Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 11:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 190 [2847 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
Insomniacno1

Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 09:10    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Insomniacno1 wrote:
Also it would be nice if wine were fully integrated in the menu, so that "Wine Programs" were there too. Right now its nowhere to be found after installing Wine and here I mean all versions up to the newest 1.3.9.xxxx.
From 3.xx on I use wine when it still was 0.9.x
Now I am at 1.3.23 and still never had a problem to find wine in the menu's of any puppy included the latest ones.
green_dome is the person who compiles wine and his latest is 1.3.25.
Winehq has announced 1.3.26, so green_dome will shortly announce it.

The Wine thread of green_dome can be easily found by searching on his name with the puppy search link in my thread.

Now for your problem, it is better to post it the users forum, as I don't think it's a lucid 5.2.8 issue.


Actually I were not kidden or mistaken about the wine, one of the users here compilled it to 1.3.9.

http://www.wuala.com/puppylinux/version2013/wine-1.3.9_v1/

and 1.3.9 has actually been available since december 2010

http://www.winehq.org/news/2010121001

My problem, as described with wine is that the "Wine Programs" menu entry never show up in Puppy. "Wine Programs" is where all your installed programs will be listed, I cant see why that has been left out. Another thing missing from the menu is "Explore Drive C:".

Well, you say its not an issue with 5.2.8, and I say it seems to be problem with all Puppy including 5.2.8 so thats why I tell the publisher of 5.2.8 that it would be nice if it were fixed in his version:)


I'm not a programmer, but I can immagine the enormous effort someone has put into it when posting his or hers Puppy version. And I can appreciate it, but if we don't tell the problems then they will not get fixed.

With kind regards

JBJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dealora

Joined: 07 Nov 2007
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 13:00    Post subject:  

wifi realtek 8187 puppy 5.2.8 found livecd mode and not found install mode?

Juan José (Spain)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5499
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 14:30    Post subject:  

dealora wrote:
wifi realtek 8187 puppy 5.2.8 found livecd mode and not found install mode?

Juan José (Spain)

What type install?
Frugal or full?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vancardboardbox

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 15:49    Post subject:  

First boot of 5.28 after install with B43 wireless, no problem. On subsequent boots, however, no wireless interface is found.

Taking a look at /lib/firmware/b43 everything looks okay. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 16:00    Post subject:  

dealora wrote:
wifi realtek 8187 puppy 5.2.8 found livecd mode and not found install mode?
Hi @Dealora.

When in LiveCD desktop, did you happen to do a SAVE-SESSION to your LiveCD?
If you did, did your PC discover the adapter on reboot?

Just curious.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 16:43    Post subject:  

vancardboardbox wrote:
First boot of 5.28 after install with B43 wireless, no problem. On subsequent boots, however, no wireless interface is found.

Taking a look at /lib/firmware/b43 everything looks okay. Any suggestions?


I have broadcom wl.ko and also "forgets" my settings on reboot. I just keep re-entering them on subsequent reboots and finally would stick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vancardboardbox

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 16:52    Post subject:  

^Its not merely forgetting my wireless settings. Puppy finds no WLAN interface after the second post-install boot, thus no wireless connectivity is possible at all.

Reloading the module does not fix, and the firmware appears fine in /lib/firmware/b43.

USB flash install, btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 17:35    Post subject:  

vancardboardbox wrote:
^Its not merely forgetting my wireless settings. Puppy finds no WLAN interface after the second post-install boot, thus no wireless connectivity is possible at all.

Reloading the module does not fix, and the firmware appears fine in /lib/firmware/b43.

USB flash install, btw.


vancardboardbox USB install can make a difference and I have little usb experience. mine is frugal manual to hdd.

What has helped me in the past is checking for competing drivers.

SNS will show which driver(s) currently loaded as will menu>system>boot manager. If found a competing driver can blacklist it with the boot manager.

To confirm a functional wifi network interface. Try this command -
Code:
ifconfig -a


To manually wake up wlan try this-
Code:
ifconfig wlan(0) or (1) up

if shows wifi network then can configure it as before.

Here is a thread on manual wifi configuration.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

playdayz hopefully will assist if you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 17:39    Post subject:  

sm 2.3lucid525.pet installed from repo and menus smudge not showing all options. will continue testing.

----
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/
sm.png
 Description   
 Filesize   44.02 KB
 Viewed   2398 Time(s)

sm.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vancardboardbox

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 18:48    Post subject:  

Thanks for replying, jim3630.

Command fails. "No such device". I should have, in my original post, included the error message that the Network Wizard throws up:

"failed to raise interface wlan0
failed command was: ifconfig wlan0 up
error returned was:
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Protocol error"

Worked fine on first boot. Wireless works fine with the OSes installed on this notebook (Windows, Mint, Fedora). I will test this USB install later this eve with a different notebook. Same wireless nic on that one, though (b43).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 19:34    Post subject:  

Insomniacno1 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Insomniacno1 wrote:
Also it would be nice if wine were fully integrated in the menu, so that "Wine Programs" were there too. Right now its nowhere to be found after installing Wine and here I mean all versions up to the newest 1.3.9.xxxx.
From 3.xx on I use wine when it still was 0.9.x
Now I am at 1.3.23 and still never had a problem to find wine in the menu's of any puppy included the latest ones.
green_dome is the person who compiles wine and his latest is 1.3.25.
Winehq has announced 1.3.26, so green_dome will shortly announce it.

The Wine thread of green_dome can be easily found by searching on his name with the puppy search link in my thread.

Now for your problem, it is better to post it the users forum, as I don't think it's a lucid 5.2.8 issue.


Actually I were not kidden or mistaken about the wine, one of the users here compilled it to 1.3.9.

http://www.wuala.com/puppylinux/version2013/wine-1.3.9_v1/

and 1.3.9 has actually been available since december 2010

http://www.winehq.org/news/2010121001

My problem, as described with wine is that the "Wine Programs" menu entry never show up in Puppy. "Wine Programs" is where all your installed programs will be listed, I cant see why that has been left out. Another thing missing from the menu is "Explore Drive C:".

Well, you say its not an issue with 5.2.8, and I say it seems to be problem with all Puppy including 5.2.8 so thats why I tell the publisher of 5.2.8 that it would be nice if it were fixed in his version:)


I'm not a programmer, but I can immagine the enormous effort someone has put into it when posting his or hers Puppy version. And I can appreciate it, but if we don't tell the problems then they will not get fixed.

With kind regards

JBJ
You probably have more experience then I have.
So good luck with your request.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 21:45    Post subject:  

vancardboardbox wrote:
Thanks for replying, jim3630.

Command fails. "No such device". I should have, in my original post, included the error message that the Network Wizard throws up:

"failed to raise interface wlan0
failed command was: ifconfig wlan0 up
error returned was:
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Protocol error"

Worked fine on first boot. Wireless works fine with the OSes installed on this notebook (Windows, Mint, Fedora). I will test this USB install later this eve with a different notebook. Same wireless nic on that one, though (b43).


vancardboardbox, thanks for showing the messages, now looks like what have seen when mixing usage of frisbee and sns or connection wizard. True?

if so, i would rename your savefile and start fresh with pfix=ram if can remember the steps to your initial successful connection would write them down for future reference. often frisbee will not suffice to acquire wifi connection but once the connection is made and sns or cw scripts fail and time out then simply rebooting and then choose frisbee it can read sns or cw scripts then rewrites them while making your connection which doesn't time out.

to tell for sure need that tar ball report which when sns fails it offers that report.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 22:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
now looks like what have seen when mixing usage of frisbee and sns or connection wizard. True?

If so, that is definitely not recommended. After installing frisbee should use frisbee exclusively. Of course can uninstall to go back to sns. That is why Frisbee is an install rather than included--they don't coexist well, as I understand it from jemimah, the creator of frisbee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 22:25    Post subject:  

Quote:

I have broadcom wl.ko and also "forgets" my settings on reboot. I just keep re-entering them on subsequent reboots and finally would stick.

Broadcom should go to tempestuous's thread.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59000
He also explained the Broadcom situation in the development thread for 5.2.7-but that will be harder to find.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69563
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 22:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
Well, you say its not an issue with 5.2.8, and I say it seems to be problem with all Puppy including 5.2.8 so thats why I tell the publisher of 5.2.8 that it would be nice if it were fixed in his version:)

Let green_dome know about your Wine preferences. IMHO, he has done an outstanding job and I am sure he will consider what you say.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1435985707&t=53675
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 190 [2847 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1107s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0174s) ][ GZIP on ]