Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 05:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-520RC2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2011, 09:48    Post subject: Scribus  

Hi,

just installed scribus from package manager.

libQtGui.so.4 => not found
libQtXml.so.4 => not found
libQtNetwork.so.4 => not found
libQtCore.so.4 => not found
libpython2.6.so.1.0 => not found

Anyone know where these libs can be found?

Regards Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2011, 17:31    Post subject:  

Hi tony,
The first four - install qt4 from PPM.
The last one - install python also from PPM.
cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2011, 20:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hi tony,
The first four - install qt4 from PPM.
The last one - install python also from PPM.
cheers!


And reboot Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 08:49    Post subject:  

Hi kirk and jamesbond,

Thanks for the info, scribus is now up and running.

I'm getting to like this 64 bit pup, no problems on my thinkpad T61.

Hope we do not overwork you.

Regards Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 02:13    Post subject:  

First, I went ahead and did a frugal install of RC2 on the dual-core reported on the first page of the thread.... been working fine and no real problems to speak of.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=555992#555992
Second,RC2 live multi-session dvd on a different box.Same result,everything working on initial boot and nothing really bad to report yet.Looks good.

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 3796MB (288MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.50
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat 03 Sep 2011 01:24:44 AM GMT+5
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Software Rasterizer
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter : PC-Speaker - pcsp


-Version-
Kernel : Linux 3.0.3 (x86_64)
Version : #1 SMP Thu Aug 18 22:58:50 GMT+5 2011
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.11.1 (stable)
Distribution : Puppy Linux 0.50
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 16:50    Post subject: AMD-APU Processors Socket FM1  

Tried to install on a new barebones system for my nephew. Seemed to load properly but went black screen. so I a cannot get or give anymore information. Regular puppy versions tend to lock up shortly after starting to use them. Sad

The kit came with 8 gig of memory. Windows7 - 64 works perfectly but they would like to have puppy back.

Is the problem that Fdog automatically selects video properties therefore not allowing repair is selction is wrong?

Anybody having similar issues with the new AMD processor? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 17:20    Post subject: Calibre Ebook Software  

Tried to install Calibre in Fatdog and got the following message in terminal. I have installed the python pet required to install it in puppy 5.2.8.

I do have the devx.sfs installed. Fdog otherwise is working well.

Thanks
Calibre screen.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Calibre screen.png 
Filesize  260.46 KB 
Downloaded  200 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 17:34    Post subject: Re: Desktop Recorder help  

jamesbond wrote:
... Gcmartin, not that's not a font problem, more like incorrect configuration of pango/gtk, but I never have that kind of error before. Have you check your ISO's md5sum? ... !
Yes, the md5 and ISO match. I am running from a Live media with a single save-session. The only PET in the save session is the updated "report-video-glx" tool for reporting to this thread. I've wait for next release.

Iwait for the next release, if you feel this may be an anomaly that may be result of some hardware mis-driven by the application. Just seemed like a problem from last year.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 19:38    Post subject: Re: AMD-APU Processors Socket FM1  

Fishy wrote:
Tried to install on a new barebones system for my nephew. Seemed to load properly but went black screen. so I a cannot get or give anymore information. Regular puppy versions tend to lock up shortly after starting to use them. Sad

The kit came with 8 gig of memory. Windows7 - 64 works perfectly but they would like to have puppy back.

Is the problem that Fdog automatically selects video properties therefore not allowing repair is selction is wrong?

Anybody having similar issues with the new AMD processor? Wink

Fishy,
Try booting with "pfix=vesa". If this still fails, try booting with both "pfix=vesa" and "nomodeset".

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 19:40    Post subject: Re: Calibre Ebook Software  

Fishy wrote:
Tried to install Calibre in Fatdog and got the following message in terminal. I have installed the python pet required to install it in puppy 5.2.8.

I do have the devx.sfs installed. Fdog otherwise is working well.

Thanks

libdbus is available on Fatdog PPM.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 19:42    Post subject: Re: Desktop Recorder help  

gcmartin wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
... Gcmartin, not that's not a font problem, more like incorrect configuration of pango/gtk, but I never have that kind of error before. Have you check your ISO's md5sum? ... !
Yes, the md5 and ISO match. I am running from a Live media with a single save-session. The only PET in the save session is the updated "report-video-glx" tool for reporting to this thread. I've wait for next release.

Iwait for the next release, if you feel this may be an anomaly that may be result of some hardware mis-driven by the application. Just seemed like a problem from last year.

Hope this helps
No, this doesn't seem to be hardware problem, more like software problem. Try running abiword from terminal and see if you get any error messages that we can decipher Smile
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 20:51    Post subject: Re: Desktop Recorder help  

gcmartin wrote:
I am running from a Live media with a single save-session.

Have you tried booting with no save sessions? I cannot reproduce your problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2011, 11:03    Post subject: Jwm Bugs  

Hello

jamesbond -- this might be a bit late as I see you have the final release out but as a follow up to

Quote:
Anyway, I've compiled the latest jwm for you, it's located here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/fatdog/broken/jwm-500-x86_64.pet, if you can tell me whether this fixes most of your problem (or not), that would be good.


Still won't play that VOB but that happened under both WM anyway. Points: If I dismiss the report of "plugin failed to open" there is another error about permissions so you must be right -- is this something I could fix with the file or what? Another VOB ripped from a different disk but with the same ripper will play with no trouble.


Xine Open > File menu now works.

Mplayer GUI still freezes X. As you suggested mplayer runs from a terminal with no graphical controls.

Thanks again for all your work.

BTW is there a list anywhere of changes from RC2 to final relese so I could see if it's worth the download?

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 09:24    Post subject: Re: Jwm Bugs  

Barkingmad wrote:
Still won't play that VOB but that happened under both WM anyway. Points: If I dismiss the report of "plugin failed to open" there is another error about permissions so you must be right -- is this something I could fix with the file or what? Another VOB ripped from a different disk but with the same ripper will play with no trouble.
The permission problem is a known problem - supposed to be fixed a couple of while ago but didn't because we forgot about it Very Happy Now that we have a proper bug-tracker, we should remember better.
The fix - edit /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer, change "xine.sh" with "xine" and you're good to go.

Quote:
Xine Open > File menu now works.
Good - that's what the new jwm is for.

Quote:
Mplayer GUI still freezes X. As you suggested mplayer runs from a terminal with no graphical controls.
Didn't test this yet, so can't comment, but thanks for testing.

Quote:
BTW is there a list anywhere of changes from RC2 to final relese so I could see if it's worth the download?

Will

Major update: fotoxx (you need to see it to believe it), latest gnumeric, and jwm-500 and a few libraries, plus other fixes video/sound related fixes.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2011, 11:18    Post subject:  

Thanks James for replying.

The fix for Xine sounds easy enough I'll do that.

Quote:
BTW is there a list anywhere of changes from RC2 to final relese so I could see if it's worth the download?

Will

Major update: fotoxx (you need to see it to believe it), latest gnumeric, and jwm-500 and a few libraries, plus other fixes video/sound related fixes.


Right, that sounds worth having -- I'll have to see how I'm doing for download allowance this month though before trying it.

Thanks again for the developement.
Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0961s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]