Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 04:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko RC
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7840
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 02:46    Post_subject:  

Hi 8-bit

It should show blue when AC is plugged, red when unplugged.. working ok here.
charge.png
 Description   charging
 Filesize   2.55 KB
 Viewed   886 Time(s)

charge.png

discharge.png
 Description   discharging
 Filesize   2.54 KB
 Viewed   907 Time(s)

discharge.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 03:28    Post_subject: Slacko 5.29.5 + siliconmotion video driver  

Hi Mick,
Very Happy I believe the following to bring some light on xorgwizard working !
Here me have had problems Sad to get X starting ...and
.. keeping the faith one more time ... Smile and digging to understand a bit more about xorgwizard's working, brought the following:
the current slacko5.29.5's xorgwizard (from line 1508) directs to and starts the /usr/sbin/SILICON script if a silicon video driver is detected.
The /usr/sbin/SILICON script starts the /usr/sbin/xorgwizard-automatic script.
If no silicon motion driver exists then the "classic" /usr/sbin/xorgwizard should run ... isn't?

So to see if a problem would come from the current xorgwizard script, Idea let us do manualy and separately what it does.
To do this lets us replace the current xorgwizard by a more classic one: the one picked-up from wary 5.1.4 , or the one picked-up from slacko4.99.1.
Those do not have the script starting at line 1508 (SILICON detection.script)

this tested on

- a fresh slacko 5.29.5 savefile [*] + the later xf86-siliconmotion-1.7.5.pet installed
- added /etc/X11/xorg.con.d/keyboard.conf [***]
- DISTRO_XORG_AUTO='yes' in /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
- and, the current /usr/sbin/xorgwizard has been replaced by the one picked-up from wary 5.1.4 , or the one picked-up from slacko4.99.1.

Results: whatever the xorgwizard's origin (from wary 5.1.4 , or from slacko4.99.1):
1. testing SILICON manualy
- remove the current /etc/X11/xorg.conf
- Menu/exit to prompt
- # SILICON EDITED: here returns to prompt ...!!??
- # xorgwizard-automatic EDITED: here have to do it manualy...!?
- # xwin
then Xvesa starts Very Happy (report-video reports driver=vesa)

2. testing xorgwizard manualy
- remove the current /etc/X11/xorg.conf
- Menu/exit to prompt
- # xorgwizard
- on the Puppy Video Wizard do <Choose> /then select [**] the siliconmotion Video driver and <OK>/
then select the monitor specification and <OK>/select video mode and <TEST>/<TEST_X_NOW>/
got the "Xorg Video Wizard: testing X ...." displayed , do Ctrl-Alt-BackSpace/
then got Xorg Video Wizard "Report on X test" box and <FINISHED>/at the prompt do
- # xwin
then X starts Very Happy Very Happy (report-video reports driver= smi)

[*] this savefile created by doing <Probe> at first bootup xorgwizard's run - then Xvesa starts.
[**] here Puppy Video Wizard displays the drivers-full list

Possible conclusion:

1. the problem is:
on first bootup slacko5.29.5 only starts on VESA by doing <Probe>.
Further attempts to get Xorg desktop working by selecting the siliconmotion driver results in a black screen, or system hang up.
2. what the above testing shows is that there could be something in the 5.29.5 xorgwizard that would bring the problem.

All this have been reproduced several times; as also on slacko 5.29.6.

Hope this could also bring some light
Charlie

[***] keyboard.conf
Code:
Section InputDevice
Identfier     "Keyboard0"
Driver        "kbd"
Option         "XkbRules"   "xorg"
Option         "XkbMode1" "pc102"
Option         "XkbLayout" "be" "#xkeymap0

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 04:54    Post_subject:  

hi all

everything looking good, here's a desktop

cheers

don
slackdesk.png
 Description   
 Filesize   224.52 KB
 Viewed   503 Time(s)

slackdesk.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 12:23    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
As per your statement of saving to an ext3 slacksave file, you keep calling it a 2fs file. If you saved it as a 3fs file it should have a 3fs extension and not a 2fs file extension.
I think that may be part of your problem if the slacosave file has the wrong extension.


No, it's not part of the problem. I called it a 2fs file out of habit, and because I hadn't actually looked at the extension. How could a 3fs file get a 2fs extension unless one renamed it manually? In any case, now that I've looked at it (having created a second save file, this one a "2fs"), I can assure you that both have the original extension Slacko gave them. And both of them cause it to seize up on reboot, whereas there's no such problem booting with pfix=ram.


Quote:
I jumped through a few hoops getting slacko rc working for me. But it seems that if I can do it, you should also be able to.
If I was setting at your PC, I and most others here could most likely get it to work to.


Such a long-winded way of gratuitously calling someone "stupid". Your reasoning is defective...

Quote:
As a for instance, you state creating a 32meg slacksave file.
32megs is not even an option for size of it.


I'm looking at it (all 32MB of it) sitting right beside the original 512MB 3fs file on my hard drive.

You should really check your facts before handing out advice...Try booting Slacko 5.29.6 with pfix=ram yourself, and then go through the save menu when shutting down.

Quote:
You already stated you can boot from the CD to a desktop with all icons present and menu items present also.
But you just might be trying to install too many things before creating a save file.

Have you tried booting from the CD with "puppy pfix=ram" and setting up the bare minimums.
Do not at that time try to install flashplayer.


Oh, you mean I should ignore the specific recommendation to do so?

Quote:
You can do that after a reboot.
There is an item in the menu to do that.
Also, do not go with less than a 512 meg save file.
Ext2 or ext3 is fine, but the save file should have a 3fs filename extension if you pick ext3 and a 2fs filename extension if you pick ext2.
Persevere, and you will succeed.


I suggest you direct your suggestions to those (if they exist) who are handling the documentation for Slacko. As for your assurance that perseverance will end in success - it's both illogical and irrelevant. I'm not interested in testing my ability to work around basic functionality issues in a new OS, much less to prove that I'm as smart as you and "most others".

I tried Slacko for one reason, because it was suggested to me that it might provide native support for USB3. I assumed when I set out that it was already functional otherwise.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 13:09    Post_subject:  

Wow otropogo, you sure go out your way to make friends and influence people don't you !
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 13:12    Post_subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
01micko wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
01micko,

this problem is beyond my skill level and looks like it is not my hardware since in other pups once the speakers are chosen via multi-sound card wizard on reboot sound continues to go to those speakers. have looked in other pups multi-sound card wizard and the choices are the same as in the pic of my first post here in RC. any ideas?


Was this a problem in any of the betas? If not I have a possible fix. Let me know please before I post it. Thanks.


01micko yes a problem I reported in prior betas.


Hi 01micko still can't get this to act properly. appreciate any ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 13:20    Post_subject:  

otropogo, I have been where your at with software and people that just won't work right.
think everyone here gets your frustrated. pms instead of open posts may get you better results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2ManyDogs

Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 13:47    Post_subject: font rendering issue in slacko  

I'm using the Slacko RC and so far I really like it. I'm running it on a Gateway P4 2Ghz machine with 1.5 G RAM and 80 G hard drive, running from the CD and saving to a USB drive (this machine will boot from USB, but it's easier to boot from the CD). The setup told me I had a Brookdale graphics card but everything seems to be running well... except

I'm having an issue with fonts and pages in Firefox (and Seamonkey). Pages that looked fine in Lucid puppy don't render correctly on Slacko. I don't think this is a browser issue, but I could be wrong. I have attached two examples -- one is cropped from a larger page because it has other personal information on it, and the Amazon page is complete. Notice how the text overlaps and the pages look funky. Any ideas?

As I said, otherwise I really like Slacko and have loaded LibreOffice from the sfs file and Truecrypt from the web site, everything is working fine. This is a minor annoyance at best (unlike all the sound issues I had with Lucid).
amazon screen.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  amazon screen.jpg 
Filesize  89.31 KB 
Downloaded  135 Time(s) 
ally screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   15.11 KB
 Viewed   941 Time(s)

ally screen.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 14:00    Post_subject:  

Using a manual frugal install of Slacko RC on a Dell Inspiron 1100 laptop having Brookdale graphics and a Synaptics touchpad. The Brookdale and flsynclient fixes continue to work well, as does the new battery tray app.

Frisbee continues to work well; I like the connection feedback. The wifi card is a D-link WNA-2330 having Atheros 5212/13 chips.

Printing to a windows shared HP LaserJet 2300 attached via usb to a desktop (almost always running linux using samba) works; I had to use the smbn option provided by rcrsn51 http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59015

When I was about to save this note a few minutes ago, all the drive icons had disappeared; I could neither exit to a prompt, reboot nor shutdown. Restarting JWM resulted in a botched color scheme. Getting a terminal (alt F1) gave me a slowly repeating message
Code:
EXT2-fs (sda6): error: ext2_get_inode: unable to read inside inode block_inode=328005, block=1343490
. I hand copied the message to paper so it may have punctuation errors. After a hard poweroff, slacko rebooted easily (I have pfix=fsck FWIW). Maybe it's my disk problem, not a slacko one.

No other problems noted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3387
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 15:19    Post_subject:  

otropogo,

No ill or degrading of you was intended and believe it or not, I am just as frustrated as you with trying to figure out why you are having problems booting after creating a save file.
And I apologize as I am also frustrated. Not with you, but with the problems you are having.

Also, trying to figure out what to check is also hard since a failed boot does not give you the option of checking /tmp/xerrs.log or typing "dmesg" in a terminal.

I also agree that you should not have to jump through hoops to get any operating system to work.

I have been trying to help out, but with so many variables as to a possible cause of the booting problem, it is like trying to track down a needle in a haystack.

From what I understand so far, you are booting from CD and without installing Puppy, you are just setting things up and creating a save file on a fat partition when asked on rebooting if you want to make one.
Then after the save file is created and the reboot with the CD occurs, a save file is searched for and if found, loaded into memory and then the slacko SFS is loaded.
So when you boot, are you seeing that the save file is loaded first?
Do you see then the slacko sfs file is then loaded?

I am trying here to figure out at what point the boot errors out in the booting process.

If I have this right so far, chime in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
johnnywinner

Joined: 19 Jul 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 16:44    Post_subject:  

The Slackware binutils package renames strings to strings-GNU to "differentiate between BSD strings and GNU strings". Might not be a big deal, but I created a symlink for a package I was compiling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 16:55    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
power supply has pretty much had it.

'pretty much' - what does that mean? Either it's dead or not?


Most of the time, I press the power button and it will try to start but immediately die. It will then refuse to do anything for ages. Every now and again it will actually start up and be usable. The current PSU is out of an old machine from work. TBH I suspect it's not powerful enough for everything in the box.

The previous power supply, a second-hand Corsair HX620W spectacularly died, with a visible flash of light emitting from inside the machine. Still not entirely convinced it hasn't fried something. Might try replacing the mainboard battery as it's ten-odd years old anyway.

Sage wrote:
If it needs cleaning just hose it and dry it + lube the fan. If it's dead, check the caps for bulges, fuses for continuity and varistors. Rarely anything else in a PSU.


Even if I was willing to poke around in a power supply containing potentially nasty voltages, I'd be unlikely to know what I'm looking at.

Sage wrote:
Whatever, please edit your profile to show your location. If you are in the UK I can probably offer you a replacement, gratis.


Thanks for the offer, but I have no problem affording a replacement. I just haven't got round to it as I've been very busy recently and it isn't a priority machine.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 18:26    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
otropogo,

...

From what I understand so far, you are booting from CD and without installing Puppy, you are just setting things up and creating a save file on a fat partition when asked on rebooting if you want to make one.


Yes, that's how I run linux on all of my machines.

Quote:
Then after the save file is created and the reboot with the CD occurs, a save file is searched for and if found, loaded into memory and then the slacko SFS is loaded.
So when you boot, are you seeing that the save file is loaded first?
Do you see then the slacko sfs file is then loaded?

I am trying here to figure out at what point the boot errors out in the booting process.

If I have this right so far, chime in.


As I described previously, the display indicates that the save file is loaded and that the sfs file is copied to RAM. As I also mentioned, the point at which the display freezes is different on every boot, as are the lines displayed.

And since I'm not a coder, I'm not able to determine whether everything displayed is error message or where the problem arose. I selected those lines to post from the frozen screen that seemed to indicate a problem.

Since you asked nicely, I rebooted twice just now and watched the screen to try to note all of the displayed text. Happily, it was mercifully sparse these last two times.

1. booting with the 512MB 3fs save file:

Quote:
updating
loading kernel modules...


I didn't time this exactly, but nothing more appeared for at least four minutes, so I conclude the system was locked up.

2. booting with the 32MB 2fs save file:

Quote:
Updating
loading kernel modules...[107.636962] BUG:unable to handle kernel.


OTOH I used the same CD to boot on another system, the one I'm using right now, save a 512MB 3fs file to the hard drive, and rebooted without incident using that file.

One possibly significant difference - the home partition for the latter, bootable, save file is in NTFS format, whereas the two failed save files are on a FAT32 partition.

One bit of good news - Slacko 5.29.6 has USB3 support built in, and it has no problem with 3TB ntfs formated USB3 drives either, unlike lupu 5.2.8., which requires a pet to install usb3 support, doesn't support USB3 hot plugging, and can't seem to handle a 3TB drive, even when partitioned, on either the USB3 or the USB2 ports, mounting it read only.

There is one weird quirk with Slacko's USB3 - the 3TB drive may need to be attached on bootup, and if unmounted, detached and then reattached, is only recognized on the same USB3 port where it was mounted initially. It doesn't have this limitation on the USB2 ports.

A usb3 card reader OTOH can be switched from one USB3 port to the other at will.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 18:38    Post_subject:  

tasmod wrote:
Wow otropogo, you sure go out your way to make friends and influence people don't you !


Your obnoxious remark is misdirected.

I've put a lot of effort into a project from which I have only the faintest hope of benefiting in any way. And I don't appreciate in return having my intelligence insulted by someone who hasn't bothered to check his facts or even to read carefully what he presumes to criticize.

At least he has made an effort to get back on topic. Maybe you could make an effort too...

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3387
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 18:44    Post_subject:  

otropogo,
I think we might be getting somewhere after the line you saw that said
"loading kernel modules...[107.636962] BUG:unable to handle kernel."

It just may be that the kernel in the version you downloaded is incompatible with that PC. I do not think saving to an NTFS vs VFat formatted partition should make any difference.

There are two kernel versions of Slacko and it just may be that that particular PC may require the other kernel version.

If we can get 01micko to chime in here, he may be able to shed some light on that part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1338s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0119s) ][ GZIP on ]