Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 20:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 189 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 187, 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
pcpunk

Joined: 19 Jun 2014
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2014, 11:46    Post_subject:  

I have been asking questions to get myself acquainted with what exactly it is that I need to have a LiveUSB puppy distro. I already have Lupu 5.2.8 something and recently had an issue with Chromium not getting IheartRadio and some Photobucket issues. I was having the same issues with LMMQ17 and just uninstalled Google Chrome and reinstalled and all worked fine after that. We believe that he issue was a bad wireless internet connection. Now I cannot get a browser to download from anywhere in Lupu. One member suggested that the Repository was not working the last couple of days. I was also notified and read that I could only use Firefox and Seamonkey?

I was also told that this distro was not supported anymore, is this true?

Is there a better option for me with LiveUSB? Precise, Slacko etc. I can't even find system requirements for these distro's.
Finally I feel like I am in the right place for this info. anyhow? If I am not then just send me away lol. see ya!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2014, 22:03    Post_subject:  

pcpunk,

I gave you some info about this in your post in Beginners Help.

Lucid Puppy repositories are being worked on to correct download problems.
Hopefully they will be fixed soon.

Seem to be working now.



Lucid 5.2.8 is not the latest version of Lucid Puppy, but that does not make it unusable or not supported.
Some hardware can not handle newer stuff.

Latest Lucid Puppy 5.2.8.6 is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90461

Puppy is not like Windows.
"We have a new version, so you need to throw away your computer and buy a new one".

The older versions of Puppy are needed by some peoples hardware, so they still get support.

Be more concerned with what works not that it is the latest and greatest.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2014, 23:05    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I was also notified and read that I could only use Firefox and Seamonkey?

Some truth to this, but more to do with the version of the other browsers.
The newest versions of some browsers have minimum hardware/software requirements.

Chromium V20 seems to work OK for me.

Could not use Chromium V25.

Downloaded and installed using Quickpet a few minutes ago.

Probably not going to use it.
I do not like Google spying on me and what I do on the Internet.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lil_humpers

Joined: 21 Jul 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2014, 14:55    Post_subject:  

Could not use Chromium V25.

Downloaded and installed using Quickpet a few minutes ago.

Probably not going to use it.
I do not like Google spying on me and what I do on the Internet.[/quote]

LH- I'm using Sulu Lupu 5286 002 and Chromium 25 works just fine but was installed ontop of Chromium 20 Lucid. Also slimboat 1.1.5 but only after using slimboat 1.1.4.3 Lucid pet. Pale Moon installs but doesn't not create an entry in the PPM to be able to unintall and it has a few quirks but usable. PM will not allow saving settings.

I also have Smplayer 14.3 and Stube 2.1 installed and working with qt 4.80 from saluki pets
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pcpunk

Joined: 19 Jun 2014
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2014, 20:21    Post_subject: chris
Sub_title: lucid puppy 5.2.8.6
 

bigpup wrote:
pcpunk,

I gave you some info about this in your post in Beginners Help.

Lucid Puppy repositories are being worked on to correct download problems.
Hopefully they will be fixed soon.

Seem to be working now.



Lucid 5.2.8 is not the latest version of Lucid Puppy, but that does not make it unusable or not supported.
Some hardware can not handle newer stuff.

Latest Lucid Puppy 5.2.8.6 is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90461

Puppy is not like Windows.
"We have a new version, so you need to throw away your computer and buy a new one".

The older versions of Puppy are needed by some peoples hardware, so they still get support.

Be more concerned with what works not that it is the latest and greatest.


Yes I remember this, unfortunately I was told that this is not supported anymore and to go to Fatdog64-600. I could not even use LuPu so deleted it omg to bad.

Yeah, I am not interested in the latest and greatest, just what works for sure. Can you advise me on what to install. I am just using this as a back-up OS and to play around with. Fatdog did not seem to suit me, and I had to choose where to save my changes every time I quit, I don't remember having to do this in LuPu right? I liked LuPu and would be happy going back if you think I should. I don't think I have my setup in signature: Windows XP64bit with 32bit Home Edition installed, 4GB RAM, Dual Boot XP-LM17MQ.

Or should I go with Precise puppy? If you have time I will follow your advice. I just want something simple and fun to play around with, something that will allow me to find support etc. I am guessing I could go to the new LuPu as my system seems to be pretty robust for an old laptop. Good stuff, thanks pcpunk
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pcpunk

Joined: 19 Jun 2014
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2014, 21:03    Post_subject:  

I would also like to know if it is possible to install this to a usb completely, No Frugal?

Is it possible to just save to the usb?

And please point me to a good tutorial so that I can install.

Do I need to burn a CD or just use something like Unetbootin?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2014, 17:10    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I would also like to know if it is possible to install this to a usb completely, No Frugal?

Installing to a USB flash drive is the same as installing to a CD.
It makes a live Puppy USB.

Yes you can save to the USB.

Using Unetbootin is easiest way to install to USB if you do not want to do it with the Puppy programs from a running version of Puppy..

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hayden


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Location: New Hampshire USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2014, 10:01    Post_subject: NLLUG  

Has anyone tried recently to use packages for this flavor of Puppy from NLLUG? They had been my favorite source of all kinds of things but the latest packages I downloaded from there failed to install. Because most of the computers I work with do not have an Internet connection, I burned the pets to a DVD. I wondered if they were not working because of that so I copied some to my home directory in Puppy in case they needed to create files or directories at the point of use. I also changed permissinns so everyone could write or run them. No success. Then I downloaded one directly to my home directory and that did not work either.

I searched the forum for NLLUG and this thread came up first and it is the version of Puppy I am using. Alas, it is 189 pages long! I read back to 2013 and found only a vague reference to someone having trouble with pets from an unspecified source. I have been using Puppy since version 2 and have never had such a big problem with pets before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1635

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2014, 04:52    Post_subject:  

The Lucid repo was wiped and re-uploaded 2 weeks ago.
Do pets from ibiblio work for you?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 16:54    Post_subject:  

This problem with downloaded pets seems to be caused by downloading with a browser like Firefox or others.

Something the browser is doing to the pet package file as part of the download process.

The pet packages seem to work OK if downloaded with the Puppy Package Manager or Wget.
mavrothal wrote:
If you use PPM (download only) or just "wget URL" or "curl -O URL" to download a package, works just fine.
However, if you download through Firefox (or Midori) the downloaded pet has different md5sum than the one you get with wget! So somehow downloading via the browser you get a corrupted pet.
More important the md5sum of the internal tarball of the pet is different than the one added to the pet file by dir2pet so pet2tgz catches that and bails out!
Confused

Bottom line, wget or curl your pets for now. (or use the download only option of PPM)


This is a posted fix for using Firefox browser to download.

SFR wrote:
In Firefox it can be fixed with:
1. about:config
2. Find network.http.accept-encoding string
3. And delete its gzip,deflate value

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hayden


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Location: New Hampshire USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 19:31    Post_subject: GRUB installer does not find Windows  

I installed this to a hard drive. In the past the Universal Installer also installed GRUB and it automatically found all my Linux and Windows bootable partitions (and some non-bootable ones). This one makes me install GRUB more or less manually. When I click on the option to add a Windows or DOS partition it opens a text file that seems totally irrelevant and fails to add Windows to menu.lst.

Does the old Universal Installer still work? Where can I get it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 03:16    Post_subject:  

The Universal installer is different, because of bug fixes and improvements that needed to be done.

Not Auto loading a boot loader was a needed fix, because Puppy has two options for a boot loader.
Grub
Grub4dos

You choose the one you want to install and use.

The version of Grub, that is in this version of Lucid Puppy, is an old version. A lot of bug fixing and tweaking, has been done to the Grub version that comes with Puppy, But this one has not had that.
It is a very hands on version.

The boot loader I would use is the other one.
Grub4dos


After doing the install.

Go to menu->system->Grub4dos Bootloader Config
Run this program and just select the default settings.
It should setup the menu.lst and give you a working boot menu.

This is becoming the only bootloader to use because it just works better and has very little problems.

If you want the latest version of Grub4dos or read about it
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

shinobar actively keeps it updated to new required changes. This is very much a bootloader tweaked for Puppy, but it has great support for any other operating system.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hayden


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Location: New Hampshire USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 08:41    Post_subject: workaround  

I just copied the Windows section from the menu.lst in a working Puppy and all is well. However, whatever one thinks of the different GRUBs, is not popping up an irrelevant text file instead of adding Windows to menu.lst a bug? This seems like an instant deal killer to beginners who try to dual boot Puppy and lose Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9159
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 08:48    Post_subject:  

You never identified which version of Lucid you installed or which GRUB tool you used. But I looked in Lupu 5.2.8.6 and it still has the original "Kent Robotti" Legacy GRUB. And every version of Grub4Dos that I have seen automatically adds a menu entry for Windows.

So I am confused by your reports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hayden


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Location: New Hampshire USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 09:36    Post_subject: GRUB  

Sorry. I thought GRUB meant GRUB Legacy as found in every Puppy I have seen and GRUB4DOS was the other option. I used Ye Olde GRUB. Every previous version of that I have seen in Puppy creates menu.lst automatically.

I also thought the version was established by the title of this thread:

"Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012"

And I did indeed see mention of Kent Robboti;-)

In any case, I fixed my problem. How do I report the bug in the GRUB Legacy installer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 189 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 187, 188, 189, 190 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1307s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0429s) ][ GZIP on ]