Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 02:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Lost Virtualbox!! [SOLVED]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 05:12    Post subject:  Lost Virtualbox!! [SOLVED]  

Hi ,just started with Puppy 5.2.5 Brilliant distro!!
I have installed it onto a 500GB external hard drive partioned roughly 462Gb as boot and 3Gb as swap.
Using Quickpet (which I think is extra brilliant) I downloaded Virtualbox,
however it doesn't appear anywhere in the menu but does appear in bootmanager. How do I launch it please?

Last edited by theblackpig on Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 06:45    Post subject:  

lupu 5.2.5 buit with kernel 2.6.33.2.
I think you will play virtualbox compiled in this kernel.
Please read howto compile an apps with Puppy
Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 688
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:19    Post subject:  

Virtualbox in quickpet is an SFS file.

To use this, you need to go to menu - system - BootManager Configure Bootup

This will bring up the dialog, with the top half to "Load SFS Files"
Click on the green box thing and it should bring up a two pane menu to choose what SFS files to load on bootup. Virtualbox should be on the left hand pane, add it to the right. Then, you will need to reboot your PC and it should be there in the menu.

For me it is under Menu - System - System Status and Config - Vitrualbox.

HTH

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:42    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
Virtualbox in quickpet is an SFS file.

To use this, you need to go to menu - system - BootManager Configure Bootup

This will bring up the dialog, with the top half to "Load SFS Files"
Click on the green box thing and it should bring up a two pane menu to choose what SFS files to load on bootup. Virtualbox should be on the left hand pane, add it to the right. Then, you will need to reboot your PC and it should be there in the menu.

For me it is under Menu - System - System Status and Config - Vitrualbox.

HTH

Paul


Many thanks new to Puppy , didn't realise I had to reboot!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0422s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]