Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 23:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy Phone - VOIP using SIP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 32 of 38 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 02:31    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ah ok.. so we need to configure our routers for the correct ports eh? What port numbers?
I guess this is why I have success with 3G but none at home through the router.


Attached is a tool that will help you figure that out.
iptraf.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  iptraf.tar.gz 
Filesize  67.23 KB 
Downloaded  190 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 03:02    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ah ok.. so we need to configure our routers for the correct ports eh? What port numbers?
I guess this is why I have success with 3G but none at home through the router.


One other odd thing I found out too was that while connected through my router and forwarding the proper ports I still had to connect to a call and disconnect a few times to get good quality for some reason, however when connected using an encrypted connection using my proxys in puppy crypt I did not have this problem as every call went through properly I'm still trying to figure out why.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 04:26    Post_subject:  

Guys I would love to have this too but the problem for me
apart from the tech side of things to set levels and ports and
routers and such

this is the problem. I never shut up I just talk to much Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 04:37    Post_subject:  

nooby the big problem on my end I think was that I am using a router that's just about brand new so there were a lot of configuration settings on it and it was set up to be pretty secure from what I was looking through, I had never really paid attention to the security settings since I run a pretty hardened OS as it is so I never worried about the router itself.
It seems most people didn't/don't have the same problems I've been having and the main setup for Psip is pretty straight forward with the registering and setting up the account and stuff. As I said all my stuff is pretty brand new (I like to have all the new toys to play with) so it seems that was most of the problem.
The biggest thing was the setting on my router sip ALG was disabled which needs to be enabled for Psip to work properly through a router if it has that option.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 05:12    Post_subject:  

I have three Dlink routers and them are named D-link 524, 624 and 615
I am sure of them is set up like yours then to compete on the market.

Them usually try to live up to the standard on the market to be able to sell.

So I thank you for the tip on to look at such if the audio act up.

Smokey told that you guys talk without you logged in.
I guess it is about that he see your IP while if you are
logged in then he see your iptel name or your ekiga name?

I mean I should join both of them then and use same
username on both? That way I can join in with anybody?

But my problem is that I talk too much and it will only end in
embarrassment for everybody. But I do long for to chat though.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 06:49    Post_subject:  

Yes we did talk for a while when I was logged out and still trying to figure out my issues, you can only see your internal IP address when not logged in in other words he saw 192.1**.1.10* which is one of my internal IP addresses. You don't really need two for here from what I've seen it seems on one account you can talk to anybody, for example on my ekiga account I can call into the iptel conference room or talk to smokey01 who is on iptel. I set up both an iptel and an ekiga account simply because I had originally chosen ekiga and thought that might be the source of my problems so I made another one with iptel which im using as my main one now. And yes if you are logged in they will only see your name and not your IP address.
For some odd reason while I was using the ekiga softphone and did not log in I tried to call smokey01 and he could see an external IP address however it was not mine but in my area which was a bit strange.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 11:56    Post_subject:  

Thanks Dpup
Is it like Gmail and their chat when I allow mmyself to be visible
and all those who are in my contact list if them allow themselves
to be visible then as soon as I switch on the power in the morning
and boot up into puppy and log on into gmail then my "contacts"
know that I am online and them can make a chat call if them so like.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 15:52    Post_subject:  

Yes
_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 16:26    Post_subject:  

Actually you bring up a good point nooby. Is there anyway to hide yourself once you are logged in or is logging out the only way?
_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 03:33    Post_subject:  

Hope I am not derailing too much now but the owner of Facebook
says that the days of Anonymity is over. Deal with it.

I hope him is wrong because if a wife is beaten by the Hubby
ans she has to find a way to get safe from him how on earth
can she do that if Facebook gives her away?

Some kind of anonymity is also required for those living in
oppressing regimes.

And if one work in a company that behave bad and one want
to tell the media about it without getting fired and branded as
a whistleblower for the rest on ones life.

okay back on topic.

I guess as soon as somebody has the range of IP for you
then them can always guess you are one of the 500 that
is up that morning. Here in Sweden the Authorities has told
the IPS to give us same IP each morning so them can follow
us around more easy so one need to force a change and then
them try to change it back. I've given up on it.

Them want us to be known. I trust it has to do with the Pirates
of Movies and Music and Books them want easy way to keep track.
So I decided to stay outside of Torrent and such.

There I go again derailing. So you guys talk over IP phone Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 05:19    Post_subject:  

For those not in the UK conference call is at the usual time
In the UK the clocks go back - so we are now on GMT (without the summertime)
Next conference call on Sunday October 30 2011 at 1200h GMT

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 16:04    Post_subject:  

Time zones explained.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-12849630

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 23:35    Post_subject:  

Sorry I did not make the conference call this week guys.
How did it go?
Next one Sunday 6th November 12:00 AM GMT

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 00:00    Post_subject:  

I tried to make it in however was unfortunately incapacitated at the time.
_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 06:50    Post_subject:  

My problem is that puppy phone just locks when the setting shall be closed
I just locks do nothing.
I will try the one in midnight sun to see if same happens
Very important info from Dpup

Quote:
The biggest thing was the setting on my router sip ALG was disabled which needs to be enabled for Psip to work properly through a router if it has that option.


I trust my Dlink 524 is set up like that too and I have forgotten how I log into that one. Too long time ago for my poor memory to remember and
I most likely wrote it down on a ad paper and throw it away later.
Not realizing anything important on it.

Old psip already installed worked good. The new shiny one I'm too stupid
on hopw to set up.

old one asked nothing about firewall it just worked while the new one
asked about firewall and I had no idea what one should answer
and when I tried to go online it just tried and tried and never managed to do it.

I will be away now for some 3 hours or so.

Thanks for all the cheer up. Nice talking to you guys.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 38 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0890s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]