Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 12:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox official releases
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 16:24    Post_subject:  

Hi Tman
Please tell everyone to download the langpacks for latest Firefox from here and the locale switcher extension from here. I have less time since I changed job, and I can't maintain those downloads at the same pace of the releases. The given links update automatically when a new version of Firefox is released.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 21:51    Post_subject:  

vicmz wrote:
Hi Tman
Please tell everyone to download the langpacks for latest Firefox from here and the locale switcher extension from here. I have less time since I changed job, and I can't maintain those downloads at the same pace of the releases. The given links update automatically when a new version of Firefox is released.


Sure vicmz, but I have never installed any language packs for Firefox, so before I post the links on the first post of this thread, please explain where to install these language pack files.. thanks in advance.

I've noticed that Firefox has released version 16.0.2 ... I am feeling a bit lazy today, but I will make updated pet and sfs soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:
vicmz wrote:
Hi Tman
Please tell everyone to download the langpacks for latest Firefox from here and the locale switcher extension from here. I have less time since I changed job, and I can't maintain those downloads at the same pace of the releases. The given links update automatically when a new version of Firefox is released.


Sure vicmz, but I have never installed any language packs for Firefox, so before I post the links on the first post of this thread, please explain where to install these language pack files.. thanks in advance.

I've noticed that Firefox has released version 16.0.2 ... I am feeling a bit lazy today, but I will make updated pet and sfs soon.


Both the language packs and the locale_switcher are installed as extensions, something that users can do themselves. Tell them to install the extensions and then activate the desired language by going to Tools > Languages and selecting the language. As you can see in the attached images, there is no need for you to include this feature built in into your PET or SFS. But if you feel like doing it, you can simply include the locale_switcher and the langpacks for the six languages that are more popular in the murga-linux community: Spanish (es-ES), French (fr), German (de), Russian (ru), Chinese (zh-CN, zh-TW, where CN is simplified and TW is traditional), and Japanese (ja).
capture32717.png
 Description   
 Filesize   45.85 KB
 Viewed   1528 Time(s)

capture32717.png

capture31798.png
 Description   
 Filesize   110.35 KB
 Viewed   1499 Time(s)

capture31798.png

capture856.png
 Description   
 Filesize   177.16 KB
 Viewed   1498 Time(s)

capture856.png


_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 19:50    Post_subject:  

Thanks, vicmz. I have placed the needed links on the first post of this thread.

Firefox-16.0.2 pet and sfs have been uploaded. I am growing weary of Firefox's new release cycle..it makes previous versions become out-of-date way too fast.
I would ditch Firefox completely for Opera, if Opera had something similar to the "Downthemall" download accelerator app (available for Firefox), which I use almost every day, when I'm on the Internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 09:48    Post_subject:  

How about telling how do you compile Firefox and inviting other users to help? I think at least a couple of users would join.
_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 23:46    Post_subject:  

vicmz wrote:
How about telling how do you compile Firefox and inviting other users to help? I think at least a couple of users would join.


There is a thread on how to compile Firefox -> here

But these official releases were not compiled by me. I download the pre-compiled compressed file from Mozilla's website -> here. I did however make custom scripts for it, and placed the main files into unique folder names, in order to get Firefox to work the way I want it to. It doesn't really take me that long, since I use older pets as a template, but since I am doing other things, and not just making pets for firefox, it makes me feel like every time I blink, there's a new firefox release. Well, okay... I'm exaggerating, but I think you get the picture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 10:28    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:
it makes me feel like every time I blink, there's a new firefox release. Well, okay... I'm exaggerating, but I think you get the picture.


Take it easy, simply tell everyone you aren't able to compile every single update of Firefox. Behind each user name there is a person who needs to work, eat and sleep. Everyone is aware of the Firefox cycle, many people just use certain versions until a major upgrade is released. Even for less frequent updates it is unrealistic to expect one user to package all new releases. You know, less pressure, more fun. Very Happy

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1696
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2012, 09:55    Post_subject:  

hi tman,

the new script that you are using to start firefox is problematic. for instance if i click a link in pidgin or other program, instead of opening a tab in an already open firefox, the open firefox is killed, and a new instance started!! this can cause loss of pages, emails, downloads in progress etc.

it also makes having more than one instance of firefox open impossible.

thanks for the .pets though Smile

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 21:49    Post_subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi tman,

the new script that you are using to start firefox is problematic. for instance if i click a link in pidgin or other program, instead of opening a tab in an already open firefox, the open firefox is killed, and a new instance started!! this can cause loss of pages, emails, downloads in progress etc.

it also makes having more than one instance of firefox open impossible.

thanks for the .pets though Smile


Thanks for the feedback. By default, you can run multiple instances of Firefox when launching it from the main menu. I have made /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to only allow one instance of Firefox. It contains the following code:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
yaf-splash -bg red -fg white -timeout 2 -text "loading.." &
killall firefox 2>/dev/null
sleep 0.3
exec firefox "$@"


If you want defaultbrowser to allow for more than one instance of firefox, remove the portion that says "killall firefox 2>/dev/null"
However, if Firefox crashes, you will may need to enter killall firefox from the terminal to get it running again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1419
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 05:22    Post_subject:  

Hi Tman

Thanks for these pets and sfs's

Some feedback from trying the pet on LxPup 12.12 which is based on Pemasu's Upup-Precise.....but uses LXDE and PCManFM instead of JWM and rox.

Had to change the category in the desktop file in /usr/share/applications to: WebBrowser
before I could get Firefox to show up in the menu.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 21:14    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Peebee.

I will add that category the next time I create a Firefox pet and sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 22:13    Post_subject:  

Rockin' Tman!

Firefox recently "helped me" by pushing v.17 onto my system. That crunched many of my browser functions. So I uninstalled FF, and dropped in your .SFS version.

Not only does it work better, but it also cleared about 150MB from my save file (unbelievable how much crud FF accumulates).

Thanks man!

One note, it may need some instructions on how to link in the binary from the .SFS (I figured it out, but not likely something that a newbie would be able to -- unless I missed something in the instructions).

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 22:28    Post_subject:  

RetroTechGuy,

You're very welcome. Regarding this part of your post:

RetroTechGuy wrote:

One note, it may need some instructions on how to link in the binary from the .SFS

A symlink to the binary should be created when you load the sfs for the first time.
The name of the symlink is /usr/bin/firefox. Is this what you are referring to? If not, then please clarify.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:05    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:
RetroTechGuy,

You're very welcome. Regarding this part of your post:

RetroTechGuy wrote:

One note, it may need some instructions on how to link in the binary from the .SFS

A symlink to the binary should be created when you load the sfs for the first time.
The name of the symlink is /usr/bin/firefox. Is this what you are referring to? If not, then please clarify.


Yes, this didn't happen in my case (and I did it manually).

Is it possible I fudged something by uninstalling my old FF (at the moment I don't recall if I had mounted the SFS already -- it is possible that I was seeing if the SFS would override the installed FF, so I could test it before committing to the SFS version -- but unmounting then remounting the SFS, as I did, ideally should have reset that)


BTW, you have no idea how much I enjoy seeing 3 green bars on my save file space (I was hanging in the yellow to red range, because of FF bloat).

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 23:04    Post_subject:  

@RetroTechGuy

After you have mounted the SFS for the first time, there should be a file named /root/firefox-16.01.txt.
If you ever need to run the Firefox setup script again, just keep the Firefox.sfs mounted, then deleted the above mentioned .txt file, and launch Firefox from the menu.
Or instead of running firefox from the menu, you can alternatively type run_firefox from the terminal.

This will go through the process of recreating the symlinks, asking you to remove your old saved settings, etc.

Lately, I have been taking a breather from Puppy related projects, but sooner or later, I will return to where I had left off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0964s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]