Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 14:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
jwm_tools-0.9 (was jwm_menu_create)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2012, 17:37    Post subject:  

Boy I can be a dumb ass! Only have to tell fixmenus that jwm_menu_create exists and that solves a bunch of stupid patches!
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2012, 17:51    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Boy I can be a dumb ass! Only have to tell fixmenus that jwm_menu_create exists and that solves a bunch of stupid patches!

In case anyone else wants to add this to their puppy.... Here is Akitas fixmenus.. it's been using jwm_menu_create for a while now...

Code:
#!/bin/ash
LANG=$LANG
SUBMENU=0 myLANG=$LANG /usr/bin/jwm_menu_create
pidof jwm 2>&1 && jwm -restart
pidof openbox 2>&1 && ob-xdgmenu
pidof openbox 2>&1 && obmenu-refresh
pidof fbpanel 2>&1 && fbpanel_menu_refresh
pidof fbpanel 2>&1 && [ "`which variconlinks`" != "" ] && variconlinks #100404 for my fbpanel pkg.
pidof lxpanel 2>&1 && lxpanel_menu_refresh
pidof xfdesktop 2>&1 && xfdesktop -reload # xfce fix, dec15 2012
pidof xfce4-panel 2>&1 && rm ${HOME}/.cache/xfce4/desktop/menu* # xfce fix, dec15 2012
exit 0

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4239
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2012, 21:10    Post subject:  

Razz Thee probleme, mon ami technosaurus, eet ees that yoouur scrîpt does not peeck up thee *.desktop files à /usr/local/share/applications also. I had too doo all sorts of deerectory contorsions to incorporate dem, with very petit success. (How do you laîke my French accent?) Very Happy

TWYL.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4239
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 00:18    Post subject:  

I found a solution, working on aragon's spm2.

It is ridiculous to leave out perhaps one third of the programs because we do not access /usr/local/share/applications, no ?

Please see that thread. Thanks.

TWYL.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 01:23    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
I found a solution, working on aragon's spm2.

It is ridiculous to leave out perhaps one third of the programs because we do not access /usr/local/share/applications, no ?

Please see that thread. Thanks.

TWYL.
WTF, You get to be in the same list with otropogo... mon ami
Code:
for DESKTOP_FILE in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop ; do
to this
Code:

for DESKTOP_FILE in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop  /usr/local/share/applications/*.desktop ; do

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4239
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 02:00    Post subject:  

Hello, technosaurus.

Sorry for mentioning there was an applications directory missing in the script and for coming up with a solution that did not display an expertise similar to yours.

I don't know who "otropogo" is, and what list you are referring to.

My previous message tried to be humoristic, nothing else should be read into it.

Let's leave it at that, and try to remain on congenial terms.

Respectfully yours.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 02:19    Post subject:  

Using Slacko Beta which has JWM Tools, I want to add an additional tray. Adding it to /etc/xdg/templates no longer works. How do I add it now with this new system please? If the fix has been posted, please point me at the post, thanks.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 02:48    Post subject:  

you _can_ add extras directly into the source for jwm_menu_create or the current prefered method to simply add it to /root/.jwmrc-tray

I have yet to come up with a simplified way to auto-generate fully customized trays via the JWMRC file

... possibly using something like:
TRAYCOMPONENT{0-99}="type:params"
and then
TRAY{0-99}="list of traycomponents by number"

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 03:05    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
the current prefered method to simply add it to /root/.jwmrc-tray


SH*T, now I get it, .jwmrc-tray can accept multiple tray specs using multiple tags:

Code:
<tray>
tray one
</tray>
<tray>
tray two
</tray>

on and on


Thanks for the reply. Has this always been the case?

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6435
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 04:19    Post subject:  

Yes.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2012, 18:49    Post subject:  

technosaurus,
Note that the fixmenus in Woof has some extra functionality, to support the 'menu_strings' SSS domain. See file:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/3d3821678a5e65a2bfabe6bc72625f6564d629e6

Note, putting that extra code in will not matter for puppies that don't have menu_strings, as it tests for existence of the file.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2012, 21:39    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
technosaurus,
Note that the fixmenus in Woof has some extra functionality, to support the 'menu_strings' SSS domain. See file:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/3d3821678a5e65a2bfabe6bc72625f6564d629e6

Note, putting that extra code in will not matter for puppies that don't have menu_strings, as it tests for existence of the file.
I think these are already translated in jwm_menu_create ... and many more (Thank others, I barely speak english, but am fluent in shell)
jwm_trans.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwm_trans.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.21 KB 
Downloaded  247 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4239
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 10 Feb 2012, 19:19    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
technosaurus,
Note that the fixmenus in Woof has some extra functionality, to support the 'menu_strings' SSS domain. See file:

http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/artifact/3d3821678a5e65a2bfabe6bc72625f6564d629e6

Note, putting that extra code in will not matter for puppies that don't have menu_strings, as it tests for existence of the file.


Thanks for this information, Mr. Kauler. Please forgive my inexperience in advance, but I'd like to ask, if I may:

Does this mean that if we put a language file translating the sub-titles of the jwm in
/usr/share/sss/menu_strings/menu_strings.$LANG

we can have a menu in our own language?

I ask because I find the default French translation provided for jwm_menu_create rather google-esque... (meaning robotic and sometimes senseless...) and would like to provide a more decent one.

As well, does this add-on concern only the titles and sub-titles of the menu or can we translate the description of the programs there too?
Or are the *.desktop files, by adding name[fr]=abcd and comment[fr]=efgh, etc. a better place to provide the translations of the programs themselves?

Many thanks in advance.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4239
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 10 Feb 2012, 19:45    Post subject:  

Is this normal or a bug? Should this additional install menu be appearing or not? Thanks in advance for your reply.
strange-additional-install-menu-with-jwm-menu-create.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.32 KB
 Viewed   619 Time(s)

strange-additional-install-menu-with-jwm-menu-create.jpg


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Fri 10 Feb 2012, 20:41    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Is this normal or a bug? Should this additional install menu be appearing or not? Thanks in advance for your reply.
its normal if you have run jwm_install_menu_create, or installed an older version that included it by default. it is simply an experimental alternative to ppm for low resource machines and minimalists. you can remove it in the /root/.jwm directory (it is a hidden directory)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0872s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]