Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 02:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
[SOLVED] Problems with setting date and time
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 15:55    Post subject:  [SOLVED] Problems with setting date and time  

Running ISpup-Q120 from a live CD leads to the following problem:

After starting, the system displays the correct date but displayed time is 1 h ahead of actual time. I corrected the displayed time using Menu/Settings/Date and Time set and got a popup under the title "Info" stating

Finished. Time was set to Sun Oct 2 HH:MM:SS CDT 2011

Now the displayed date and time were correct but CDT is not the correct time zone. Using Menu/Settings/Set Timezone, I set my time zone to GMT+2. Then I set date and time again. This time I got

Finished. Time was set to Sun Oct 2 HH:MM:SS GMT-2 2011

Can anyone explain why such a seemingly simple matter is going so badly wrong?

Last edited by kpfuser on Wed 05 Oct 2011, 16:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 17:23    Post subject:  

When I changed my timezone from the menu it did not affect the time, I then changed the timezone back to what it should be and the time was unaffected. I would have thought the timezone was a related but separate value that is used for example in email where confusion might arise when communicating across timezones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 17:00    Post subject:  

Peterm321 wrote:
When I changed my timezone from the menu it did not affect the time, I then changed the timezone back to what it should be and the time was unaffected.

This is what happened in my case as well. This can be seen as another indication that things are not going well.

Quote:
I would have thought the timezone was a related but separate value that is used for example in email where confusion might arise when communicating across timezones.

This may very well be the case but the question is whether we can set it correctly and get it to display as such.

Addendum: I ran an older Puppy (NOP 4.1.2) live CD. The problem mentioned here exists in the older version as well. Could it be that the. functions of setting Date & Time as well as Time Zone never worked properly in any version of Puppy and the problem escaped attention all along? I would appreciate it if readers of this let me know if they are able to get the correct date, time, and time zone displaying together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 17:39    Post subject:  

Since I use country/town instead of GMT+-, and local instead of utc, I've never had any problems with time. Although sometimes I have no time, but that's another story Laughing .

HTH
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 18:21    Post subject:  

rhadon,

Can you explain in some detail how you set date & time your way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 18:46    Post subject:  

I don't know ISpup-Q120, but it should be similar.

Setting my timezone, I can choose GMT+1,2,3... or GMT-1,2,3... or e.g. Europe/Berlin. For you it should be Europe/Athen, I think. That's what I meant.

HTH
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2011, 16:33    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:
I don't know ISpup-Q120, but it should be similar.

Well, identical is actually the case, as it should be.

Quote:
Setting my timezone, I can choose GMT+1,2,3... or GMT-1,2,3... or e.g. Europe/Berlin. For you it should be Europe/Athen, I think. That's what I meant.

HTH
Rolf

Well well well!!! Setting my time zone as Europe/Athens, works just fine! Setting it as GMT+2 works like sh!!!t (sche!!!e for your time zone Rolf). Why it should be so, remains for the Puppy illuminati to ponder and, hopefully, fix. I will do my level best and report it as a bug. Meanwhile, I thank you sincerely Rolf for pointing out the solution to this simple yet so irritating problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0575s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]