Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 17:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 15:25    Post subject:  

I found a problem with this Puplet.

When I tried to mount a puppy ISO file by clicking on it I got an error message.
Upon further investigation, I noticed that the same thing happens for me in many modern puplets and was wondering if anyone out there knows of the solution to get puppy to mount an ISO file by clicking on it?
mount-fail.jpg
 Description   mount fails when clicking on the ISO file
 Filesize   8.62 KB
 Viewed   1472 Time(s)

mount-fail.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 16:43    Post subject:  

runtt21 found the solution for me;

Apparently the problem is occuring because I only have 1 main partition on this computer and the ISO was on this same partition. The ISO file needs to be on a partition OTHER than /usr/mnt/home.

I don't not intend to make another partition on this hard-drive, but I copied an ISO file to a USB stick and tried mounting it from there by clicking on the file.
It work like a charm, so this problem is now solved. Smile

But it would be nice if the mounting option worked on the home drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5374
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 23:30    Post subject:  

Tman,

I can not duplicate your problem mounting ISO file.
I can put an ISO file anyplace and mount and open in Rox.
Sometimes Rox will error, but closing and restarting Rox corrects.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 02:01    Post subject:  

Playdayz,

Just a heads up, the JWM / Pupsave Hot Backup incompatibility has been resolved, and everything is smooth sailing now.

BTW, I notice that glxgears is producing about a 20% better fps than 511 with my built-in Radeon 200G and Xorg-High. Cool Lucid Puppy keeps getting better and better.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 13:13    Post subject:  

I am helping to test Slacko from now until its release. I hope you will too. Thanks.

Puppy Projects -> Slacko B5 (currently)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 15:47    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Tman,

I can not duplicate your problem mounting ISO file.
I can put an ISO file anyplace and mount and open in Rox.
Sometimes Rox will error, but closing and restarting Rox corrects.


That's wierd. Is your /mnt/home drive a Windows partition, like mine is? Or is it a linux partition?

EDIT: I just got a hunch (I am kinda psychic - either that or I am a loon). I renamed the folder where I keep my .iso files from ISO Files to ISO_Files and the mounting works. yay! Smile. So to problem is it doesn't like the the space character in the folder name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2581
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 16:48    Post subject:  

Based on the 528, ASRI Edu 300 FR is available.
- ASRI Edu Teachers 300 (237Mb) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68656
- ASRI Edu Kids Full 300 (679Mb) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47805
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1536
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 00:34    Post subject: Fix for vanishing speaker icon  

Larry,
I am attaching patch-6, which is patch-5 plus an updated ALSA wizard. The wizard now restores the speaker icon and retrovol mixer after completing its operations. The icon will still disappear while the driver update process occurs, but reappears after the final two barks. Although I have not verified this, the icon should be restored even if you abort after electing to run the wizard; as a last resort, the speaker icon can be restored by restarting the X server.

In addition, its initial message to the user, taken from wary, give the option to abort the wizard without anything being changed internally -- the shutdown of all the sound drivers.

Can those of you concerned with sound card wizard issues please try the new patch package? For best results, consider including the alsa-driver package posted here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=569075#569075

I think this is the last outstanding sound issue at this point. So, now is a good time to report any further sound problems -- or any that I have left out.
Richard
lupu528-IU001_rerwin_patch-6.pet
Description  patch-5 plus upgraded ALSA wizard
pet

 Download 
Filename  lupu528-IU001_rerwin_patch-6.pet 
Filesize  887.41 KB 
Downloaded  240 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 290
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 11:56    Post subject:  

5.2.8 is really really great now. Its getting hard to find problems.

(embarrassing sound problem resolved and post edited) Very Happy
image-1.png
Description  The weird message(for me)
png

 Download 
Filename  image-1.png 
Filesize  36.88 KB 
Downloaded  218 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2581
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 16:36    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
I get an error when launching Inkscape (installed via Quickpet).
cf. screenshot.

Hmmm. It starts for me, in Lucid 5.2.8 with the Instant Update 001 and the Super Multimedia Upgrade installed. It does throw some warnings in a terminal, but they are not the fatal bus error that you get.

I will have to experiment some more. Thanks.

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/Inkscape-0.48.0-Lucid.pet

Try this. It is from portablelinuxapps.com. However, it still throws gtk warnings when it starts, but it *seems* not to throw any when it is running. Since that is the same thing that the 0.47 pet in Quickpet does, I am not totally optimistic. Inkscape is a nasty thing to compile because it needs a whole lot of dependencies--so I gave up on that.

Thanks because in playing with this I found the solution to the gtk errors I mentioned--Ubuntu has updated the libgtk used in Lucid and with the new one -> no errors.

Oh, I'll post it in a minute Wink

->->-> libgtk-2.20.1 <-<-<-

This is an update from Ubuntu and it prevents excessive numbers of gtk warnings being thrown by inkscape (not inkscape lite). I would bet it did other good things. It should be in the next update unless testers find problems. Thanks..

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/libgtk-2.20.1-lucid528.pet
.

Hello playdayz,

Sorry for my lack of responsiveness, but I was busy with the development of ASRI Edu 300.

I tried the package Inkscape-0.48.0-Lucid.pet. It's ok, it works (but it is limited to English, I could not get him to accept french .mo).

I then added libgtk-2.20.1-lucid528.pet. Since this addition, when I launch Inkscape, I have no error message in the console.

Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 21:11    Post subject: 525 Full to 528 Upgrade?  

Has anyone done a 525 full to 528 full upgrade yet?

And are their some gotyas to deal with?

In the past the things I have done are, copy the /root to a safe place and reinstall pets/programs after upgrade, then bring back the root components and my data for what didn't work afterwards.

However this is the first time (I think) we have a 'propper' upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1536
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 22:45    Post subject: Unfounded concern - please ignore it.
Subject description: The issue applies in only a few special cases - see EDIT
 

scsijon,
Although I have not done an upgrade of a full installation, I am the person who updated the script that performs the update process. I am therefore interested in how it works for you.

scsijon wrote:
However this is the first time (I think) we have a 'propper' upgrade.
Well, we have an improved update script that cleans out obsolete files and makes some corrections. The "catch" or "gotcha" is that the old version of the updater runs when you install 528 over 525 (or other earlier lupu). The new updater gets added after everything else. because you don't want to replace it while the old version is running, which could cause it to abort.

The avoid the "catch", I created a small pre-upgrade package that installs the new updater, so the new updater is available when needed for the full upgrade. I have not reviewed that package since beginning work on 528, so need a little time to do that before adding it to this thread.

Background about the pre-upgrade package: It is associated with my package that can be used to add the "modem-modprobe" updates to any lucid pup before 527. But since that package is now part of lupu 528, I need to make the pre-upgrade package more readily available to users of 528.

To get the best results from your upgrade, please wait for me to post the pre-upgrade package after I have verified that it is up to date with what is needed for 528. It probably is, but I want to be sure.

Thanks for asking the question, so that I can do what I should have done earlier, but overlooked in my quest to get 528 right.

However, there is one thing I am concerned about that you might already know. I am not convinced that the updated versions of utilities such as pburn and pfind get placed into the new pupsave or full installation. If that is the case, things look ugly, in that you are stuck with older versions. Please tell me what you know about that.

EDIT: This is actually not a concern. It applies only to frugal installations where a "modem-modprobe" package has been installed. It is very unlikely that any lucid-pup users installed such a package, so this issue can be ignored. (Anyone who has installed such a package can get the pre-update package in the same thread where they got "modem-modprobe".)
Richard

Last edited by rerwin on Tue 04 Oct 2011, 13:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4815
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 03:46    Post subject:  

I only work with FULL installs for all the reasons expounded previously, even though Barry never intended it to run this way. I have been aware of some issues, but they have rarely got in the way of what I expect. Important data and downloads have generally not been compromised - that is the main concern. However, I would be most interested to learn about the outcome of the present deliberations. I suppose the question to ask is how the major distros contend with the Catch22 issues because they are intended to be used as FULL installations in most cases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 04:26    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
scsijon,
Although I have not done an upgrade of a full installation, I am the person who updated the script that performs the update process. I am therefore interested in how it works for you.

scsijon wrote:
However this is the first time (I think) we have a 'propper' upgrade.
Well, we have an improved update script that cleans out obsolete files and makes some corrections. The "catch" or "gotcha" is that the old version of the updater runs when you install 528 over 525 (or other earlier lupu). The new updater gets added after everything else. because you don't want to replace it while the old version is running, which could cause it to abort.

The avoid the "catch", I created a small pre-upgrade package that installs the new updater, so the new updater is available when needed for the full upgrade. I have not reviewed that package since beginning work on 528, so need a little time to do that before adding it to this thread.

Background about the pre-upgrade package: It is associated with my package that can be used to add the "modem-modprobe" updates to any lucid pup before 527. But since that package is now part of lupu 528, I need to make the pre-upgrade package more readily available to users of 528.

To get the best results from your upgrade, please wait for me to post the pre-upgrade package after I have verified that it is up to date with what is needed for 528. It probably is, but I want to be sure.

Thanks for asking the question, so that I can do what I should have done earlier, but overlooked in my quest to get 528 right.

However, there is one thing I am concerned about that you might already know. I am not convinced that the updated versions of utilities such as pburn and pfind get placed into the new pupsave or full installation. If that is the case, things look ugly, in that you are stuck with older versions. Please tell me what you know about that.
Richard


OK Richard,

I do use pfind and have found it updated as long as there are no extraneous devices mounted OR rox was used to mount partitions, the console mount and unmount commands seem to work ok. Currently I have Pfind version 421 in my 525 according to the .pfind config file (couldn't see anywhere else to find it).
Pburn is version 334, I haven't use it yet as my sat workstation has only just got a writer installed, cost $1 down the local tip's swap shed and it's even dual layer with Lightscribe, a 'steal', reads a lot faster than my old 8X dvd reader too Very Happy .
Hope these are still right for 525 as I have done a 'few' pets since.

I shall await your pre-updater. Then I shall have a go the following weekend, use my full puppy documentation process rather than the shortened one I usually use for updates, just in case, and post results with comments the following week. Maybe this time I will also pre-copy the whole partition to my backup drive, there is too much to copy to a stick or burn a dvd across the e'net this time, just in case either the result of the upgrade is unworkable or will be too time consuming to deal with!

I do wish one of our 'senior' programming guru's would consider taking on the project of splitting installed apps/pet's into a separate prenamed/automounted sfs for what is not in /root. Not as easy task as you would think as there are many hidden links, paths and the like to deal with!

@sage and others,
I use full installs, when I am happy that the frugal release is bedded down to 'my' satisfaction. These are also used for my developing and long term systems after trying the combination of apps and utilities I work with on a daily basis. I also find they seem to run faster than frugals on most of my workstations, none of which is less than four years old.

regards
scsijon
edits, damn typsos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1536
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 12:53    Post subject:  

scsijon,
Good news! My concerns about the pre-upgrade package apply only to frugal installations where a "modem-modprobe" package has been installed and where the new puppy is older than lupu 527. For full installations, the entire new version of puppy is copied into the installation before the rc.update script is run. So the new version is used.

Regarding the puppy applications: If you have installed any dot-pet packages that upgrade puppy components or bundled applications, I suggest uninstalling them before upgrading lupu, unless you know you prefer your version over that in 528. Say, if you upgraded pfind, the puppy installer has a record of that, which probably remains after a puppy upgrade. Uninstalling the added pfind would remove that record, but it would also delete pfind itself, which is OK if you do the upgrade before trying to use it. Without the uninstallation, the installer will still use the new puppy version of pfind if it is timestamped as newer than the dot-pet version. Another risk is that an updated app might delete or change the name of one of its files; without uninstallation, the old file will be left behind.

So, feel free to continue with your upgrade of the full installation. And frugal installations, as well (except for the case explained in the edit to my previous message).
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1328s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0238s) ][ GZIP on ]