Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 02:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 5.12 Beta 1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 10 [149 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 12 Sep 2011, 01:53    Post subject:  

Finally got a look at this 64bit yesterday; did Fatdog last week. Evidently, these are major undertakings still a long way from perfection! Got all the same video and additional issues as in FD, despite the cheat codes, and LH has the SiS video chipset included! Just cannot get the 1024x768 res. working properly, CTRL-ALT-BKSPCE is of limited use when used with xorgwizard. Pressing on regardless with the wrong res., discovered that FF browser was prone to crash when more than one tab opened. Hard reset required. Noticed a plethora of minor irritations that went unrecorded!
Carry on chaps - you're doing a great job...

Revisited.
Wow: took a quick peek this morning on the 939. With cheat codes, no boot, keeps pausing for 60s. With no cheatcodes, get woof woof, black screen and active right click. CTRL-ALT-BKSPCE/xorgwizard-puppy, selected modest 800x600: flashing Scrolllock+CapsLock (cf. my comments on FD64) - this is an absolutely unique 'feature' of attempts to put Puppy on 64bit: never ever seen it on any other machine from 8bit onwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 12 Sep 2011, 17:09    Post subject: Please use sys-info for bug reports
Subject description: Works from CL or in X
 

@All,
When you are able to get to CL, (command line or puppy pfix=nox) or in X (graphical mode) but things are still amiss, please run
Code:
sys-info
before restarting and attach the report /tmp/root/sys-info-yymmdd.gz to your post or a PM. Report-video, Xorg and boot logs are included in the same file. This tool is included in Lighthouse and the latest Pet is at

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60462

sys-info -q (quiet mode) won't open any windows, it just generates the reports and archives a copy with gzip for posting to the forum. They are in /tmp so will not survive a reboot unless you move them elsewhere. This documentation makes bug fixing faster and easier.

It also helps if you can focus on just one or two bugs at a time--easy does it! There are so many combinations of hardware, software and peripherals out there, we aren't going to get them all perfect, but we'll keep trying...

Thank you.

Hi GC,
Thank you for the feedback and for putting in a good word for us with BarryK. Nice to have the mention and links on his blog. That reminds me I haven't updated the lhpup.org home page with 5.12 yet. Embarassed

I've been busy updating to kernel 3.0.3 and Xorg 1.9.5 from Fatdog64-520. Was getting some file system errors from aufs so I recompiled aufs-util and so far, so good. Couldn't get acpi standby to work on my desktop, but I haven't tried that function in Fatdog 520 yet.

What I really like about the new kernel is the built-in support for xz compression with squashfs. With some changes to Pizzasgood's Edit-SFS I'm able to build both the main file and extra SFS files that are ~20-25% smaller and load into RAM even faster than before. Cool

TaZoC
sys-info-110913.gz
Description  sample report generated on Lighthouse 64 5.12
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-110913.gz 
Filesize  17.69 KB 
Downloaded  175 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Last edited by tazoc on Wed 14 Sep 2011, 00:20; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3432
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 00:35    Post subject:  

Toshiba Satellite C665 ( PSC2EA-01H00E )

First, boot with noparameters...

Get to desktop? = No.

"""

with >> lhp + parameters.

2. F2 boot with pfix=ram,vesa
Get to desktop?

No. Type xorgwizard...
see a brief Toshiba logo =no... it's not to be.

"""""""""

3. F2 boot with pfix=ram,vesa nomodeset

Get to desktop? + No.

I see a brief Toshiba logo...
but like a politician's promises,it is gone.

Type xorgwizard...why not .>> see a brief Toshiba logo.
xwin....zilch.

xwin jwm....nil

xwin openbox >> see a brief Toshiba logo >> zero

Tried xorgwizard-puppy
>> opens probe >> choose >> xvesa >>>>>Dialogue box

Probe returns 1366 x 768 x 24 or 16
OK! here we go >> Hit enter
dum dee dum...waiting = Big Fat Zero.

"""""""""

Select >> Choose

Go for Xvesa >> Enter = Sweet FA...

>> Hit >> Choose >> Intel = Zero.

ATI = Zero

Dummy= no

Smartie attempt...Choose >> xvesa >>16 bit...test = no.

Radeon...or Radeonh...no.

::::

4. F2 boot with pfix=nox.
Type xorgwizard and select vesa.

Will I get a desktop ... No...not to be.

xorgwizard-puppy = dialogue >> and xvesa fails....

xwin jwm....nil

xwin openbox >> see a brief Toshiba logo >> zero

:::::::::

Reboot.

Just 4 a laugh Try

Puppy 4.31 boots >> vesa works, but no soundcard etc

Fluppy 06
boots>> Xorg and sound work >>>
she was good..Miss Jem
No wireless...but the router blinks,

Maybe a false alert. Could just be my magnetic personality.
No need 4 Bugman or 01micko to comment.

""""""""""

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 01:58    Post subject:  

Quote:
In the end, it seems to be a bug in Lighthouse. For whatever reason, when you install lighthouse from CD ISO to a USB stick, it doesn't copy zWine-1.3.26-x86-64_512.sfs to the USB stick also. O just manually copied it over and everything works fine now.

From topic here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71616

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4361
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 14:38    Post subject:  

Don't know if anyone has noticed, but when I switch from desktop to a terminal, say, Ctrl-Alt-F2, when enough information fills the screen, my cursor is off the screen.
  1. This is confusing as a user can/would wonder where his typed commands are.
  2. Also, this presents a problem when at Shutdown, the text screen gets populated such that you see no activity from any of your keyboarding which leads one to assume that Shudown processing has locked up the system.
Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 21:19    Post subject: setfont  

Gcmartin,
I've seen that occasionally with the vesa Xorg driver, but find it hard to reproduce. What I do is type
Code:
setfont
and hit <Enter>. See if that helps when switching to vt2 or vt3.

It would be nice if we could create the save file before shutting down, but I don't know how to ensure all settings will be saved with that approach.

-TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
futurnet

Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 62
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2011, 12:12    Post subject:  

After using the LHP 503 on my old computer, I installed the 64 bit right now on my I7 laptop. I installed xfce as well as WM, All work fine except for the auto mount media on desktop. I had enabled this function in the removable disks section, but when I plug a usb stick nothing mount.
I read around something about udev rules to be setted in 4.8 version, but didn't understand so much.
Thanks for your great job Tazoc

EDIT: also the recycle bin even I have activated not show on desktop
I suspect that this version of XFCE is little buggy.
Any possibility to get the XFCE 4.6 64 bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2011, 20:27    Post subject:  

probably wont be an issue once you go to the 3.0.3 kernel. But your kernel in this release was compiled with 4.4 However you've included 4.5 in the devx.
Doesnt the 2.6 series of kernels not allow modules to be loaded that are not built from the same gcc version that the kernel was compiled with?
Might be an issue for those wanting to build kernel modules. (IE those people who want to compile the newest gfx drivers from source)


also got this error when trying to run Vbox after compiling it



and for kicks... (click for larger image)


_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 10:30    Post subject:  

Kernel modules compiling is sensitive for used gcc. It wants the same gcc version which was used during kernel compile time. Thats why compiling the distro kernel in the distro where it will be used is needed. You get troubles when you start to compile extra kernel module drivers. At least warnings, possibly non functional situations also.
Iguleder posted chroot environment guide for possible fix for that, if the distro uses kernel compiled in other distro.
The guide is in three headed dog thread recently.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=564505#564505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 16:36    Post subject:
Subject description: Problem printing
 

My HP Photosmart C-5280 appeared to install fine and shows as the default printer, however it does not print from any application that I've tried. Attached is sys-info report.

Regards,
Jim
sys-info-110918.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-110918.gz 
Filesize  9.64 KB 
Downloaded  187 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 17:03    Post subject:
Subject description: Problem printing
 

Jim1911 wrote:
My HP Photosmart C-5280 appeared to install fine and shows as the default printer, however it does not print from any application that I've tried.

What is the name of the driver PET that you used? What Lighthouse version are you using?

I just tested Lighthouse64-5.12-B1 with the hplip_print_fd64-3.11.5.pet and my HP Photosmart C4680. It worked fine. I also did a simulated test as a C5280 and it worked too.

I believe that you have this printer working OK in Fatdog with the above driver? There shouldn't be any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 23:05    Post subject:
Subject description: Problem printing
 

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
My HP Photosmart C-5280 appeared to install fine and shows as the default printer, however it does not print from any application that I've tried.

What is the name of the driver PET that you used? What Lighthouse version are you using?

I just tested Lighthouse64-5.12-B1 with the hplip_print_fd64-3.11.5.pet and my HP Photosmart C4680. It worked fine. I also did a simulated test as a C5280 and it worked too.

I believe that you have this printer working OK in Fatdog with the above driver? There shouldn't be any difference.
I used hplip_print_fd64-3.11.5.pet and I've just tried your new pets for Fatdog that you mentioned on the Slacko thread. Although, the printer appears to install fine it still will not print. See message below.
image-9.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  image-9.jpg 
Filesize  12.6 KB 
Downloaded  196 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2011, 03:53    Post subject:  

Hi Taz,
A few observations.
I tried your WM switcher - seemed OK for the most part although I did get it to fail one time while switching to LXDE. I find in LXDE I cannot change the background using either Set Wallpaper or the the Background switcher (as modified by you). Open box or Xfce will allow it.
I get this error message:
Quote:
No pinboard was in use ... the Default pinboard has been selected. Use 'Rox -p=Default' to turn it on in future

I have tried to open several old wmv video files using Xine and also with VLC. Both fail with error messages. LHP 503 was able to play these files using Xine and VLC.
Also problem with PBurn - didn't recognize the DVD I inserted as a valid blank medium - switched back to LHP503 and PBurn works OK and burns the DVD image.

My next challenge - get CF working with either Xfce or LXDE.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2011, 20:31    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
probably wont be an issue once you go to the 3.0.3 kernel. But your kernel in this release was compiled with 4.4 However you've included 4.5 in the devx.
Doesnt the 2.6 series of kernels not allow modules to be loaded that are not built from the same gcc version that the kernel was compiled with?
I understand that's true, though I haven't seen any gcc errors myself when compiling modules with the mismatched kernel. However I did recompile Kirk's 3.0.3 kernel, same .config but against the newer gcc 4.5.2 over the weekend. Unfortunately I'm getting a few file system "file too large" errors even after recompiling the patched kernel, aufs3, aufs-utils and the rest of the kernel modules. The files affected are always in an extra SFS, vary with each reboot and all are under 1M. Accessing the files directly shows no error, only via the unioned fs. I have none of those errors in 5.12 B1... Confused
Quote:
also got this error when trying to run Vbox after compiling it
Might just need to make symlink from /usr/X11R7/lib64/libGL.so.1 to /usr/lib64/libGL.so.1.
Barburo wrote:
Hi Taz,
A few observations.
I tried your WM switcher - seemed OK for the most part although I did get it to fail one time while switching to LXDE. I find in LXDE I cannot change the background using either Set Wallpaper or the the Background switcher (as modified by you). Open box or Xfce will allow it.
I get this error message:No pinboard was in use ... the Default pinboard has been selected. Use 'Rox -p=Default' to turn it on in future
Yes, LXDE uses PCManFM instead of Rox to draw the desktop. Just right-click on the desktop -> Preferences to set the LXDE background.
Quote:
I have tried to open several old wmv video files using Xine and also with VLC. Both fail with error messages. LHP 503 was able to play these files using Xine and VLC.
By default, Xine runs as spot, so it cannot read files owned by root unless they have world read permission. So either use xine (as root) instead of xine.sh (Menu -> Setup -> Default-Programs-Chooser) or run something like
Code:
chmod -R g+r MyVideos
chgrp -R spot MyVideos
assuming MyVideos is the directory containing the videos.
Quote:
Also problem with PBurn - didn't recognize the DVD I inserted as a valid blank medium - switched back to LHP503 and PBurn works OK and burns the DVD image.
I haven't tried burning yet but it recognized a DVD here. I will do some testing on that from pfix=ram, in case the add-ons I have installed make a difference.
-TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2011, 20:57    Post subject:  

@jim1911: I can confirm your problem after I tried to print something more complicated than "hello world". I also got the "Bad %% banding box: comment seen" error.

What application were you printing from? My test was in Firefox.

Can you please confirm that the exact same print job works in Fatdog?

@tazoc: It appears that our fix for the GTK print backend is not as robust as we thought. You will either have to revert to the original GTK in Fatdog or compile the new GTK against CUPS.

[Edit] I did some more tests and couldn't get the error to happen again. I need to know the exact page that jim is printing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 10 [149 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1289s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0170s) ][ GZIP on ]