing the search process before attached USB storage had finished initialising and were consequently failing to find the saves and boot.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 15:07    Post subject:  

The FLASH issue that was raised: I see what's occurring.

My observation
  1. Slacko PAE boots to a text window for Video selection
  2. Slacko proceeds to desktop
  3. Something in Slacko sees a active LAN connections and request
  4. FLASH installation
  5. Something delays FirstRUN but, it pops to the desktop
  6. Flash is installed and FirstRUN changes are completed.
I can see that the FLASH installation would be obliterated if a user completed FirstRUN with changes, for, FirstRUN would restart the desktop. If desktop restart is done BEFORE FLASH installs, then the ability to use the automated method of FLASH installation would disappear from desktop and view.

OptionsMaybe, it there is a LAN connection, a button on FirstRUN could trigger a FLASH installation after FirstRUN completes.
There are other methods, too, some already present in the system which could be used instead.

Work-around for me has been
  1. Cancel the FLASH request.
  2. Complete FirstRUN,
  3. then use QuickSET or PPM to add Flash (and other functionality) to the system.
Reasoning is that I know, from the past, that the traditional methods in the system have worked.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 616
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 16:13    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51, thanks, that worked
it is faster, it stops after the white dots and then there is a red
pausing Shocked
shocked me first, but all went well Very Happy

@jades, thanks for info, i found it, this change was in April
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5105
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 16:42    Post subject:  

01micko,

Thanks for your hard work to produce Slacko.
It is starting to look very good and definitely is what Puppy needs to support the newer hardware.

A little understanding is needed by all who post to this topic.
SLACKO is still in testing and development mode.

YOU WILL FIND THINGS THAT DO NOT WORK!

Your ideas are great and very much needed!!

Slacko is not perfect, yet. So please a little understanding of the facts and a little less attitude.

I have a Nvidia driver problem. I know Slacko is not finished. I told 01micko the problem and he says it is not being seen by him, but he will look into it. That tells me the problem may be something I did or did not do. So, I will make sure I did not do something wrong. Troubleshooting 101

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 16:56    Post subject:  

Just a note about nvidia,

This may affect bigpup, Tasgarth et al.

I have not compiled the 173xxx version of the driver for the PAE (RC++ k2.6.39.4) version. Do we need it?

I will not compile the nvidia-96xxx version for that kernel as old machines are generally not compatible with PAE, my lappy and brookdale are 2 such machines. They are both circa 2005, both intel.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5105
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 17:12    Post subject:  

I have a Dell computer, made in 2007, that needs the Nvidia 173XXX driver.

Again the question. What do you support?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 17:20    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I have a Dell computer, made in 2007, that needs the Nvidia 173XXX driver.

Again the question. What do you support?


By support if you mean kernel I think it's clear that the main version is the 2.6.37.6 version which has the full suite of nvidia drivers.

The ++ versions are the more experimental versions.

2.6.37.6 (main version) has had extensive testing and has proven very stable.

In saying all that I support my work! Laughing

I'll consider compiling nvidia-173xxx for 2.6.39.4.

IIRC bigpup, you had a request for certain minor version of that driver. Heads up please? TIA

EDIT: I have these sources on file
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.28-pkg1.run
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.30-pkg1.run

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5105
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 17:30    Post subject:  

On Dell computer made in 2007.

Not sure if I need the PAE version of the kernel. Do not think so.
I am using the RC++ version on this machine, but got it for my newer computer.

The Nvidia driver I used in Lucid Puppy was 173.14.25.
In earlier testing of Slacko had problems getting 173.14.28 to work.

I was testing Slacko on my newer computer more than this one, so let me do some video driver testing with the other version of Slacko and I will get back with results.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 17:59    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
On Dell computer made in 2007.

Not sure if I need the PAE version of the kernel. Do not think so.
I am using the RC++ version on this machine, but got it for my newer computer.


PAE is for running more than 3Gb ram on 32bit os.

According to Linus Torvalds It "really,really sucks". Smile

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 101
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 19:15    Post subject: Re: Script to freeze X  

gcmartin wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
grump wrote:
On command line it asks for a password = there is none so I press Enter. ... .
Change your script to
Code:
#!/bin/bash
mount.cifs //192.168.1.101/DadE /mnt/network/STUDY/DadE -o username=guest,guest
This will work your script. You may be a little more universal to use
Code:
mount -t cifs -o username=root,password=woofwoof  //192.168.1.101/DadE /mnt/network/STUDY/DadE
I have found this to work on all PUP distros, used thus far, trying to use folders from Windows, Macs, and Linux PCs on the LAN....

I've tried both these methods, and some variations from the console and get asked for a password every time.

I now have a link to pnethood on the desktop and for the time being will use that, but will return to this puzzle from time to time. Thanks everyone for your advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 19:31    Post subject:  

@grump: Are you typing a space after the comma in the above commands? If so, you will still be asked for a password.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 23 [331 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0965s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]