Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 20:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Need help installing pup on old IBM laptop(solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 11 [151 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 00:05    Post subject:  

Crying or Very sad not quite yet
okso I got everything done with no misstypes but I get a "bad command or file name for the bootgrub/grub exe config file...... I think I know..the line reads C: \bootgrub\grub. exe well if the "c" is the drive and bootgrub is the folder on the drive then the command should read c:\puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe because the "bootgrub is in the folder "puppy"
and now for the bad news I can't get back into windows to take bootgrub out of the puppy folder the set up log freezes

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 00:23    Post subject:  

Reboot the Thinkpad. While it's rebooting, keep tapping, about three times every two seconds, the F8 key. This will bring up a Microsoft Windows 95 Startup Menu. One of the choices on it is "Safe mode command prompt only." Choose this. This will bring you to a C:\> or C:> prompt. Issue the command

edit c:\autoexec.bat

and you can change the line to read puppy\bootgrub instead of bootgrub.

To save go Alt File Save and then Alt File Exit.

Reboot.

If that doesn't succeed in booting Puppy, then do the F8 bootup again and choose

Step-by-step confirmation.

This allows you to step through the bootup process, one line at a time, and watch carefully for error messages. You can see this way which line sends things off into space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 00:38    Post subject:  

I got "can not run in protected mode must run in real mode"
the I have a " c:\>" promp

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 00:54    Post subject:  

pelokwin wrote:
I got "can not run in protected mode must run in real mode"
the I have a " c:\>" promp


You mean, grub.exe started and you got that message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 01:15    Post subject:  

no, this is what it said
C:\>ECHO Welcome to the pup Pelokwin
Welocome to the pup Pelokwin

C:.PAUSE
Press any key to continue...

C:\>break on

C:\>C:Puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe --config-file=(hd0,0)/bootgrub/menu. lst

cannot run in protected mode. must run in real mode

c:\>goto theend

C:\>rem end of pelokwin's c:\autoexec.bat modified by Sit Heel Speak

c:\>
c:\>
c:\>

c:\>

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 01:20    Post subject:  

Ah. You only changed "bootgrub" to "puppy\bootgrub" once. You also need to add "puppy" in front of "bootgrub/menu.lst" as well.

At the C:\> prompt, issue the command

edit autoexec.bat

and change the line to

C:\Puppy\bootgrub\grub.exe --config-file=(hd0,0)/puppy/bootgrub/menu.lst

Alt-File-Save and try rebooting with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 01:43    Post subject:  

no luck it still says can't run in proteced mode
_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 01:51    Post subject:  

I am beginning to suspect that the drive is still compressed. When we were done last night, did you turn it off? If so, then when you restarted today the first time, before we changed msdos.sys and config.sys to stop the loading of DriveSpace, ...Windows may have remounted the compressed volume, and we indeed may still be inside it.

Try issuing the command

mem /c /p

and see if DRVSPACE appears in the top part, which lists the loaded drivers.

Does it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 02:01    Post subject:  

no nothing about drivespace at all
It gives "modules" using under 1mb of memory
MSDOS, HIMEM, EMM386, IFSHLP, ANSI, COMMAND....AND MEMORY SUMMARY convential, upper, reserved, extended (xms)

and a "press any key" to go on prompt

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 02:11    Post subject:  

OK, then we did succeed in exorcizing the DriveSpace devil. There is something else wrong, something wrong with grub.exe.

Below is my own subdirectory listing, the one where grub.exe is.

Issue the command (EDITED to make it easier on your eyes)

dir c:\puppy\bootgrub /on /p

(hit the enter key if you need to scroll the screen)

and tell me if your grub directory looks similar to mine (except, yours won't contain vmlinuz and image.gz):
Sit Heel Speak's grub.exe DOS directory.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.4 KB
 Viewed   675 Time(s)

Sit Heel Speak's grub.exe DOS directory.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 02:25    Post subject:  

volume in drive c has no label
volume serial number is 1625-0ef3
Directory of C:\PUPPY\BOOTGRUB
. <DIR> 04-19-06 5:04A
.. <DIR> "same as above"
GRUB EXE 105,482 04-11-06 11:26P
MENU LST 201 04-19-06 10:39P
2 files 105,683 bytes
2 dir(s) 1,250,525,184 bytes free
C:\>
that is all it say's

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 02:37    Post subject:  

I think we're closing in on the problem now...

grub.exe must need some of those other files.

Reboot, don't tap F8, choose the "Windows" menu option, and tell me if Windows 95 comes up OK.

Meanwhile, I'm going out on the 'net and track down exactly where I got my "full-fledged" copy of grub from. Back in a few minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 03:03    Post subject:  

The grub I'm using is

grub_for_dos-0.4.2pre4.zip (1,218,986 bytes) (EMM386 support)

First issue the command from a DOS prompt

copy c:\puppy\bootgrub\menu.lst c:\

and then download the above zipfile from

http://grub4dos.freespaces.com/

then unzip it to a fresh new temporary directory C:\ZIPTEMP

and burn the whole directory, with its subdirectories, to CD,

then copy it onto your Thinkpad's c:\Puppy\bootgrub subdirectory, entirely.

You can do this by opening two instances of Windows Explorer, one on the CD and the other on C:\Puppy\bootgrub,

and using Ctrl-drag'n'drop,

or,

you can do it from the MS-DOS prompt, by issuing the command (if I recall, your CD is Drive DSmile

(let's say that grub.exe is in D:\grub4dos)

xcopy /s /e d:\grub4dos\*.* c:\puppy\bootgrub

and then, to restore menu.lst to how you edited it, issue the command

move c:\menu.lst c:\puppy\bootgrub

(answer the "overwrite?" question yes)

I'm going to call it a night. I'll be back here tomorrow night, 10'ish your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 03:11    Post subject:  

I will get to all that tomorow night ( I can't see straight)
thanks good night
pelokwin

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pelokwin


Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2006, 03:12    Post subject:  

I will get to all that tomorow night ( I can't see straight)
thanks good night
pelokwin

_________________
I'm just a passing thought in this world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 11 [151 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0716s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]