Need help installing pup on old IBM laptop(solved)

Booting, installing, newbie
pelokwin

Need help installing pup on old IBM laptop(solved)

#1 Post by pelokwin »

Hi I am new to the world of puppy and I am a computer dumb "a". I have a IBM Think running win.95. It has a pentium(r) with 79.0mb ram. The desktop I use is my wife and mine so I am not able to put pupy on it but it has internet and the laptop doesen't so I am working through it.
Now to my problem :cry: I wanted to put linux on my laptop and I found puppy to be the one I really want so I burned the iso, got wakepup and away I went . I got to the point when the "boot options" came up. I picked each op. and this is the next thing I saw.....rm_size is too big.. under that came"A:\> " anybody have any ideas?.......help
Pelokwin :twisted:
Last edited by pelokwin on Fri 28 Apr 2006, 06:33, edited 1 time in total.
I'm just a passing thought in this world

krumpli

Need help installing pup on old IBM laptop

#2 Post by krumpli »

Hi,
I am just as much a beginner as you.
I did a search on the forum using your "rm_size" notice. It returned no hits. So that was no help.
What version of puppy did you download/burn?
Your laptop has win95 running? What I am asking is the computer working OK when you boot up using the win95 operating system that was previously installed?
I noted that you mentioned 79mb of memory on the laptop. That to my inexperienced eyes is an unusual amount.

Assuming 79mb is correct, here is a quote from "how puppy works "take 1":
But, what if your PC has only 64M, 48M, or even only 32M RAM? Well, usr_cram.fs is not going to fit in the ramdisk. Just ball-park figures, image.gz uncompressed is about 10M, usr_cram.fs is about 50M.