Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 21:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Anyone know how to use ddrescue [NOT dd_rescue]?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3478
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 14:57    Post subject:  Anyone know how to use ddrescue [NOT dd_rescue]?
Subject description: Attempting to recover files from an 750GB external HDD with [I'm guessing] bad-blocks.
 

So far:

1. Used Lupu-526->Xfe to copy all folders/files...
Except:
46 files that wouldn't copy...
Such attempts [to copy the files that won't] caused Puppy to freeze...
When I'd then Ctrl+Alt+backspace, and command a reboot, then only switching off the bad HDD would cause the reboot to proceed.
Then I'd proceed until hitting the next bad file.
Both partitions [source & destination] were/are NTFS.

2. Bought a new blank 1TB external HDD.
Hoping to use ddrescue to attempt to clone the bad 750GB HDD to the good 1TB HDD.

3. Would then like to attempt to return the 750GB HDD to a functional state.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3478
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2011, 09:28    Post subject:  

I'm no expert, so I may report incorrectly. Sad

1. ddrescue is recovering content from the bad HDD as I type this.

2. Already completed:
(a) First step was to connect both the [USB-2.0 connected] source and destination drives.
The partition on the bad source drive was left unmounted.
The new destination drive has no partition, therefore doesn't appear on the desktop, but does show in GParted.
Source = 750GB.
Destination = 1TB.

(b) Then the following command was entered at the prompt in a terminal window:
ddrescue -f -n /dev/sdc /dev/sdd logfile
This is designed to recover only the non-problem areas of the source HDD...
And mark the problem areas, and record those in the logfile so ddrescue will attempt to recover those regions in further scans.
It took 3 hours to complete that scan...
Only 84078kB was rescued.
4 errors = total 750GB reported [all of the HDD!]

3. Second step was to run the following command:
ddrescue -d -f -r3 /dev/sdc /dev/sdd logfile
This attempts to recover from the regions marked as problem areas, and recorded in the logfile.
Periodically, the problem HDD has been causing the ddrescue scan to freeaze...
But when I repeat this command, the scan and recovery continues from the point of interruption.

4. Below is shown a screenshot of the present display with ddrescue frozen:
Note the read rate is zero.
This is much higher when ddrescue is working normally.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.11 KB
 Viewed   1613 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3478
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 06:13    Post subject:  

On the final runup to completion of cloning.

About 14 hrs to go from the time that screenshot was taken.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.67 KB
 Viewed   1590 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3478
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 16:29    Post subject:  

Cloning attempt now completed.

47616 Bytes couldn't be recovered.

750156 MB were successfully recovered ["Rescued"].

There were 93 errors.

It really slowed down at the last, as it attempted to recover the worst blocks.
It succeeded with a few of those, and failed with the remainder.
All this after 3 retries.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.88 KB
 Viewed   1554 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3478
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 04:27    Post subject:  

For information on how to use ddrescue:
See...
GNU ddrescue Manual

Particularly useful is...
6 A small tutorial with examples
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yippydu

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 16 May 2014, 02:17    Post subject: ddrecue  

Hi , a couple of questions 1) is ddrescue part of Puppy Linux? If not how do I add it to the iso so I can use it on a windows machine ?
thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3478
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 May 2014, 05:28    Post subject:  

1. "is ddrescue part of Puppy Linux?"
a. Some Puppies have it natively included, and some do not.
Here in Slacko [I'm running version 5.5.91]...
ddrescue is included.
Cannot remember if it was natively included; probably was.
But even if it wasn't, it is available in the "Puppy Package Manager" [PPM] for download and install.

b. If you made the latest slacko "live" CD [RW is good]...
And if it booted OK on the hardware in question...
When you get to the desktop, run a console window, and enter the command ddrescue.
If it runs it's included [most likely will be].
If it isn't included, then...

c. Install the Puppy to a Flash Drive as a "Frugal Install"...
How To Do A USB Install Of Puppy Linux Slacko...
Then run it from the flash drive, and install ddrescue, and make sure that change has been saved as follows:

d. Either click the "Save..." icon on the desktop, and/or reboot and look for notification at shutdown/reboot that the session is being saved.
Once back to the dektop [and in all subsequent sessions where you use that pupsave file], ddrescue should run when you enter the command in a console.

e. A way to check whether ddrescue is available to be run:
Begin typing the command/program name, but don't complete it...
e.g. ddr, [or ddres, or ddrescu, or whatever] and hit [tab]...
If the command is available/installed, the full command name will be listed...
It may be the only command listed, or there may be some more commands listed that also begin with the characters used.

2. "how do I add it to the iso so I can use it on a windows machine ?"
a. I'd advise against attempting to remaster a Puppy if you are a Puppy beginner.
Use a Puppy that has it natively included. [The best option]
Or....

b. Install to a Flash Drive as in 1c & 1d above.
Is the PC able to boot USB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0594s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]