Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 14 Dec 2019, 08:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
When External screen was off JWM lost 1024 x 768. [Solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 14:14    Post subject:  When External screen was off JWM lost 1024 x 768. [Solved]
Subject description: It had worked for a year or so and now impossible to get it back!
 

This is a JWM error as I get it. It did happen to a Snow puppy 5 but that is
very compatible with Lupu513. So it should be a problem with a solution.
But many people have tried to help me but it seems to be a tough problem.

When I booted without an external screen then it made JWM forget resolution
and asked me to probe and it did chose the right resolution but it fail to show it.

It had worked for a year or so and now impossible to get it back!
Sadly my backup file is very old. from April so I would loose a lot
of small improvements if I reuse that old one.

Unfortunately it saved the new config so when I rebooted it failed
to get back to old resolution.

So now it shows in 1024 x 600 on the external
screen despite reporting that I have 1024 x 768.

My poor brain tells me there must be a "value" or "variable" to look for in
some config that is made during the probe and that value should be able
to "borrow" from the old save file and to bring over to the new one.

I only have to know which file that have those values to get it back.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Sun 02 Oct 2011, 08:15; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:02    Post subject:  

Did you mean /etc/X11/xorg.conf ?

Sorry , that i cannot have more ideas , maybe because i have no 'second' external monitor to 'experiment' with .

I have several xorg.conf files that i backed up and some are like

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "metamodes" "1024x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_0
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "metamodes" "1024x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_1
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection


Maybe because of the kernel configurations "Xorg -configure" believed I had two graphic cards and also two monitors attached - but it had been only one card and only one monitor ( no laptop ) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:33    Post subject:  

Yes my idea is that I boot into the old version and make a copy of such
files that change when one do a fresh install and then I boot into the
version and compare with the old that works. I am in the old that works now.

So then Looking at the old and being in the new I should be able
to see the difference between them and change that value and then reboot?

Does that seems logical and a working solution?
xorgconfig in /etc/X11/xorg.conf are that one single such file
and nowhere else are there such files?

Are there other files that take care of external screens? I can most likely make a copy of it to the /mnt/home/ and name it xorgconfig old and
then look in that one when I am in the new failing version?
I go do it now

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:55    Post subject:  

Big surprise.

In the old version which works there this whole section is lacking.
It is simply not there. Could it be looking for this info somehwere else?

Quote:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31-61
VertRefresh 56-75
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
#modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "ColorKey" # <i>
#Option "CacheLines" # <i>
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "DRI" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvMCSurfaces" # <i>
#Option "PageFlip" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "intel" #card0driver
Option "LinearAlloc" "6144"
VendorName "Intel Corporation"
BoardName "Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
#Option "metamodes" "1024x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_0
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection


I mean to my naive eyes it do looks as if it should be able to show
1024 x 768 but it does not while in the old version that whole section is not there so how does that works?

What am I suppose to change here?
Can I just delete that whole thing??
okay I could rename it and make a copy that lacks it and see what happens?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:59    Post subject:  

oops this part

#Option "metamodes" "1024x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_0

does have a # in front of it so I could test and edit that one and
restart Xorg?

Edit

Haha that did not help but I did solve it by doing this.

I renamed the current xorg.conf to xorg-1024x600.conf
and renamed the old one from april 2011 to xorg.conf
and then restarted Xorg and it defaulted to 800 x 600
but I ran personal settings and now I have 1024 x 768 again.

So now I should save that pupsave file and mark it by this date
and that it has xorg.conf with 1024 x 768

A treasure.

Karl much appreciated you told me about that xorg.conf
Without you I would have been lost!

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 19:13    Post subject:  

Dependent on the kernel configuration and the kernel drivers loaded , Xorg behaves a little unexpected .

Also if you try some of these user-space xorg-server-drivers from graphics-high.pet , things might worsen .

Xorg source is actually not that large , around 4-6 MB.tar.bz2 , but after compiling the directory is more than 300 MB large .

Xorg later than Puppy-4 "1-3-0" seem to need mesa-gl installed and this source is ~25 MB.tar.bz2 .

Anyway , harhave detit brabrave - ellersor tilto lyckeluck nooby ! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 04:28    Post subject:  

While I am it . Maybe this is the solution to those Puppy distros that
refuse to accept to show 1024 x 768 on external screens on my computer.

One simply compare the xorg-conf with a puppy that does show it
and then rename the unwilling xorg.conf and replace it with one that does
allow it to be shown Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0749s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]