Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

SAVE SESSION TO ENCRYPTED SAVE_FILE WORKS AGAIN

#241 Post by Karl Godt »

2. The save to aes heavy encrypted save-file worked .
[ would have taken me days or weeks to figure out a missing variable i guess .]

1. /usr/sbin/filemnt WORKS on both encrypted savefiles !! HURRAY !!
[ really missed that feature :D ]

ONE MINOR THINGY about /usr/sbin/filemnt
which is not only cosmetic :

due to the code checks if FILE is mounted due to a simple
if [ ! -d "$MntPt" ] ;then

::MANY TIMES (99%+) the rmdir $MntPt at the end of umount $MntPt does not succeed ,
i guess due to little time for the system to update everything .

AN ALWAYS WORKING " rmdir $MntPt " i could achieve with either both of these :

Code: Select all

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-10 12:03:10.000000000 +0800
+++ /usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-11 12:05:50.000000000 +0800
@@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   rox -D $MntPt #BK
   umount $MntPt
   Err=$?
-  rmdir $MntPt
+  #rmdir $MntPt ##KRG though umount finishes , many times rmdir thinks $MntPt still not empty
   if [ "basename $imgFile" = 'initrd' ] ;then gzip -9 $imgFile ;fi
 #  yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
 #  /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
@@ -181,5 +181,5 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   #xmessage -title " ERROR..." "  Failed mounting or unmounting.  "
   pupdialog --background red --title "ERROR" --msgbox "Failed mounting or unmounting" 0 0
  fi
-
+[ -d "$MntPt" -a "`busybox mount | grep "$MntPt"`" = "" ] && rmdir "$MntPt"
 ###END###
AT THE END || OR AT THE BEGINNING

Code: Select all

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-10 12:03:10.000000000 +0800
+++ /usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-11 13:10:08.000000000 +0800
@@ -37,7 +37,7 @@ fi
   imgFile="`pwd``echo $imgFile |sed 's/^\.//'`"
  fi
  MntPt='/mnt/'`echo "$imgFile" |sed "s#^\.##g" |sed "s#/#+#g"`
- 
+ [ -d "$MntPt" -a "`busybox mount | grep "$MntPt"`" = "" ] && rmdir "$MntPt"
 
 if [ 1 -eq 2 ] ;then	##############################################	JUMP OVER this SECTION.
 
@@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   rox -D $MntPt #BK
   umount $MntPt
   Err=$?
-  rmdir $MntPt
+  #rmdir $MntPt ##KRG though umount finishes , many times rmdir thinks $MntPt still not empty
   if [ "basename $imgFile" = 'initrd' ] ;then gzip -9 $imgFile ;fi
 #  yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
 #  /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
[ and another little play-around would be to make /usr/sbin/filemnt not X dependent :
would need several

[ "$DISPLAY" ] && yaf-splash || pupdialog
realpath $1 || readlink -e $1 ##if called with filemnt ./save-file.2fs
if [ "$DISPLAY" ] ; then
rxvt -geometry 25x3 -title "Enter password" -bg orange -e losetup-FULL -E 1 $DEVLOOP $imgFile
else
echo "Enter password :"
losetup-FULL -E 1 $DEVLOOP $imgFile
fi

END of play-around ]

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#242 Post by DaveS »

Same old Same old. Broadcom wifi of course. Racy just cant do it........ /lib/firmware/B43 missing
Added it.. fixed
Attachments
wifi.png
(30.5 KiB) Downloaded 1187 times
Last edited by DaveS on Fri 11 Nov 2011, 13:23, edited 1 time in total.
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

linuxcbon
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu 09 Aug 2007, 22:54

#243 Post by linuxcbon »

RACY 5.2.1.90

- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
- dmesg full of
[ 21.290399] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=ROX-Filer)
[ 22.693811] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=backgrounds)
[ 23.544394] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=net)
[ 23.927982] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=etc)
- quick setup scrolling too slow
- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying

ldd /usr/lib/*.so | grep found
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libau.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libcap.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libc.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libexiv2.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libgcc_s.so'
/usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so: /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so)
/usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so: /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so)
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libpthread.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/preloadable_libintl.so'

Same things as for 5.1.110

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#244 Post by Karl Godt »

linuxcbon wrote:- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying
You do not achieve much with personal judgements also
with

is it needed ?
directory is empty
inkscape not needed !

and such really not relevant remarks , except your are < a towards zero extremist > .

I like the french mentality , had worked some weeks in Poitiers , but everything in Europe changes i thing to no good .

Just remaster and you are good to go !

I like using the limited inkscapelite once a while next to mtpaint or gimp . inkscapelite actually is patched or reworked by Barry .

AND inkscapelite is based upon inkscape BUT i could only find 0.37 or later src @sourceforge .

Also abiword works OK for my purposes , never used OO or Libre Office on Puppy .

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#245 Post by Karl Godt »

linuxcbon wrote:- dmesg full of
[ 21.290399] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=ROX-Filer)
[ 22.693811] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=backgrounds)
[ 23.544394] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=net)
[ 23.927982] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=etc)
ON MY SIDE :
# dmesg | grep union | wc -l
12
# dmesg | wc -l
711
# grep UNION /etc/modules/*
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:CONFIG_UNION_FS=m
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_UNION_FS_XATTR is not set
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_UNION_FS_DEBUG is not set

SINCE DEBUG for UNION_FS is not set , 12 lines of 711 appear reasonable to me [ dc -> 1.68776 % ].

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#246 Post by Karl Godt »

linuxcbon wrote:- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
I had only a max of something over 60 on my hardware , but today
it had been the new best mark(s) of
# glxgears
704 frames in 5.0 seconds = 140.725 FPS
746 frames in 5.0 seconds = 149.082 FPS
769 frames in 5.0 seconds = 153.612 FPS

:D

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#247 Post by DaveS »

Karl Godt wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
I had only a max of something over 60 on my hardware , but today
it had been the new best mark(s) of
# glxgears
704 frames in 5.0 seconds = 140.725 FPS
746 frames in 5.0 seconds = 149.082 FPS
769 frames in 5.0 seconds = 153.612 FPS

:D
Ha Ha.. only 60 FPS on my old laptop, but that still feels snappy.
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

Jim1911
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 20:39
Location: Texas, USA

#248 Post by Jim1911 »

Frugal installation on an ext4 partition. It's working great and the problems with the Bootmanager and Shutdown that I reported on page 7 have been corrected.

Cheers,
Jim

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#249 Post by Karl Godt »

Noticed , that rox -v 2.10 apparently dos not freeze anymore opening /proc directory ( running with save-file-crypta.2fs ) . 8)

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#250 Post by rcrsn51 »

mavrothal wrote:You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks :(
I can reproduce this problem by making a simple dtkdialog3 combo box with enough entries to require a vertical scroll bar.

Importing gtkdialog3 from an older Puppy does not fix it. And neither does running it as a gtkdialog4 app.

Is this a conflict with the new gtk in Puppy/Racy 5.2?

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#251 Post by DaveS »

rcrsn51 wrote:
mavrothal wrote:You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks :(
I can reproduce this problem by making a simple dtkdialog3 combo box with enough entries to require a vertical scroll bar.

Importing gtkdialog3 from an older Puppy does not fix it. And neither does running it as a gtkdialog4 app.

Is this a conflict with the new gtk in Puppy/Racy 5.2?
Dont know, but I hate it :(
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#252 Post by Karl Godt »

# grep -m1 -E '<combobox>|<combobox ' /usr/local/*/*
/usr/local/bin/snap2: </text><combobox tooltip-text=\"Type a new settings directory name, or choose an existing one, THEN CLICK 'CHANGE'. Names must end in '.set'. Use multiple settings directories to do, for example, shapshot-type backups to more than one destination directory or host.\"><variable>newsettingsdir</variable>$cbitems<input>ls</input></combobox>
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/virtualDesknew: <combobox width-request=\"60\">
/usr/local/pburn/func: <combobox>
/usr/local/pburn/func_burn_options: <combobox>
/usr/local/pburn/func_gui:#make items for <combobox> (devices)
/usr/local/pburn/func_gui_options: <combobox>
/usr/local/peasyscan/copier: <combobox>
/usr/local/pfind/pfind: <combobox>
/usr/local/pmusic/func_trackinfo: <combobox>
/usr/local/pupradio/pupradio: <combobox width-request=\"50\">

Just a short list of apps , using the combobox tag .

I have set up 10 virtual desktops and did not recognize anything the first time , BUT now i have tested it again with looking into top output , AND YES also gtkdialog3 <combobox> maxes out the CPU !

Congratulations and Happy Birthday for converting all the many tags ...
[me thinking: had there been a real official release of Puppy linux once except the first one :) but i started to respect Puppy as a raw diamond :D ]

@rcrsn51 : please look into your app , too :: should be <comoboxtext> i think

@zigbert : dito(if you're around)

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#253 Post by Flash »

Downloaded the Racy iso and used Burniso2cd to burn it to a mini DVD-R. Booted the mini DVD which correctly autoconfigured the audio and video (except the volume was a bit low, but I was able to correct that by turning up everything I could find in Retrovol.) Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player. Of course, I couldn't say yes because there was no connection yet to the internet.

Later, after I had already opened SeaMonkey and then closed it, I used the Puppy Package Manager to install Flash and Flashblock, but SeaMonkey would not start from the desktop icon after I installed them. I eventually found two versions of SeaMonkey in /usr/lib. I clicked the latest version and SeaMonkey started, but with only Flash; Flashblock isn't in it.

Incidentally, if you like Johnny Cash, here's an excellent version of The Orange Blossom Special with which to test your audio. There's an incredible harmonica solo which begins at about 44 seconds and ascends to heaven at about a minute into the song. :)
Attachments
seamonkey after installing Flash and Flashblock from PPM.jpg
(29.07 KiB) Downloaded 961 times

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#254 Post by jim3630 »

Karl Godt wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying
You do not achieve much with personal judgements also
with

is it needed ?
directory is empty
inkscape not needed !

and such really not relevant remarks , except your are < a towards zero extremist > .
1+

gcmartin

#255 Post by gcmartin »

@Barry I like the collection. and I like the applications functionality. Further, the systems are using RAM as you intend them to.

BUT ...
FirstRun is posing a hardship on Live media users who are trying to test RACY for your preparation to General Release. Each time we restart thru the FirstRun dialogue, it is a hardship. Each time we test on a different machine to look for issues for you, it is a hardship. Our time is valuable too with family and work and ...

This is an important hardship.

Could you consider retracting it, while you replace/resolve it to avoid others getting an unpleasant taste.?

Might be the best step for the community at this time.

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

#256 Post by peebee »

Hi Barry

Pristine frugal install of racy 5.2.1.90

Quick report:

1. I see the very lethargic drop down menu selection in QuickSetup reported by others

2. B43 wifi is still not detected and loaded - if I copy the b43 firmware directory from /lib/modules/all-firmware to /lib/firmware AND put "modprobe b43" into rc.local then the wifi works - so all the components are there and working EXCEPT for the detection and automatic loading function.

Quick question - as the firmware directories are no longer compressed couldn't they be permanently in /lib/firmware or is there some other reason that they have to be copied?

Cheers
peebee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#257 Post by jim3630 »

frugal install of 5.2.1.90 (5.2.2 RC) to ext4
You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks :(
have same except not quite as slow.
Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player.
same here.

getting about 60fps here on newer dual core intel. it maintains that 60 even with full open screen it's smooth and looks good.

no sound problems noted as did in prior.
Attachments
sys-info-111111.gz
(10.46 KiB) Downloaded 490 times

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#258 Post by DaveS »

peebee wrote:Hi Barry

Pristine frugal install of racy 5.2.1.90

Quick report:

1. I see the very lethargic drop down menu selection in QuickSetup reported by others

2. B43 wifi is still not detected and loaded - if I copy the b43 firmware directory from /lib/modules/all-firmware to /lib/firmware AND put "modprobe b43" into rc.local then the wifi works - so all the components are there and working EXCEPT for the detection and automatic loading function.



Quick question - as the firmware directories are no longer compressed couldn't they be permanently in /lib/firmware or is there some other reason that they have to be copied?

Cheers
peebee
I only had to copy B43, no need for modprobe, then it worked.
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#259 Post by Karl Godt »

OK , some sed gymnastics seems to be capable to batch rename combobox to comboboxtext

# for i in /usr/local/*/* ; do echo $i; sed -i 's#combobox#comoboxtext#g' $i; sleep 1s; done

# for i in /usr/local/*/* ; do echo $i; sed -i 's#comboboxtexttext#comboboxtext#g' $i; sleep 1s; done
[edit some hours later .. always these typos (see underscored b :) ) ]
BUT WATCH OUT for Xdialog --combobox !!!
[me thinking a script to filter out Xdialog now is beyond my beer level ]

AND probably needs " sed 's#gtkdialog2#gtkdialog4#g' " AND " sed#gtkdialog3#gtkdialog4#g' , too

AND probably some <TAGS> would not work , as not recognized anymore by gtkdialog4 ....

BUT I think only an official release would show off which apps would not work anymore , cause this would need long term observation ...

[ not to mention /usr/bin && /usr/sbin [ && /usr/x11/bin ] ]
[ me thinking more beer :) ]
Last edited by Karl Godt on Sat 12 Nov 2011, 12:15, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#260 Post by James C »

For what it's worth, the gtkdialog bug doesn't appear to be affecting pemasu's latest release of Dpup Exprimo (released today).
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 472#564472

Post Reply