(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Sep 2020, 11:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 16:15    Post subject:  

Instant Update 002 -> http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=579480#579480
Last edited by playdayz on Thu 03 Nov 2011, 14:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 449
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 20:30    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:


Highlights - Please test these

rerwin's enhancements and repairs to the remaster script - Menu -> Setup -> Remaster Puppy live-cd

.


I have remastered lucid-528 several times using rewin's changes in patch 08 and patch 09. Both work as he indicates in his posts.

Looks good to me

majorfoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 00:03    Post subject:  

Does anyone know how to associate a protocol (in this case mms) with a program in Firefox?

Putting a protocol handler into /root/Choices/URI works for Iron, but not for Firefox. The protocol handler is just a symlink to defaultmediaplayer, same as the link for rtsp that is already there.

The goal is to play Watch Live on this page
http://216.195.129.142/Cablecast/Public/Main.aspx?ChannelID=1

Iron will do it with this pet installed.

Thanks for any help.
mms-handler.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.4 KB
 Viewed   1860 Time(s)

mms-handler.png

mms-fix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mms-fix.pet 
Filesize  364 Bytes 
Downloaded  222 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1600
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 00:31    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:

Testing Instant Update 002 for Lucid 5.2.8

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/test03_Instant_Update-Lucid528-002.pet
.


could not close down the correct way after installing this update, even breaking out from C-A-F1>Ctrl-C to a # prompt then typing restart, poweroff or halt just restarted xwin

In the end I just had to use the big white power button

when starting again it dropped to a prompt (good, this is what it should do), so I typed restart and it shutdown and restarted properly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6735
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 01:19    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Does anyone know how to associate a protocol (in this case mms) with a program in Firefox?

Putting a protocol handler into /root/Choices/URI works for Iron, but not for Firefox. The protocol handler is just a symlink to defaultmediaplayer, same as the link for rtsp that is already there.

The goal is to play Watch Live on this page
http://216.195.129.142/Cablecast/Public/Main.aspx?ChannelID=1

Iron will do it with this pet installed.

Thanks for any help.


Try here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=446063#446063

Might at least give you an idea... Smile

EDIT:
For what it's worth,that link won't play in Firefox or Opera in Mepis 11 either.
Couldn't get it to work here but maybe you'll have better luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 03:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
Does anyone know how to associate a protocol (in this case mms) with a program in Firefox?

Found this info:
http://www.cinlug.org/node/316

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 13:48    Post subject:  

Testing Instant Update 002

All seem to be working good.
Thanks for the improvements! Very Happy

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 13:59    Post subject:  

Firefox 7.0.1

The mms-fix pet did not work for me.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 14:44    Post subject:  

playdayz,

try this link:

Firefox mms fix

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gortonc

Joined: 12 Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 17:31    Post subject: 5.2.8 mouse/keyboard wizard  

Just found what may be a bug. I use the Dvorak keyboard set up and used to use the keyboard switcher in the firewall utility in the sys-tray, but understand that that has been removed. My wife needed to use my computer and I used the mouse/keyboard wizard to switch to US international, but it did not work. It reported success, but no change even with a reboot. Any ideas?

For future reference; am I posting this in the right place?

Thanks - Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xxxlam


Joined: 28 Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Location: South East Asia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 22:57    Post subject:    

I think I should switch back to 5.2.5; it closes application unexpectedly. Anyway, nice try. More power to Puppy team. I'm looking forward for a stable version.
_________________
System.out.println("Hello, Puppies! ");
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6735
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 23:49    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Does anyone know how to associate a protocol (in this case mms) with a program in Firefox?

Putting a protocol handler into /root/Choices/URI works for Iron, but not for Firefox. The protocol handler is just a symlink to defaultmediaplayer, same as the link for rtsp that is already there.

The goal is to play Watch Live on this page
http://216.195.129.142/Cablecast/Public/Main.aspx?ChannelID=1

Iron will do it with this pet installed.

Thanks for any help.


Haven't researched as to why, but the link plays in SeaMonkey 2.3.1 in the new Wary 5.2.Naturally, Firefox 7.0.1 in Wary won't play it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4421
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 00:11    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
playdayz wrote:
Does anyone know how to associate a protocol (in this case mms) with a program in Firefox?

Putting a protocol handler into /root/Choices/URI works for Iron, but not for Firefox. The protocol handler is just a symlink to defaultmediaplayer, same as the link for rtsp that is already there.

The goal is to play Watch Live on this page
http://216.195.129.142/Cablecast/Public/Main.aspx?ChannelID=1

Iron will do it with this pet installed.

Thanks for any help.


Haven't researched as to why, but the link plays in SeaMonkey 2.3.1 in the new Wary 5.2.Naturally, Firefox 7.0.1 in Wary won't play it.



Barry includes mms in the helper apps in Seamonkeys
newer than 2.0.

Lupu-Lucid doesn't. It will take the right addition to about:config to make it work with Seamonkey or Firefox.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4421
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 01:41    Post subject:  

MMS config for Lupu 525 with Firefox 4.0

1. Type about:config in navigation bar. Enter

2. Right click-new string.

3. network.protocol-handler.app.mms

4. okay

5. /usr/local/bin/gnome-mplayer (? see edit)

6. okay

7. Right click-new boolean

8. network.protocol-handler.expose.mms

9. okay

10. false

11. close and restart browser

12. Go to Squid TV, click a chanel on the right. (small "watch" window)

13. A popup asks for a player.

14. Go to /usr/local/bin/default media player....open.

EDIT: Roadkill 13 says No. 5. should be /usr/bin/gnome-mplayer

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Last edited by rjbrewer on Sat 22 Oct 2011, 16:31; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 908
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 12:10    Post subject: Instant Update 002  

(MUCH SNIPPING)

Many thanks to all for Lucid Puppy 5.x.x

playdayz wrote:

Highlights - Please test these


I installed this update over the existing one, on my Acer Aspire One netbook AOA150, 1.6GHz

All looks OK so far. comments below

I haven't yet (or cant' ) tried:

Menu -> Setup -> Remaster Puppy live-cd
File -> Disc -> Open DVD with Menus
Menu -> Multimedia -> XineDVD
Menu -> Utility -> Pupsave Hot Backup
Pburn update to latest - Menu -> Multimedia -> Pburn
GetLibreOffice - easy install of latest Libre Office - Menu -> Documents
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1032s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0484s) ][ GZIP on ]