Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 02:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.1.10.3 SMP multicore optimized version
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 70 [1047 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 19:04    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Took some time to install all sdl stuff and other dependencies. I used Iguleders compiled sdl stuff.
The sdl-game works ok for me. No strange ball or tiles behavior. I wasnt very good, but....I dont play games. My sons do that enough, lol. Anyways the ball movements, tiles dropping was without any jerkiness or other weird...
For me the ball could have moved more slowly in fact, lol.


must be something on my end just accepting the dependencies and a reboot was all needed for it to run and running from the console showed no messages.

looks like it's cheating to me so can't hit the thing. will keep up the research.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 07:47    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu

JFYI - Dpup Exprimo 5.X.10.2 SMP multicore optimized version
is running fine on my 10yr old Acer TravelMate 243LC laptop.

Manual frugal install to ext3 sda2 and with a 800mb swap partition.
256mb ram, 2.5Ghz Celeron Proc, booting via grub4dos and wifi via
pcmcia Belkin card.

All the basic's seem to work and it is really fast.

Have not tried FFox yet as it is usually a bit of a resouce hog,
but Opera12-alpha seems to be quite stable and fast.

Will try FFox but not before running QtWeb - also normally fast and friendly.

Frisbee - for me works extremely well and is also very fast to setup - nice.

I like your puppy's very much and always look forward to seeing what
you have been doing.

Thanks again for yet another outstanding Puppy.

Very best regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 11:24    Post subject: Installation of 5.X.10.2 and 2 barks.  

pemasu wrote:
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.10.2 has been uploaded. This is bug fix release using latest 10.11 woof.

Download link: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/DpupSqueeze5X/DpupExprimo5X102SMP/
Wow, I can't turn my back for 2 minutes en there is another release. Wink

Installed the usual FRUGAL Lin'N'Win
Activated my application environment and all seem to work.
I have a single processor and this SMP version seems to work ok. Even quite snappy in e17.

The clock issue seems to be resolved. Clock indicates the correct time.
Also the bootmanager issue is solved. I can see now my 50+ sfs files in the list.

But I don't have the 2 barks anymore at boot.
In fact I had this in the 5.X.10 already, but never reported.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 15:02    Post subject:  

Missing 2 barks is catastrophe. I checked the the delayedrun script. I had hacked it wrongly. The part which checks the first run was not ended when it calls 2 barks. Now that part ends correctly and aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.au & will be executed.

The pet has been removed for re-evaluation.

Last edited by pemasu on Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 15:32    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Missing 2 barks is catastrophe. I checked the the delayedrun script. I had hacked it wrongly. The part which checks the first run was not ended when it calls 2 barks. Now that part ends correctly and aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.au & will be executed.
Happily hearing the 2 barks again. Cool
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:01    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
pemasu wrote:
Missing 2 barks is catastrophe. I checked the the delayedrun script. I had hacked it wrongly. The part which checks the first run was not ended when it calls 2 barks. Now that part ends correctly and aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.au & will be executed.
Happily hearing the 2 barks again. Cool
Ooops,
There is a side effect.
The iSystray is empty now.
After removing the hack, iSystray is ok again.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:08    Post subject:  

Ok. I will test the script in e17 so that it works right. Thanks. I remove the fix pet meanwhile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:16    Post subject:  

Ok. It seems the pet had wrong version in it, I had several delayedrun scripts open. Wrong version got in. It had couple of extra fi fi commands in it which broke the script.
Now the reuploaded delayedrun-bark-fix pet is available here.
delayedrun-bark-fix-0.0.2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  delayedrun-bark-fix-0.0.2.pet 
Filesize  5.25 KB 
Downloaded  117 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:59    Post subject:  

Great pemasu.
Working now in e17.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 01:28    Post subject: Firefox dfault  

To prevent the savefile filled up, i hope the firefox default that is the prefs.js:
Limit the cache size.
Code:
user_pref("browser.cache.disk.capacity", 4096);
user_pref("browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled", false);
user_pref("browser.cache.disk.smart_size.first_run", false);

Next to prevent a large stock of URLs in places.sqlite.
Code:
user_pref("browser.safebrowsing.enabled", false);
user_pref("browser.safebrowsing.malware.enabled", false);


See also the article, Keep your savefile slim and healthy:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62110

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 02:05    Post subject: Geany defaults  

I hope the geany default that is /root/.config/geany/geany.conf:
Code:
[geany]
pref_editor_default_new_encoding=UTF-8
editor_font=Monospace 13
show_linenumber_margin=true
geometry=24;24;600;420;0;
sidebar_visible=false
msgwindow_visible=false

Comments:
  • UTF-8 is requiered to save non-asci characters. It is harmless for asci.
  • Monospace 14 font cannot show underbar(_). Monospace 13 is OK.
  • I like to show the line number.
  • The geometry above is for 640x480 screen. It may be larger for 800x600 screen.

Well, we need to consider the tools section too? I am not sure but for an example:
Code:
[tools]
make_cmd=/usr/bin/make
term_cmd=/usr/bin/xterm -e bash -c
browser_cmd=/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
print_cmd=/usr/bin/lpr %f
grep_cmd=/bin/grep

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 10:19    Post subject:  

Shinobar:
Here is what I have had in Snow Puppies, Polarpuppies:
Code:
[tools]
make_cmd=/usr/bin/make
term_cmd=/usr/bin/xterm -e bash -c
browser_cmd=/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
print_cmd=/usr/bin/lpr %f
grep_cmd=/bin/grep


Looks same what you have suggested. I have updated that section in geany.conf.

I also updated your other suggestions. Some of them was already like you suggested. Reasonable suggestions. Geometry for example was too large in my geany.conf.

About Firefox. If there is possiblility to include those defaults to the /usr/lib/firefox folder as system wide defaults, that would be great. To create /root/.mozilla/firefox/xxxxx.default folder means several Mb`s of extra weight. Not reasonable if person wants to use other browser. Then...why would include Firefox to the build could be counterargument. No comments to that. It was my choice.
I have included FireFtp and Flashblock as system wide .xpi extensions. Not by using /root/.mozilla/firefox/xxxxx.default folder.

I checked your thread about Firefox tuning to preserve savefile. Great suggestions. I wholeheartedly agree with them. I usually just delete /root/.mozilla/firefox and start from fresh board again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Warrior522

Joined: 03 Aug 2010
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 13:09    Post subject:  

Me again:

I've been trying to use Blender for a bit now, but it seems that the window size control hotkey (alt-right click) is overriding the hotkey command in the program. Is there any way to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 16:36    Post subject:  

Warrior522. Exprimo ships with 2 window managers.
I presume you mean e17 - enlightenment.
Left click desktop > settings > settings panel > input > mouse buttons > search right click + alt, delete that key binding > apply > close. Done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eldes


Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 8
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 17:42    Post subject: Excelent Job  

Excelent Job Pemasu. I congrats you for your work in that.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 70 [1047 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1010s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]