(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Sep 2020, 22:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko Beta 1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 01:03    Post subject:
Subject description: Netgear WN111v2 not working after reboot
 

Jades wrote:
I'm trying out Slacko on the Pentium D machine, and have found that while my Netgear WN111v2 USB wireless dongle works on a pfix=ram boot, it doesn't when booting from a pupsave. It works fine in XP and Luci/Lupu.

I've noticed that when the dongle isn't working, there are some modules not shown in the Kernel Modules screen in HardInfo:-

aes-generic
arc4
ecb
ar9170usb

These all appear to be connected with making the dongle work and the fact that they're not listed when rebooting would probably explain the non-functioning network connection.

Interestingly, there is one module listed in the pupsave boot that doesn't appear in pfix=ram - carl9170.


Have you tried plugging it in after bootup, as well as having it already plugged in at bootup? Sometimes it makes a difference.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8787
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 05:11    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Was wondering if Slacko will be addressing the problem of having more than 3.5GB of ram?
As discussed here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67707


Not initially bigpup.. I'm pretty happy with how this kernel is performing. That doesn't mean to say I won't try out a later kernel with PAE enabled, but at the moment there are other priorities. I do tend to agree with Linus on that one too though, if if you have over 3gB RAM it's likely your system supports 64 bit.. then why not use a 64 bit OS? We have 2 very good ones in development as in LHP and FatDog. Actually FD-511 is a stable release.

I'm sure one day in the not too distant future Woof will move to 64 bit compatibility making development of 64 bit Pups all the easier. Hats off to kirk and TazOC.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8787
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 06:08    Post subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
Hey 01micko, I just wrote a new package building tool called Builder (here and a set of build scripts for all my puplet's packages.

This time it's way simpler and lighter than Puppizard ... and it produces PET packages instead of its own format. The packages are automatically stripped and split to EXE, DEV, DOC and NLS.

To rebuild Window Maker (my love!), I created a directory, put the build script there and ran this:
Code:
buildpkg windowmaker-crm.sh


The result is 4 ultra-stripped PETs, in about 10 minutes (after all, it's a git checkout over a slow internet connection, on a netbook Laughing). I rebuilt all my distro's packages in about 20 minutes, which isn't bad at all.

Have you considered putting a Window Maker package in Slickpet? I wrote a really fast menu generator for it in Perl (and I don't even know how to code in Perl Razz) and I think it could be a nice, lighter alternative to JWM/ROX. Now it's also easier to build it. Smile


hah.. that was a bit of fun.. and if I had more time I would explore more!

Bit geeky for a noob though, I think noobs, especially Windows, Ubuntu, Fedora, Gnome, KDE, Mac refugees prefer a panel with a "start" button and a few icons. I like the animated effects though and it is blazingly fast! Certainly JWM has it's limitations.. I wish Joe had more interest but I have had no response to my emails. I am a bit committed to jwm by default at the moment, mainly due to time constraint, but hey, wmaker is very cool and if it can be bent into a more conventional shape then I can see a future for your "new love" Laughing

Cheers, and thanks for the heads up.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 07:23    Post subject:
Subject description: Netgear WN111v2 not working after reboot
 

Jades wrote:
I'm trying out Slacko on the Pentium D machine, and have found that while my Netgear WN111v2 USB wireless dongle works on a pfix=ram boot, it doesn't when booting from a pupsave. It works fine in XP and Luci/Lupu.

By any chance, did you do a frugal install and forget to include the zdrv file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 07:31    Post subject:  

Just for you Lobster, a pet of drive icons with red and green 'flags'
drive_mntd48.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.05 KB
 Viewed   1206 Time(s)

drive_mntd48.png

drive_mntd_boot48.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.16 KB
 Viewed   1381 Time(s)

drive_mntd_boot48.png

drive48.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.06 KB
 Viewed   1439 Time(s)

drive48.png

slackodrives.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  slackodrives.pet 
Filesize  10.62 KB 
Downloaded  291 Time(s) 

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 547

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 09:37    Post subject:
Subject description: Slacko testing ?
 

01micko,

PlayDayz posted in his 2HD thread that he invited people to start testting Slacko, as it is the "next" puppy, following his lucid528.

I hope I don't offend anyone by asking a very basic question. What is Slacko ?? Your post #1 shows "it's time to test" but no reference in what Slacko is. I understand it is based on Slackware, but why use slackware ? Is it targetted to be smaller? faster? targetted to newer hardware (-or to older hardware) different apps? nicer graphics? More support for different hardware?

Can you point me to some basic info about Slacko ?

Volhout.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mave

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 10:35    Post subject: Double xorgwizard and crashing  

Hi,

trying Slacko Beta 1 on my Thinkpad T61 (1400x1050) gets this:

1. booting fine, xorgwizard => setting to 1400x1050, 24), firstrun-dialog
2. after setting details (here: german keyboard...) Puppy is asking to restart X-Server => OK
3. uuups: text-screen has changed (smaller)
4. xorgwizrad again (?), okay: setting again 1400x1050,24
5. crashing graphic no.1
6. after some sec. crashing graphics no.2
7. only hard reset to go on...

mave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 12:48    Post subject:  

Volhout wrote:
why use slackware ?


My very naive take on Devs is that them do things because it makes them happy coding or combining what others have coded. So my best answer is that them do it because it feels good doing it.

But seen from a more practical view them maybe looked at Debian and realized that there are others already using Debian repo. Then there is Arch and that one seems too hard nut to crack so only Slackware was what felt fun to go into?

Am I wrong? The best answer is that them are motivated from within and the best motivation is that it feels good!

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 13:22    Post subject:  

Nice.
Im still using 311. And transmision is faulty sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 2031
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 13:46    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I am a bit committed to jwm by default at the moment, mainly due to time constraint, but hey, wmaker is very cool and if it can be bent into a more conventional shape then I can see a future for your "new love" Laughing


I didn't say Window Maker should be the default, but it definitely needs a place in the Puppy universe - either as a PET, SFS or as a puplet (that's something I'm already working on).

I wrote a menu generator for it in Perl, which creates a menu that reloads automatically, so no need to restart the window manager and get your desktop messed up once you install a package.

I updated the build script to download and integrate the menu generator in the package, so you get an all-in-one Window Maker PET ready to rock Smile

I also wrote other scripts, for stuff like emelFM2, so I could build some spup packages.

_________________
My homepage
My GitHub profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sfoster


Joined: 12 Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Location: Southern California, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 15:48    Post subject: x restart fixed maybe  

Hi 01micko,
hmm, xvesa reboot seems to be working, strangely wihout any bootcodes (found out by accident)...weird, I could have sworn I tested xvesa already, will experiment some more in a few hours and post if I can. Xorg still doesn't work at all, bootcodes didn't seem to change anything.
--S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 18:02    Post subject:  

enhu wrote:
Nice.
Im still using 311. And transmision is faulty sometimes.

this torrent
http://www.torrentdownloads.net/torrent/1651188785/Anti+stress says need to upgrade transmission to a some later version of something. haven't got the exact message now as there are no seeds.

creating folders and download directories dont always appear to be what is selected when adding. however did get 1 torrent (knoppix6.7)down successfully .so that two tries in total.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8787
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 18:06    Post subject:  

sfoster wrote:
hmm, xvesa reboot seems to be working, strangely wihout any bootcodes (found out by accident)...weird, I could have sworn I tested xvesa already, will experiment some more in a few hours and post if I can. Xorg still doesn't work at all, bootcodes didn't seem to change anything.
just to be clear, Xvesa is a completely different X server not included in Slacko. There is a driver/module called Vesa which usually works when the desired driver fails. It is a Xorg module.
Ok, good it seems to work. In PPM you can search for "radeonhd", there is a driver for it but left out by default. It is somewhat deprecated however may work for some users

Iguleder wrote:
I updated the build script to download and integrate the menu generator in the package, so you get an all-in-one Window Maker PET ready to rock
Ok, will rebuild and test, of course it can be in PPM

enhu wrote:
Im still using 311. And transmision is faulty sometimes.
It is an old transmission package included by default, due to size. There is a more recent version in PPM

mave wrote:
trying Slacko Beta 1 on my Thinkpad T61 (1400x1050) gets this:
I will have a more in depth look later.

Volhout wrote:
I hope I don't offend anyone by asking a very basic question. What is Slacko ?? Your post #1 shows "it's time to test" but no reference in what Slacko is. I understand it is based on Slackware, but why use slackware ?[snip]
No offence taken by anybody I expect. Smile
Well you got the bit right about using Slackware binaries/packages. They seem to work very well. I am happy if this thing runs on a P3 with 256 RAM all the way up to a modern machine. That said, it won't run on everything. There will be some hardware that fails, it is the nature of things. However we do our best to get it to run on everything.
Also, this showcases the power of woof. It also showcases that Puppy built form Slackware stuff is still Puppy. It's no more Slackware than Lupu is Ubuntu. There is a mindset out there that "Puppy is based on XXX distro" (XXX being whatever flavour bins are used at the time) which simply isn't true. It just uses those bins to take advantage of the repos. Don't think Slackware has much in the repo? Take a look in PPM Smile .
Another thing.. Puppy needs to keep moving. The debian "Squeezed" derivatives made by Iguleder/pemasu/stu90 are great, advancing Puppy just as this is doing.
Ubuntu at the moment, for me at least is in the "too hard" basket. I chose to support this version.
I hope this goes some way to answering your query.[Update: This snippet is quoted in the main post]

tasmod wrote:
Just for you Lobster, a pet of drive icons with red and green 'flags'
Unfortunately Rob, your nice icons will get deleted! Barry has a new system in place where each iconset get's "overlayed" (drive icons only) to facilitate a one click unmount. Read more in Barry's Blog.

aarf, see reply to enhu

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 22 Aug 2011, 18:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8787
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 18:31    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Well, I can't turn my back for a couple of minutes and there is already another distro. Wink

Installed FRUGAL Lin'N'Win
Activated my application environment.
Apart from following issues applications seel to work.

1 - libgtkspell library is missing. needed for pidgin.
2 - the battery icon is there but still white, as reported before.


Béèm.. don't think this was ignored! Wink

I will adjust pet.specs for pidgin, may even compile latest and add libgtkspell as a dependency, should download automatically, maybe I can force pidgin to use system hunspell? Anybody know?

Also, I went with vattery because the powerapplet_tray was failing on my eee where it worked in old spup-100 series. I recompiled in Slacko but it still failed. You can try it if you want http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/powerapplet_tray-2.3-2-spup.pet It can coexist with vattery with some creative scripting in /root/Startup. For testing, please delete /root/Startup/vattery.sh.

Let me know if it works

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 20:48    Post subject: Re: petget freeze  

shinobar wrote:
Petget freezes at installing any pets under PUPMODE=13(flash).
It freezes at line 230 in installpkg.sh:
Code:
  busybox mount -t aufs -o remount,udba=reval unionfs / #remount with faster evaluation mode.

Slacko alpha and also beta 1.

It seems hardware specific...
My 2 PCs freeze but another 1 PC is no problem.

The freezing 2 PCs are intel X38 and intel P45, both have Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX, and may have marvel ide bridge.


The freezing 2 PCs are P5Q SE and P5E mother boards both from ASUS.
I used nv driver and vesa, seems no matter with the X driver.
I tried Lucid Puppy 528 and Wary 513, both have no problem.
I suspect some hardware and kernel issue.

EDIT: Racy Puppy 5.1.110, kernel 3.0.7 with unionfs, has no problem.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=577142#577142

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Thu 27 Oct 2011, 19:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0814s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]