Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 14:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 171 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 31 Oct 2013, 23:56    Post_subject:  

While I've got a minute....... installed some of the usual stuff,everything appears nominal.20131028 version.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Lucid , version 528

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe glx dri
Drivers requested to be loaded: nvidia

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse ramdac record

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (411x263 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
5683 frames in 5.0 seconds
4472 frames in 5.0 seconds
6103 frames in 5.0 seconds
6090 frames in 5.0 seconds
6080 frames in 5.0 seconds

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1034MB (190MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.52
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 31 Oct 2013 11:06:12 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1034888 637460 397428 0 57860
Swap: 1228932 0 1228932
Total: 2263820 637460 1626360
#

Looking solid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 200
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 12:19    Post_subject:  

Hi All

After removing all the update pets in 528.005 as Richard suggested and still having problems with Opera I decided to try something else. Having found that opera-12.11-1661.i386.opt.sfs worked with 5286 without dialogue box corruption I decided to try it in 528.005. I decided to uninstall the opera pet.
I moved .opera from root to the hd as I was not sure if it would be uninstalled with the pet. I then moved it back to root. I then loaded the sfs "on the fly". Opera opened using my origiolal .opera file and so all my bookmarks etc were there. There was no dialog box corruption. I then re-installed 7 of the 8 update files (I did not include frisbee as I don't use it). Tried Opera again and found no corruption. Rebooted and tried again but still no corruption.
Quote from bigpup.
Quote:
Installed Opera-12.16.1860-i386.pet from here:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-common/
No display problems using this pet of Opera 12.16


Does the fact that Opera-12.16.1860-i386.pet and opera-12.11-1661.i386.opt.sfs seem to work without dialogue box corruption suggest that this is a problem with different versions of Opera?

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5390
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 13:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Does the fact that Opera-12.16.1860-i386.pet and opera-12.11-1661.i386.opt.sfs seem to work without dialogue box corruption suggest that this is a problem with different versions of Opera?

Different versions of Opera could be the reason, I found postings about the same issue in the Opera forum.
It could also be caused by the person who made the Opera Pet package, missing something that Opera needed. That was why I tried using an Opera pet package, from a different location, made by a different person.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1143

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 14:27    Post_subject: lxpanel
Sub_title: for lucid
 

Lxpanel for Lucid Puppy here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90009
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1537
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 15:41    Post_subject:  

keniv wrote:
Richard
Are you suggesting that I uninstall the pets from the 528.005 version. If this is the case then I'm not sure what you mean here.
Quote:
So, be sure to uninstall only when you are running with 5.2.8.6, to get its version of each restored file.

To me this seems to suggest that I would be running 528.005 in order to uninstall the update pets but at the same time be running 5286 in some way.
Ken,
As I said, this is what happens when you uninstall a pet. Admittedly, it may be counter-intuitive:
I wrote:
When you uninstall a program, the original from the current lupu ISO (puppy layer, /initrd/pup_ro2) replaces the previously installed program
If you are running with "005", then its version of the files will replace the ones from your pet package installs. That just puts you back to the way it was under "005". But you are trying to get things to work under "5.2.8.6", so need its version of the files to replace the pet-installed versions.

The gtkdialog files you posted show that you are not running with the 5.2.8.6 version of gtkdialog. The current version is a file named gtkdialog without any number; gtkdialog4 should be a link to that new file.

Please try again with a copy of your original pupsave that has the packages installed and only the 5.2.8.6 puppy CD or frugal install. Leave the "005" completely out of this exercise. Once you have uninstalled your gtkdialog package(s), please check the gtkdialog* files as you did. For good measure, you might get the output of the command:

ls -l /usr/sbin/gtkdialog*

('-l' is hyphen-ell; you can insert the option '--color=never' to avoid colored file names in console output.)
R
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1537
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 16:16    Post_subject:  

Barry, 01micko, shinobar and anyone involved with making SFS files,
As I have mentioned above, somewhere, I discovered that when an SFS file is loaded in a puppy the is then remastered, the resultant version of puppy will not contain any of the files in the /root and /etc directories in the SFS file. The remaster script needs to see a file containing the list those of files in the SFS, but none is ever generated.

I have remedied that by creating a script to do that. All scripts that build an SFS file containing files in those directories and that can be expected to be remastered should invoke that new script, to create the file list within the SFS file itself. That way, the file list will be present in a puppy only when the SFS file is loaded in it at the time the remaster is performed.

One of the attached packages, here, is intended to update all puppies that are produced via "woof", and is offered for inclusion in woof. The other is the current version of get_libreoffice by 01micko but with the invocation of the dir2sfs-make_file_list script that creates the file list within the SFS file being built for libreoffice. I built it for inclusion in lupu-5.2.8.6. Here is the difference listing for that mod:
Code:
--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice   2013-08-06 17:48:57.000000000 -0400
+++ /initrd/pup_rw/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice   2013-11-01 10:59:02.000000000 -0400
@@ -41,6 +41,7 @@
 #0.27 20130219 added gui to opt out of RAM build
 #0.28 20130310 bugfix with default* files
 #0.29 20130807 bugfix for low RAM full installs
+#0.29.1 20131031 add creation of file list for /root and /etc
 
 MYPATH=$0
 MYNAME=$(basename "$0")     
@@ -724,6 +725,10 @@
    fi
    rm -f /tmp/libre_xtra_for_naming
    LIBOBUILD=LibreOffice-${LIBO_VER}${LANGLIB}${EXTRA}${COMP}
+
+   #20131031 Generate root & etc file list for remastering, using squashfile name
+   [ "$(which dir2sfs-make_file_list)" ] && dir2sfs-make_file_list workdir ${LIBOBUILD}
+
    echo "rxvt -bg darkgreen -fg yellow -geometry 80x10 -title \"$INFOMSG3 ${LIBOBUILD}.sfs\" -e mksquashfs workdir ${LIBOBUILD}.sfs "$OPTION"" > /tmp/get_libre_sfs
    . /tmp/get_libre_sfs
    rm -f /tmp/get_libre_sfs

The packages, together, can probably be used in any puppy.

UPDATE 11/3/2013:
Re-attached the dir2sfs package, to add /var to the directories included in the files listing -- just discovered that rematerpup2 needs that, too. Also recoded detection of a read-only SFS file to avoid unnecessary error messages (that did not impact operation).
woof_updates-20131103-dir2sfs.pet
Description  dir2sfs and dir2sfs-make_file_list, to create remasterable SFS files (containing /root, /etc or /var
directories)
pet

 Download 
Filename  woof_updates-20131103-dir2sfs.pet 
Filesize  1.55 KB 
Downloaded  74 Time(s) 
get_libreoffice-0.29.1.pet
Description  get_libreoffice for making remasterable SFS files (containing /root, /etc or /var directories)
pet

 Download 
Filename  get_libreoffice-0.29.1.pet 
Filesize  27.13 KB 
Downloaded  78 Time(s) 
diff-get_libreoffice-0.29.1.txt.gz
Description  The above difference listing
gz

 Download 
Filename  diff-get_libreoffice-0.29.1.txt.gz 
Filesize  602 Bytes 
Downloaded  76 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 200
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 16:56    Post_subject:  

Hi Richard

I think I understand what you were asking me to do. I have to use a copy of my 528.005 savefile with the 5286.sfs in order to update it rather than use the update files you originally uploaded before you produced the new 5286 iso. However, as you can see from my last post I now have a solution to the problem with Opera in 528.005. I re-installed your original update pets and all seemed fine. I cannot check /usr/sbin as I am posting from 5286. I will have a look when I finnish posting. I am now also using this solution with 5286 with a new "clean" savefile rather than an updated 528.005 savefile. Thanks for taking the time to explain this.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 03 Nov 2013, 17:42    Post_subject: Opera 12.16 pet for testing  

keniv and everyone else testing Opera-12-pet. The/A problem is with the pet, as James C suggested. My fault. I guess I was rusty. This is running correctly for me in 5.2.8.005 and 3HD-005.

For testing please -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Opera-12.16-Lucid.pet

Best to uninstall any previous versions of Opera I would think. Thanks.

Adding Opera 12.16 to Lucid repo. To update do Quickpet -> More Pets -> Update Lupu PPM

Firefox and Seamonkey both have new versions, 25 and 2.22--but they will update themselves taking no, or very little, additional space..

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Nov 2013, 19:03    Post_subject:  

Quote:
As I have mentioned above, somewhere, I discovered that when an SFS file is loaded in a puppy the is then remastered, the resultant version of puppy will not contain any of the files in the /root and /etc directories in the SFS file.

In the latest version of my LazY Remaster Suite I'm just activating an Option inside the GUI. The back end then just checks from pupro9 down to pupro4 for existing /etc and /root directories and copies content to /tmp/etc and /tmp/root before grabbing the stuff from /etc and /root. By overwriting existing files order of layers will be kept for existing and copied files.
Code:
   for PRLAY in 9 8 7 6 5 4;
   do
      if [ -d $pupropth$PRLAY/etc ]; then
         cp -af $pupropth$PRLAY/etc /tmp/etc
      fi
   done


Quote:
All scripts that build an SFS file containing files in those directories and that can be expected to be remastered should invoke that new script, to create the file list within the SFS file itself.

A list inside the SFS file, I do use to load dependent SFS files, like: Java, Python, QT etc.pp. by the SFS P.L.U.S.'s RunScripts. That's why the LazY Puppy SFS's names do start with "LP2_" so, I can see, it is converted to SFS P.L.U.S. format and will load all its dependent SFS files (if existing) before executing the application from the main to load SFS file.

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3454
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Nov 2013, 19:41    Post_subject:  

playdayz:

Nice to see you back mate.

I have run the newer Super Lupu on my old Gigabyte board PC
8 years old.....but when I ran the Iron browser pet I lost the

bottom icons RHS bottom screen for network and firewall

and couldn't get them back...after many attempts.

Not a big deal...but interesting.

"""""""""

rerwin is doing a great job.
Keep it up....this is a Puppy Classic.

I also liked the simple wallpaper on first boot
but I am a plain Jane bloke.

Super Lupu helped fix a Win7 Acer Asipre 3 gig laptop ...

The newest Falcon boot cd 4.6 stopped booting right at the deskstop
on this laptop and I had to resort to Falcon 4.5 to help stop the startups with Ccleaner.

After cleaning this Acer sludge machine out with Puppy,
using the Falcon to stop startups.....

uninstalling 12 programs and only then able to remove both Mcafee
and Nortons...default installations as I found out later ...which kept stopping Recovery working...I finally was able to boot Win7 and
run Acer's Recovery program and burn 4 dvds in Windows...
plus an applications dvd..to redo Win7.

yes 5 DVDs in all...Acer and team Windows..a true sloth machine.

8 hours of head spinning spent to re-install it from scratch....cleaning, burning and totally scubbing the drive plus uninstalling the 2 default
AVs as above....and stopping crappy startups>>>AGAIN..

Acer and Puppy >> 5 minutes....hmmmmm!
Sorry i can't supply the specs...I was over it.

Lucid ran like a dream. This had a seperate Nvidia video card???
and wireless ran just with Barry's network wizard...>> Atheros card
and Midori ran fine >>> as a quick test.

Normally I would install the Frisbee Pet from Lucid >> Network
but as i stated...for testing I just ran Barry's >>> flawless.

Failed to boot in my Dell Studio XPS....
so I will try the latest 3 headed dog version.

Regards to all...Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 926
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 03 Nov 2013, 20:11    Post_subject:  

If running Opera in Lucid please keep an eye out for accumulating crash report text files (which are quite large and fill up your save-file) in /root/.opera/logs

Don't know why these crop up in Lucid but not other Puppies, or why they get created when Opera is not actually crashing

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1537
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Nov 2013, 00:38    Post_subject: Frisbee Kit already part of lupu 5.2.8.6  

Regarding adding Frisbee to Lucid Pup 5.2.8.6: Please do not do that! The same version of frisbee that is in woof and precise pup is already part of lupu. Actually, the entire "frisbee kit" is part of 5.2.8.6 except that lupu has a newer version of gtkdialog (which you should not replace).

Regarding updates to packages attached previously: I have updated 2 packages that will be in the next upload of lupu.The changes are explained at those links, as "UPDATE 11/3/2013".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Mon 04 Nov 2013, 11:04    Post_subject:  

Quote:
If running Opera in Lucid please keep an eye out for accumulating crash report text files (which are quite large and fill up your save-file) in /root/.opera/logs

OscarTalks, Yes. That's bad. It seems that 11.62 does not do it so I have removed the Opera 12 pets from the repo unless someone can figure it out. That's my only job now, trying to maintain the browsers Wink

Quote:
I have run the newer Super Lupu on my old Gigabyte board PC
8 years old.....but when I ran the Iron browser pet I lost the bottom icons RHS bottom screen for network and firewall


cthisbear. The 3.x kernel versions were experiments that never were released, though at least one was posted for anyone interested. The latest Chromium variants won't run in Lucid, but I don't remember a problem with the old Iron in the 2x kernels. I will test the Iron pet in both of the 3x kernels and see what I find. I would also like to find out what was the last Chromium variant version that will run.

Iron 18 seems OK in Lucid 5.2.8 005
It also seems OK with the 3.2.13 kernel in "SuperLuci 005" Firewall and network icons OK in systray.
It also seems OK with the 3.0.25 kernel in sulu-001.

I am testing on a Phenom 2850, 3 years old or so. Do you have the problem on a more recent machine? When did you lose the icons? The Iron 18 pet below is the one I was using. Were you using the Iron 15 listed in PPM and Quickpet (though there shouldn't be any significant differences)?

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Iron-18-Lucid.pet

Both of the original 3.x kernel versions are available for comparison.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/sulu-001.iso
http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/superluci-005.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 200
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 04 Nov 2013, 17:13    Post_subject:  

Quote:
keniv and everyone else testing Opera-12-pet. The/A problem is with the pet, as James C suggested. My fault. I guess I was rusty. This is running correctly for me in 5.2.8.005 and 3HD-005.

For testing please -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Opera-12.16-Lucid.pet


Quote:
OscarTalks, Yes. That's bad. It seems that 11.62 does not do it so I have removed the Opera 12 pets from the repo unless someone can figure it out. That's my only job now, trying to maintain the browsers


From the above I assume its best to leave 12.16 for now.
I have been using opera-12.11-1661.i386.opt.sfs. I have not checked for crash report text files but will do this and report back. However, I cannot get flashplayer to work. I have it working in the origional 528 in Opera 11.50 using 10.3.183.23. I tried this as well as 10.3.183.29, 10.3.183.90 plus a version of 11 but none worked. If anybody has flash working can you tell me which flash pet you are using.

Regards,

Ken.

Edit. Have just checked root/.opera/logs. I have 124 crash report text files taking up a total of 22MB. This is over a short period of use. So it looks for the moment that there is not a usable version of Opera that will work in 5286.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Mon 04 Nov 2013, 20:48    Post_subject:  

new backgrounds.
lucidja8,1z.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   9.89 KB
 Viewed   290 Time(s)

lucidja8,1z.jpg

lucidja8,1x.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   9.35 KB
 Viewed   275 Time(s)

lucidja8,1x.jpg

lucidja8,1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   11.09 KB
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

lucidja8,1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 171 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1796s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0536s) ][ GZIP on ]