Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 16:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko B5
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 17 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5473
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 13:46    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Laughing

There is only one argument to settle.

In the 2.6.39.4-smp version should I use xz compression (slower to decompress, smaller iso, 111M) or gz compression (faster decompression, larger iso, 124M)???

In my testing, the xz loads to 224M RAM (that's 256 with 32 for shared graphics) where as gz keeps the cd mounted. It should be ok though with 256 of dedicated RAM.

Thoughts?

I agree. If the speed difference is slower boot time. No issue.
If speed difference is actual speed of operation when running Puppy and programs, a faster running Puppy should be the choice.
Seems you are hitting the 256MB minimum memory support question.
Support computer older hardware or newer hardware capabilities?
Question?
Does the save file also get loaded all in ram or does it stay on storage device and get accessed and loaded as needed? Is it also compressed?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 14:43    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Actually, my vote is with gz too, I reckon jades would see the difference on the old K6.


At present that machine's quite flaky due to a suspect PSU but thanks for thinking of it anyway! Smile My main testing of Beta 5 has been on the Pentium D machine although, on the rare occasions that I could get the K6 started, Beta 5 seemed to work OK on the latter and that i486 FFMPEG pet you did allowed it to play MP3s from GNOME MPlayer.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 14:45    Post_subject:  

+1 for gz
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 14:54    Post_subject: Re: Working!!!!  

sszindian wrote:
Now only one slight problem... sr1 (main HDD) Icon isn't showing up on the desktop?


Probably caused by changing screen resolution. Try this:-

Run Menu -> System -> Puppy Event Manager.

Click on the Desktop Icons tab.

Tick the box next to 'Tick box to erase then redraw and realign existing icons.'

Hit 'OK'.

Menu -> Shutdown -> Restart X Server.

Your drive icons should now all appear in a neat row.

HTH!

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 15:07    Post_subject:  

Finally got around to testing Slacko B5. First impressions: not a fan of the default Jwm or Gtk theme, but the desktop icons are nice.

Detected the nv driver and the soundcard correctly on my 'Desktop2'.
Added Pwidgets, Startmount, from Lucid-repo and defaults-chooser. No crashes so far.

Major issue:
Gnome Mplayer would not play .VOB files, whereas version 1.03 in Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 works

Some minor issues:
- moved the lock desktop icon to a different place on the desktop, but it came back to it's original position on restart. Tried again a few times..sometimes successfull, sometimes not.
- .mkv files will work, but won't launch defaultmediaplayer automatically when the file is clicked on from ROX-filer. I installed the pet below, which resolves the issue. Most of the additions in the pet are redundant, but I added them to be safe, just in case they weren't there in other pups.

Overall, Slacko is good. No pup is perfect. Will continue further testing..
Video-mimetypes.pet
Description  mimetypes for various video formats
pet

 Download 
Filename  Video-mimetypes.pet 
Filesize  666 Bytes 
Downloaded  244 Time(s) 

_________________
Custom Puppy Linux search page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 16:14    Post_subject:  

zigbert
Quote:
You have a Master channel, but no limits are set
Will you please test the attached Pmusic to see if it detects a better channel for the volume mixer.


Testing pmusic2.1.8-test.pet :
The volume mixer does not work. Crying or Very sad
No difference with preceding version of pmusic...
I always had the same problems with retrovol regardless of the puppy except with lucid, lupu or 3HD

Thanks for the reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 16:14    Post_subject:  

bigpup wrote:

Question?
Does the save file also get loaded all in ram or does it stay on storage device and get accessed and loaded as needed? Is it also compressed?


No, pupsaves are not compressed and only needed parts are loaded to RAM. (for running applications, daemons, startup proggys and the like)

How Puppy uses RAM depends on the pupmode, A frugal to fast media (pupmode = 12) writes directly to the pupsave. RAM is kept free from changes you make.

On slow media (flash sticks, data cards) (pupmode = 13) changes get written to RAM and saved periodically. If you have no swap and small RAM you are in danger of RAM crashes as if you download and install lots of stuff before the save is made it fills up RAM, (changes also include browser cache).

Consider this, you can have a very large save file full of stuff and it still runs just fine with 256M RAM, even on a usb stick install. Only what's needed get's loaded in RAM.

The save file is on the top layer of the stacked filesystem (AUFS or UNIONFS). It gets read first, and of course is the only place that the layered filesystem can be written.

A good read for all devs and others interested is How Puppy Works ..aged but still relevant.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 16:22    Post_subject:  

So if one installs various extra programs etc, ram usage does not greatly increase, but if one then re-masters, ram usage will increase? If so re-mastering on a machine with low ram makes no sense?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 16:59    Post_subject:  

EU-bloody-REKA!

I solved my stupid devx bug!

Alss it was is a missing symlink libpng.pc to libpng14.pc in /usr/lib/pkgconfig ... was borking gtk/gtk.h.. a major showstopper.

Yippee.. no more Frankenstein devx!

-

Dave.. depends what you add and chop out as to whether it's worth remastering for a low RAM machine.

-

In other news..

I have my new (old) lappy.. an IBM r51, centrino, radeon-mobility, 512RAM, works well but PAE is unsupported by the CPU. I left XP on it, defragged (now that's something I haven't done for years Laughing ) and split it up into an ntfs, 19G, ext3, 18G, and 1G swap. Already run grub4dos and did a frugal with universal-installer, worked fine. That gives me room to woof when I head yonder.

Haven't booted my new kernel on it yet but 2.6.37.6 runs ok, needs the flloopfix though for touchpad. That should be redundant in 2.6.39.4-smp.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 17:19    Post_subject: Slacko4.9x.7 versus siliconmotion featured Laptop?  

Hi Mick,
I'm wondering if the way followed with 4.99.7 to get X working, could be applied to 4.9x.7 ?
I indeed did a manual frugal install of 4.9x.7 om my laptop (because its dvd-reader cannot complete reading of vmlinuz and initrd.gz - yes! this happens sometimes...).
And here also X hangs up as on 4.99.7 or don't start.
So I first manually installed the xorg-charlie-indian.pet and deleted xorg.conf in the manualy created slackosave.3fs file.
Then reboot , xorgwizard starts / "Choose" whatever siliconmotion or vesa /then get the siliconmotion warning -yes/ .../ TEST_X_NOW/ and get the prompt; doing "xwin" brings «X failed to start», but no hang up.
- only choosing "Probe" brings X to hang up.
So does siliconmotion_drv_so also need being recompiled as in 4.99.7?
Now sweet dreams ....
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 18:24    Post_subject:  

hi all

just finished a standalone vlc-1.1.11 pet for slackware, (all deps and language packs included) works on both B5 and B5++ (mozilla plugin disabled) (compiled in 4.9.X.7)

please download and test to see if it is OK


https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0BwWD08HgAd2yZTkxNjk4YjctMGVkMS00MDdkLTkzMzctZjllNmRlZTJmN2Q3&hl=en_GB

cheers

don

edited to add: mick I think smokey01 is compiling the latest psip for slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 19:34    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I think smokey01 is compiling the latest psip for slacko


You bet your chicken korma they iz Very Happy
Thanks for testing stripe . . .

Just been trying 1.2-pre of Puppy Phone (Psip)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=571082#571082

and now for the off topic rant . . . Embarassed
curry is now Brit's fav food
Ideal for Ozlanders as it is traditional
to have with copious quantities of lager
or for the wimps like me, order lassi
yum - better give my lassi recipe . . .
blend chilled yogurt, milk and honey (optional banana and vanilla)
Drink after curry (not during - which just sensitizes you tongue
for more chilli burn) Twisted Evil

Puppy Linux
Round the clock development, support and lassi recipes

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 21:48    Post_subject:  

Just got a phone call.. I was going away working Sunday, brought forward to tomorrow! Rolling Eyes

Oh well .. RC is ready I'm just finalising the nvidia/radeon drivers. I could upload now but I want to test the drivers make sure they work.

Posting from RC now on the ne (old) lappy, used xz for the smp.. but it's only a 10 min job to change that.. WIll test gz see if it's better.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 22:22    Post_subject: Missing Icon!!  

sszindian wrote:
Now only one slight problem... sr1 (main HDD) Icon isn't showing up on the desktop?

Jades wrote:
Probably caused by changing screen resolution. Try this:-

Run Menu -> System -> Puppy Event Manager.

Click on the Desktop Icons tab.

Tick the box next to 'Tick box to erase then redraw and realign existing icons.'

Hit 'OK'.

Menu -> Shutdown -> Restart X Server.

Your drive icons should now all appear in a neat row.

HTH!

'Thanks jades! that did it!'

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2011, 02:54    Post_subject:  

A propos the xz, gz question, presume it's irrelevant for a FULL install? Or is it? Does gz leave behind its debris? For FULL installers, the smaller file would reach more/more easily DUN users. ipso facto, forgive the question, perhaps a much smaller .iso could be provided for FULL installers? Has anyone attempted to build a Puppy like Tiny/SliTaz with web-based apps selection? Not, that is, a basic core for experts like Pizzasgood & co. intended for a unique .iso build. Way outside BK's intent, but the breed has matured with enough worthwhile apps and knowledge base to make it worthy as a standalone FULL installation, probably with a low resource base, suitable for really old kit which seems to have a resurgence of interest amongst some correspondents.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1008s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]