Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 02:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
maxima lisp error
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
jomazq

Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 00:06    Post subject:  maxima lisp error
Subject description: console displays error - gui crashes when asked to calc
 

after installing and enjoying mathomatic and yacas, i thought i'd try something with a gui. should i re download the pets? or is there something else to do ?
maxima return on input.jpg
Description  i don't know what to do when 'help' and 'man' fails me...
jpg

 Download 
Filename  maxima return on input.jpg 
Filesize  85.8 KB 
Downloaded  299 Time(s) 
maxima_error.jpg
Description  maxima reports a lisp error
jpg

 Download 
Filename  maxima_error.jpg 
Filesize  89.51 KB 
Downloaded  290 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 616
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 03:29    Post subject: maxima  

Which puppy version are you using?
EDIT: Oh I saw from the screenshots its Pupeee ...

The package for maxima (with wxmaxima GUI) were made and tested in Puppy 431. It is not guaranteed that they work in newer puppy versions.

if I recall correctly I needed the following pets for maxima
gcl-2.6.7-i486.pet
maxima-5.2.0-i486.pet
wxGTK-2.8.9-unicode.pet
wxMaxima-0.8.2-i386.pet


I have them at
http://boxen.math.washington.edu/home/emil/MathSoftware/Puppy4/Maxima/

The packages for Puppy 5 series might need an update.

maxima is also contained in every sage package. If you install sage and do
sage -sh
you will call a sage subshell.
from there you can start maxima with
maxima
I have not tried to install a maxima gui into the sage subshell yet, but it should be possible.
Cool emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jomazq

Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 10:54    Post subject:  

thanks for the clue emil Very Happy

i really appreciate all the stuff you've put together. i'd like to get around to doing that stuff for puppy - as it's been so kind to me.

kept me going in school when my hdd failed. i literally haven't had the money to replace a simple 2.5 inch hdd - and i've been able to write papers and take notes all along. and play freecell Very Happy

in any case if i'm running a newer and or different puppeee 4.4RC2 should i just try and make each of the pets? maybe just the lisp package?

i will take a run at the sage package, and see if that works..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 616
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 17:27    Post subject:  

Have you tried to run gcl from the commandline?
Does it work?

If gcl doesn't work It might pay off to try to compile a version for your pupeee
(use ./configure --enable-ansi)

Installing the full sage package is a bit heavy,
There is a version I compiled for Puppy 431:
http://boxen.math.washington.edu/home/emil/SageSFS/sage431_latex.sfs
(400 MB!) There is a fair chance that it works in Pupeee.

If that doesn't work, you have to compile the package, but the build scripts are very good, usually it works out smooth in puppy - probably you will need to install gfortran.

good luck, maybe you keep us posted if you have success!
Cool emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 616
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2011, 10:50    Post subject:  

@jomazq,

I advised you to try to recompile gcl - well, I tried to do this for the new slacko RC, but it proofed to be rather difficult and I had to solve some unusual obstacles. Sorry for sending you on such a difficult mission.

If you are still interested in this topic here is the link to the compiling section where I posted package and build script.

After having gcl I try to get maxima working in slacko RC
Cool Take care, emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0487s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]