Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Unable to get wireless working in Lupu 528
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 15:58    Post_subject:  Unable to get wireless working in Lupu 528
Sub_title: Emachines laptop with Intel chipset
 

ok i've been trying all day long to get wireless working on this laptop.

specs as follows : (or at least what i can tell)

emachines e725 laptop
3 gig ram
intel t4400 cpu
250 gb hdd

puppy is using b43 driver (at least trying to or what puppy loaded that is)


output of lspci

Quote:
sh-4.1# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications AR8132 Fast Ethernet (rev c0)
sh-4.1#


and running latest LuPu 5.28

im on my netbook right now and puppy runs just fine (super awesome in fact)

what gives here? ive tried loading and unloading b43legacy , b43 drivers and still nothin...!


funny thing is though , last night the wireless was working great (but that was from running puppy from the cd before installed it to hdd) . but now that puppy is running from hdd i have no internet and the real kick in the pants is puppy wont even see my router (emachines install wont see it)

im stumped.... any suggestions?

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:14    Post_subject:  

also , the light (led) for the wireless does in fact come on when i scan for networks in range..

but........ see the attached images...
image-4.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  image-4.png 
Filesize  1.2 MB 
Downloaded  110 Time(s) 
image-3.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  image-3.png 
Filesize  1.07 MB 
Downloaded  94 Time(s) 
image-2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  image-2.png 
Filesize  1.14 MB 
Downloaded  92 Time(s) 
image-1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  image-1.png 
Filesize  1.23 MB 
Downloaded  103 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:15    Post_subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=421596#421596

It can be that you need this. Also Slacko B5++ has new broadcom driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 18:17    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=421596#421596

It can be that you need this. Also Slacko B5++ has new broadcom driver.


Thank you , downloading the driver now..


although reading through the other thread , how do i blacklist the driver(s) i dont need???

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 20:21    Post_subject:  

nevermind lol i found it...
_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 20:47    Post_subject:  

alright , so i read and read and read through the thread in the link above , followed all directions to the letter , and still no wireless...

according to the network wizard , instead of a wlan button i now have an eth1 (wtf?) and the driver in the load a module list is now:

Code:
wl         pci: Broadcom 802.11b/g LP-PHY


that was supposed to happen , correct???


I really have no idea where to go from here....

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:54    Post_subject:  

jason.b.c wrote:
i now have an eth1 (wtf?) and the driver in the load a module list is now:
Code:
wl         pci: Broadcom 802.11b/g LP-PHY

that was supposed to happen , correct???

Yes.

jason.b.c wrote:
I really have no idea where to go from here....

Click the "eth1" button, then the "Wireless" button, which will take you to a wifi configuration gui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:57    Post_subject:  

jason.b.c wrote:
alright , so i read and read and read through the thread in the link above , followed all directions to the letter , and still no wireless...

according to the network wizard , instead of a wlan button i now have an eth1 (wtf?) and the driver in the load a module list is now:

Code:
wl         pci: Broadcom 802.11b/g LP-PHY


that was supposed to happen , correct???


I really have no idea where to go from here....


I tried Wary5.1.3.4 and Lucid5.2.8 on a Lenovo netbook
(bcm4312 chip) a few weeks ago.

Wary connected, Lucid didn't.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 22:57    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
jason.b.c wrote:
alright , so i read and read and read through the thread in the link above , followed all directions to the letter , and still no wireless...

according to the network wizard , instead of a wlan button i now have an eth1 (wtf?) and the driver in the load a module list is now:

Code:
wl         pci: Broadcom 802.11b/g LP-PHY


that was supposed to happen , correct???


I really have no idea where to go from here....


I tried Wary5.1.3.4 and Lucid5.2.8 on a Lenovo netbook
(bcm4312 chip) a few weeks ago.

Wary connected, Lucid didn't.




so what would be your advice???

what about the windows driver ? (for Ndiswrapper)

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 23:10    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:

jason.b.c wrote:
I really have no idea where to go from here....

Click the "eth1" button, then the "Wireless" button, which will take you to a wifi configuration gui.


well i did , and puppy still cannot see even my router , let alone any other router..

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 01:16    Post_subject:  

Everything to this point is working on the assumption that the proprietary "wl" Broadcom driver will somehow magically work better than the standard "b43" driver.
Indeed, there are many instances where this is the case, but I see earlier in this thread -
jason.b.c wrote:
puppy is using b43 driver (at least trying to or what puppy loaded that is)
...
last night the wireless was working great (but that was from running puppy from the cd before installed it to hdd).

So under certain conditions the b43 does, indeed, function properly. OK, then let's all slow down and go back a step.
Clearly there's some problem with the HDD installation. You haven't told us what type of installation you did, but given the problem, I'm guessing you did a frugal installation.

I suggest you go back and install afresh. Make sure you have an ext3 partition on your hard drive to install to.
Immediately after the installation, boot to the HD, but once you get to the desktop cancel out of the automatic network setup (it uses the Simple Network Wizard) and immediately reboot, at which point you will be prompted to create a save-file.
Once rebooted, run the Internet Connection Wizard, and hopefully the b43 driver will configure OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 02:33    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Everything to this point is working on the assumption that the proprietary "wl" Broadcom driver will somehow magically work better than the standard "b43" driver.
Indeed, there are many instances where this is the case, but I see earlier in this thread -
jason.b.c wrote:
puppy is using b43 driver (at least trying to or what puppy loaded that is)
...
last night the wireless was working great (but that was from running puppy from the cd before installed it to hdd).

So under certain conditions the b43 does, indeed, function properly. OK, then let's all slow down and go back a step.
Clearly there's some problem with the HDD installation. You haven't told us what type of installation you did, but given the problem, I'm guessing you did a frugal installation.

I suggest you go back and install a fresh. Make sure you have an ext3 partition on your hard drive to install to.
Immediately after the installation, boot to the HD, but once you get to the desktop cancel out of the automatic network setup (it uses the Simple Network Wizard) and immediately reboot, at which point you will be prompted to create a save-file.
Once rebooted, run the Internet Connection Wizard, and hopefully the b43 driver will configure OK.


well no , i actually did a full install and to an ext3 partition..

Alrighty , i'll give your suggestion a good go . i'll post post back asap (but probably after i've had some blanket and pillow time LOL) Laughing

Thank you for your help... Very Happy

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
jason.b.c


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 758
Location: Marshfield,MO

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 20:36    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:



I suggest you go back and install afresh. Make sure you have an ext3 partition on your hard drive to install to.
Immediately after the installation, boot to the HD, but once you get to the desktop cancel out of the automatic network setup (it uses the Simple Network Wizard) and immediately reboot, at which point you will be prompted to create a save-file.
Once rebooted, run the Internet Connection Wizard, and hopefully the b43 driver will configure OK.



Ok bit of a major snafu here , i did a fresh reinstall and did like the suggestion above , but i was never prompted to create a save file... and that's running from hdd.

_________________
Puppy is Awesome..!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 21:35    Post_subject:  

jason.b.c wrote:
i actually did a full install and to an ext3 partition.

OK, then there's no savefile involved, and obviously my comments about rebooting to create a savefile are not relevant.

I still suggest you cancel out of the automatic network setup ... it's best to use the full Network Wizard instead.

If you still have problems with the b43 driver, I would venture a guess that the full HD installation may be failing to register the entire complement of kernel modules (drivers) - I think I've seen this problem on the forum before.
So if you continue to have problems with the b43 driver, run this command -
Code:
depmod-FULL

then reboot.
Once rebooted, run the Network Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0990s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]