(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Jan 2021, 18:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to get sound to work in Puppy 5.2.8?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 15:19    Post subject:  How to get sound to work in Puppy 5.2.8?
Subject description: Compaq Pentium II with 128 MB of RAM
 

hi, this is my first post here.

I have a Compaq computer that has a Pentium II in it with 128m of ram.
I have installed puppy 5.2.8, and so far all is good except the sound.
I can't get any music to play, whether a cd or mp3's that are on the HD.
When I try to run the alsamixer, it briefly pops up then disappears.

I know the sound card works because I had window 98 on this computer
before and the sounds played ok then.

When I run pcd - CD - audio player, the list of tracks load in in the
pcd display list, ( the field shows track1 ... then track2 ... track3...etc )
then when I highlight track 1 and hit the arrow to play, the tacks get listed again 1 after the other.

Can anyone give me a clue as to what to check on?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 18:25    Post subject:  

Hi speck- Welcome! Can you tell us whether sound worked when you ran Pup before the install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 18:37    Post subject:  

I can't remember if it worked when I ran it off the .iso that I used briefly before the install to the HD. I know the sound did work on the Win 98 that was on a HD that was in the computer before I installed puppy.

The little system "beep" sound works though. This ( I think ) is part of
the bios or something, I don't think it has anything to do with the puppy os.
I have dosemu ( DOS emulator ) installed on puppy, and it works ok and when the DOS emulator runs ( it brings up a old windows type prompt screen ) you can hear the beep sound when anything is entered into the DOS console .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 18:42    Post subject:  

Try the disk again and when the Pup screen arrives, you type: puppy pfix=ram

Confirm whether sound works here, both those mp3's and any audio disks you have lay'n around.

==

If there was no sound by the time you return, run from the console: lspci | grep -i audio

.. then post the output with your reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 19:22    Post subject:  

I could not get the sound to work after booting the .iso disk and typing puppy pfix=ram in the console. So I rebooted using the HD and tried to type the command into a terminal and it said "command could not be found"

I did run the alsaconfig for the sound cards and after it searched it printed out this:

Quote:
following cards are found on your system.
choose a soundcard to configure:

es18xx.......snd es18xx
legacy........Probe: legacy ISA ( non PnP ) chips
usb-audio...Overide: USB sound device
aoa...........Overide: Apple Onboard audio


I have no idea which one of these to pick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 19:36    Post subject:  

OK. Now that your modules out in the open- relax. I'll leave it for one of the hw boys to follow up.

Or, try with the first one. Whether it'll have to be manually loaded is speculation on my part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 19:49    Post subject:  

wow, I selected the first one and it configured and asked if I wanted to test it and I clicked "Yes", the the dog bark sound came on.

Now I am running a mp3 I have on the HD and it is playing.

Thanks!
I will run it through its paces on the other stuff ( CD player etc ) and see
how everything else works out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 20:10    Post subject:  

Oh GREAT! There ya go.. HEY! Don't be afraid to experiment when it comes to these sort of things- Pup's game!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 20:31    Post subject:  

it plays CD's also.
I am now going to try to figure out what Linux command I can run that will
turn the little internal speaker off and on. When I run dosemu ( DOS emulator ) and I type anything anything into the console, the speaker beeps.
It beeps after every character typed. ( I use DOS to run a window program that is strickley all text, no graphics to do calculations, but the constant beeping after anything input will make me have to disable the speaker if I can't find a way to shut it off )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 20:41    Post subject:  

Use pfind and check if there's a "dosemu.conf" file in one of dosemus`directories. If yes, attach a copy with your reply.

Maybe a longshot but, try this in a terminal: xset b off

.. then go type.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:20    Post subject:  

I found 4 files that appear to be configuration files.
Two are the autoexec.bat and config.sys files I think that normally appear in the C: directory on DOS, and two more. One is called dosemurc and the other is global.conf
They were both in the dosemu/conf directory

dosemurc and global.conf are huge, I can post them if you want.
I tried to attach dosemurc and I received the message that the extension was not allowed.
here is the autoexec.bat file
Code:
@echo off
rem autoexec.bat for DOSEMU + FreeDOS
path z:\bin;z:\gnu;z:\dosemu
set HELPPATH=z:\help
set TEMP=c:\tmp
blaster
prompt $P$G
unix -s DOSDRIVE_D
if "%DOSDRIVE_D%" == "" goto nodrived
lredir d: linux\fs%DOSDRIVE_D%
:nodrived
rem uncomment to load another bitmap font
rem loadhi display con=(vga,437,2)
rem mode con codepage prepare=((850) z:\cpi\ega.cpx)
rem mode con codepage select 850
rem chcp 850
lredir e: linux\fs/media/cdrom c
unix -s DOSEMU_VERSION
echo "Welcome to dosemu %DOSEMU_VERSION%!"
unix -e



and here is the config.sys file:


Code:
rem config.sys for DOSEMU + FreeDOS
rem note that the initial "D:" is set to "Z:" at the end
SWITCHES=/F
DOS=UMB,HIGH
dosdata=umb
lastdrive=Z
files=40
stacks=0
buffers=10
devicehigh=d:\dosemu\ems.sys
devicehigh=d:\dosemu\cdrom.sys
install=d:\dosemu\lredir.com z: linux\fs\${DOSEMU_LIB_DIR}/drive_z ro
shellhigh=z:\command.com /e:1024 /p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:25    Post subject:  

I forgot to mention any attachments would have to first be gzipped. Try the xset thing for the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:29    Post subject:  

tried xset but it didn't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
speck

Joined: 01 Oct 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:38    Post subject:  

here is the dosemurc and the global.conf found in the conf directory
It looks like everything in dosemurc is commented out though.

( these were gz'ed using Ubuntu 10.10, machine I am on now, the Compaq has a phone line modem, don't think it will work anyway as it , I believe, is a winmodem )
global.conf.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  global.conf.gz 
Filesize  6.37 KB 
Downloaded  172 Time(s) 
dosemurc.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  dosemurc.gz 
Filesize  7.06 KB 
Downloaded  156 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 21:40    Post subject:  

You've got a file in /etc named "inputrc" and it might look like my screenie.

Throw this line: set bell-style none on the end, save and reboot.

Make sure it has a numbered "empty line" on the end before saving.

I'll take a peek in the meantime..
disable-beep_test.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.74 KB
 Viewed   349 Time(s)

disable-beep_test.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 2.2177s ][ Queries: 12 (1.8348s) ][ GZIP on ]