Slacko Beta 1

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#91 Post by Lobster »

Code:
set 'Master Front' 75% unmute
set 'Master Front' -12dB
" need to be added to other alsa scripts, I think that would have solved your issue...
OK booted up and the sound is muted.
This is after I attempted to get the mic working.
So changing the sound parameters may be the cause
but some ability to revert, use previous settings
or a saved or default setting might be an option.
Maybe the above code in beta 2 will help.
For now will try and get the sound back to green.

It may be that once sound settings are changed a
x restart is insufficient and a full reboot is required?
Anyway will try again to get sound back . . .
That would be strange.

Good news.
Installed very easily to USB. :)
Booted on Eeepc original model :)
Already as reported on the Slacko Alphas

The Xorg high driver was tagged
by the driver wizard in slickpet but not yet available . . .

The shutdown and save file creation was very slow on the Eeepc
Have only seen such slowness (10 minutes maybe)
on NTFS formatted hard disks
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#92 Post by 01micko »

Lobster

Try this;

Code: Select all

Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard
Choose the first entry, click ok, do not reboot

then;in that terminal 2 variables will be echoed.

Code: Select all

Card=0
Device=0
then you see an error

Code: Select all

cp: cannot stat `/etc/asound.conf': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `/etc/asound.conf': No such file or directory
Ignore the error; I'll fix it later;

then; run this

Code: Select all

# /etc/init.d/10alsa restart
that will restart alsa with correct sound parameters.. if you got 2barks at boot at pfix=ram then you will get 2 barks when you run this:

Code: Select all

# aplay /usr/share/audio/2barks.wav
__________

I have to intercept running of the alsawizard. It should only be necessary with old ISA cards which were very good in their day but are rare in modern HW. (Actually they are much better than the crappy sound chips of today, for good audio these days you need to fork out the moolah).

Basically, if retrovol is running, whether you can hear it or not, alsa is running and has set up sound.

The best avenue then to pursue is either:
right clicking the retrovol icon in the tray and selecting "Full Window", check the boxes that you think are needed, then exit, hopefully things are ok (pizasgood's little proggy is effective though a little confusing)
or
Run "alsamixer" in the terminal and adjust settings with arrow keys. Be aware that some things will be switched off, There is an input source setting on many built in (to motherboard) modern sound cards that toggles whether you want surround sound or front mic or rear mic, use the arrow keys to adjust this. You may need to hit the TAB key (no, a diet cola will not be forthcoming) to see this setting.

We then need a pawdcast!
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#93 Post by Lobster »

We then need a pawdcast!
That is a good plan. :)

I got the green sound icon back by turning off all the mic options.

Now gonna try again making the mic available, keeping an eye on your suggestions if I run into trouble . . .

May download precord or similar if available
- getting mhwavedit may be too cumbersome . . .

Thanks for your detailed instructions 8)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#94 Post by 01micko »

Precord.. now up to 7.01

mcewanw has a tip on mics in the second post.

mhwaveedit is included in multimedia menu
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#95 Post by Lobster »

Thanks Mick, :)

With Mhwavedit I got a message

Code: Select all

Error opening ALSA device 'default'
for recording invalid argument
when trying to set the recording quality . . .
That was on my Eeepc . . .

I was unable to use the PPM (even from the command line)
to download precord (again on the Eeepc)
I note Barry has been working on the PPM so
may be improved with the Beta 2

Gonna try on my main machine to get the latest precord . . .
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#96 Post by BarryK »

MinHundHettePerro wrote:Hello :)!

Maybe too early on to mention these minor rough spots :).

-------------------

Commenting two offending lines in /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal
<!--Key keycode="117">yourscript</Key>
<Key keycode="115">yourscript</Key-->
makes

Code: Select all

# jwm -p
exit without errors.

--------

Half-BrokenDale has been mostly behaving itself :) (there was one occurence of lost menu text after running fixmenus).

Cheers :)/ MHHP
Hmmm, Slacko must be using a different jwmconfig package. The recommended one is in the 'common' repo, which does not have those lines you mention:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_pa ... 29-bk1.pet
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#97 Post by BarryK »

DaveS wrote:The pngoverlay thing is not working properly. Mount my Sd card correctly, but clicking the X to unmount it just brings up a rox window for it. I think this is a woof thing though?
01micko has reported, and other confirmed, it is a netpbm problem. I have rolled back in Woof:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02417
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#98 Post by BarryK »

rcrsn51 wrote:
01micko wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:Is Slacko using a different version of the PET installer? I installed some home-made PETs and in each case Slacko changed the menu icon in the /usr/share/applications file to something different. When I manually changed it back to the original file, it worked fine. No other Puppy does this.
stock current woof.. I have seen this though... when I installed nathan-wallpaper during tests, actually the icon ended up a broken symlink.. it is one anyway but not broken, I do recall same happening with another pet
The script /usr/local/petget/installpkg.sh is broken. Line 330 should be

Code: Select all

 FNDICON="`find  /usr/local/lib/X11 /usr/share/pixmaps -maxdepth 2 -name $ICON -o -name $ICON.png -o -name $ICON.xpm -o -name $ICON.jpg | head -n 1`"
This looks like another change that crept into Woof without proper testing.
Testing, er, that's what you're doing now, aren't you?

Fixed:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02416

Note, you find a bug in Woof, you report it, it gets fixed (usually). Fortunately, I am monitoring this thread, so I have picked up this one.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#99 Post by 01micko »

wuwei

I noticed in the German forum a chap is having trouble with pppoe. I need to get one of those modems to test for myself I think. I might link that post to here.

In the meantime, I rebuilt the slackware-13.37 version to be puppy friendly, all the scripts were very close anyway, however there are differences in the binaries.

Please test when you get the chance.

Thanks

_

Barry, yeah that jwm thing is my fault

______________

ATTACHMENT REMOVED
Last edited by 01micko on Fri 19 Aug 2011, 11:37, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#100 Post by BarryK »

DaveS wrote:Confirming pngoverlay bugs. It works great with USB devices, but not as you can see with optical drive, and not with my dedicated SD card reader. USB card readers are no problem. Again, I suspect this is a woof implementation which may be incomplete. There were reports of similar issues with partitions, but as I only have a single partition on this machine, I cant test.
Is this after you rolled back netpbm? (as reported earlier in this thread)

-- roll back netpbm, then use the GUI app to change the desktop icons, see if that fixes it.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#101 Post by 01micko »

Yeah, I have a script that I'm posting fixing woof issues for spup, it includes the rcrsn51 fix (sorry got preoccupied), but maybe you can incorporate some in woof, perhaps not the slacko artwork stuff

EDIT, added more stuff (xcb hack)
Attachments
woof_slacko_pack-110817-1.tar.gz
(31.56 KiB) Downloaded 456 times
Last edited by 01micko on Fri 19 Aug 2011, 10:25, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#102 Post by 01micko »

..and heres the comments fixed in DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-slackware-13.37
Attachments
DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-slackware-13.37.gz
(6.18 KiB) Downloaded 442 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
MinHundHettePerro
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 22:22
Location: SE

#103 Post by MinHundHettePerro »

01micko wrote:MHHP.. in case you are woofing, and for my safe keeping...

xcb_base FIXUPHACK in packages-templates (slacko version)

Code: Select all

...
Not woofing that much atm, but I prepared the latest woof and successfully built just the libxcb_base-package, using your fixed-up FIXUPHACK.

Cheers :)/ MHHP
[color=green]Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285[/color]
Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
[color=darkred]Nämen, vaf....[/color] [color=green]ln -s /dev/null MHHP[/color]

drblock2
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon 19 Jan 2009, 12:38

#104 Post by drblock2 »

I tried to download the kernel source 2.6.37.6 with slickpet. Ibiblio reported: " Remote file does not exist -- broken link!!!"

I found two other repositories for the sfs-file: http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/pet_packages-spup/ and http://brainwavedesigncentral.net/micko ... ages-spup/. The files appear to be identical, both 95,051,776 bytes.

When I tried to install them, I got an error message claiming that they were in sfs3 format and I should convert them. Not very likely, but why not. The converted files did not run.

Later I found a check sum here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69798. It did not match the check sum of the downloaded files.

I need the kernel sources to compile VirtualBox and would much appreciate a fix.

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#105 Post by Iguleder »

Hey 01micko, I just wrote a new package building tool called Builder (here and a set of build scripts for all my puplet's packages.

This time it's way simpler and lighter than Puppizard ... and it produces PET packages instead of its own format. The packages are automatically stripped and split to EXE, DEV, DOC and NLS.

To rebuild Window Maker (my love!), I created a directory, put the build script there and ran this:

Code: Select all

buildpkg windowmaker-crm.sh
The result is 4 ultra-stripped PETs, in about 10 minutes (after all, it's a git checkout over a slow internet connection, on a netbook :lol:). I rebuilt all my distro's packages in about 20 minutes, which isn't bad at all.

Have you considered putting a Window Maker package in Slickpet? I wrote a really fast menu generator for it in Perl (and I don't even know how to code in Perl :P) and I think it could be a nice, lighter alternative to JWM/ROX. Now it's also easier to build it. :)
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#106 Post by 01micko »

kernel_sources-2.6.37.6-patched_spup2.sfs is the name of the file

1d29a36c731a19ce30333e0aa5e68349 kernel_sources-2.6.37.6-patched_spup2.sfs <--checksum

http://brainwavedesigncentral.net/micko ... _spup2.sfs

You can try the attached slickpet
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#107 Post by 01micko »

Iguleder wrote: Have you considered putting a Window Maker package in Slickpet? I wrote a really fast menu generator for it in Perl (and I don't even know how to code in Perl :P) and I think it could be a nice, lighter alternative to JWM/ROX. Now it's also easier to build it. :)
Well, I don't want slickpet to be the focus.. so PPM would be ok.

Sounds interesting :)
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#108 Post by 01micko »

Ok wuwei (and panmar)

I have deduced by random logic that ppp could well be the culprit... we are using the slackware binary, working fine with wireless modems but I don't know where else to look, (not without that HW to test)

Try the Wary pet with original rp-ppoe..

ppp <-- http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_pa ... 4.4-w5.pet

(only replace if you used the slackware version I posted on the previous page)
rp-pppoe <-- http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_pa ... 2-2-p4.pet

Keeping the faith.. :)
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
wuwei
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 11:59
Location: formerly de; now in tranquility

#109 Post by wuwei »

SUCCESS! sort of....

Your fixes didn't work on the existing pupsave file.

Then with pfix=ram I tried ppp-2.4.4-w5.pet. Setup pppoe from scratch. No success.

Again pfix=ram, copied DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-slackware-13.37 to .packages and installed rp_pppoe_cli-3.8-patched2-2-p4.pet. Setup pppoe from scratch. No success.

Then I recalled a somewhat far fetched solution of earlier Puppies:
Using fixed DNS, rather than dynamic DNS.
So after a new pppoe setup with fixed primary and secondary DNS, boom the internet connected.

This detour hasn't been necessary for a lot of Puppies in a long time, but if it helps now, why not.

So far so good, although I don't know how much your fixes contributed and how much the fixed DNS.

Anyway, now with internet up and running, I can do some more testing.

Thanks 01micko!

aarf

#110 Post by aarf »

this java works in beta1 (below is beta1 but in the old folder so i didnt have to edit menu.lst)
Attachments
beta1.jpg
(29.98 KiB) Downloaded 979 times

Post Reply