Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Apr 2018, 08:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Squeeze 5x D-Lite
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [130 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
lowrider


Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 07:25    Post subject:  

stu90 wrote:
New build 5.0.5 is uploaded - added a new wallpaper and updated to Ymount 0.8.1 - this build is using the dpup xorg_core package so hopefully this should boot for every one Razz

http://www.smokey01.com/stu90/squeeze-5.0.5.iso


Boots straight to a working X for me. I added Firefox 5 and posting...
Nice little Pup.

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 11:13    Post subject:  

Bingo so far. This time it did get the xorg. But as always it is 1024 x 600 instead of x 768 but that is so for Pemasu and IguLeder versions too.

oops now when three or four or five all have Dpup Squeeze version I fail to know which is which Smile But both boot now or all three do boot into xorg now.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 11:16    Post subject:  

lowrider wrote:
stu90 wrote:
New build 5.0.5 is uploaded - added a new wallpaper and updated to Ymount 0.8.1 - this build is using the dpup xorg_core package so hopefully this should boot for every one Razz

http://www.smokey01.com/stu90/squeeze-5.0.5.iso


Boots straight to a working X for me. I added Firefox 5 and posting...
Nice little Pup.

Thx

Hi lowrider,
Thanks for testing and feedback Cool

------------------------------------------------------

Media playback:

SO far i have Boxee, XBMC and UMplayer working on D-lite - i use the respective .pet /.sfs i made for Lucid Puppy and will provide an update .pet of the needed libs for these applications to work on D-Lite puppy.


full res:
http://i.imgur.com/a5nx8.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 11:18    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Bingo so far. This time it did get the xorg. But as always it is 1024 x 600 instead of x 768 but that is so for Pemasu and IguLeder versions too.

oops now when three or four or five all have Dpup Squeeze version I fail to know which is which Smile But both boot now or all three do boot into xorg now.


Cool thanks for feedback Nooby Cool

I edited my posts and removed the links to the old broken versions - so now i will only post the updates at the top on page 1 to make it easier to keep track of.

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 11:24    Post subject:  

Thanks

No criticism just a typical nooby question.

Suppose I just got the iso and booted it up not knowing much.

How does a noob know how to get a browser going. I was too impatient but I failed to see one Smile PPM? but a noob don't know what ppm is?

But maybe you talk about browser in some help text me had no patience to read?

My questions is more about me than about your Squeeze. I felt lost seeing no browser Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 12:14    Post subject:  

stu90 wrote:
DaveS wrote:
OK, great. Got a functioning system now. I have a question.... why does the 23oz theme (GTK) not work?


Hi DaveS that is good to hear you can now get to desktop Smile

Regarding themes i removed wrong package, i have corrected this for the next build but in the meantime this .pet should work.

cheers.


Great... working now.

Installed Abiword/Gnumeric from here http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/ along with goffice from here http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-5/ and they 'just worked'

Took a bit of figuring to get Tiny Gmail Checker (tinygmc) to work, but got it now.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 14:39    Post subject:  

Squeeze 5x D-Lite has problems with my wide screen monitor, a Samsung SyncMaster BX2235. Both 2.0.4 and 2.0.5 have this problem and so has pemasu's Esprimo...

Whatever I try with Xorg Wizard or with the screen's own settings buttons, there's a black rim to the left, not filled by the desktop.
Only the screen's maximal resolution (1900 x 1050 or something like that) is displayed without flickering, but still with the black rim, about 6 cm wide.

After selecting the 1900 resolution, I can go back to lower resolutions without flickering , but with black rims on both sides of the desktop.

When Firefox is maximized the buttons at the right hand upper corner are out of the window, so not available for use.

The taskbar/ tray at the bottom is barely visible, about 2 mm high. When clicked it rises maybe another 2 mm, but stays just an empty dark bar.

Just reporting Wink

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6717
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 16:16    Post subject:  

5.0.5 live pfix=ram on my old P3 test box with onboard Intel 82810 graphics.Display and sound working on boot, used SNS for internet connection.Using about 40 mb of ram at idle.More testing later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 16:55    Post subject:  

5.0.5 frugal manual hdd pfix=ram install to ext4. my troublesome broadcom wl.ko driver not supported, used ar9170usb. sns auto-detected it, just like plug-n-play.

downloaded foxfire 501 from menu>setup> ppm. whoo is it fast, the whole os is very fast. nice to see squeeze main, non-free, and contrib!

installed hardinfo_5.1.1_i386.deb

-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU P6100 @ 2.00GHz
Memory : 2520MB (187MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 07 Aug 2011 02:00:24 PM GMT+8
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel

Seems to use alot of memory with only ff and hardinfo, although did attempt to install broadcom wl.ko driver to no avail.

do you have a wl.ko pet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 17:55    Post subject:  

There is Squeeze 5x D-Lite
and there is Dpup Exprimo 5.X.1

Sure that is a huge difference and looking at the isos them say.

squeeze-5.X.1-SCSI.iso or squeeze-5.0.5.iso

so sure huge difference there too. Smile Just friendly teasing not a criticism at all. I am just too dense to remember which is which at times.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2329
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 19:21    Post subject: Upgrade to dlite05 hung on 02's SaveFile
Subject description: Tray Volume Icon ALWAYS shows "muted"
 

Hi All,

While in Slacko, I downloaded dlite05, moved 02's boot files into a 2nd level directory (just in case), but left the SaveFile because (a) I wanted to see what would happen and (b) I'm lazy and hadn't added anything that would have effected the system files. Then I unpacked dlite05 into the dlite directory, rebooted and chose dlite from Grub4dos menu.
dlite recognized the 02 SaveFile and gave me the chose of pressing "Enter" to use it, or any other key to boot "pfix=ram." I selected "Enter" and nothing happened. After a while, I pressed another key. Still nothing. Tried Ctl-Alt-delete to shut down. Still nothing. Had to pull the plug.
Rebooted into Lupu 636, moved the 02 SaveFile into the 2nd level directory and rebooted into dlite05 without incident.
I think I have resolution at 1600x900x24 via "probe" --note my graphics is Ati Radeon-- but will confirm once I install Hardinfo. Edit: Confirmed & using Ati Radeon --this is the builtiin 3100 graphics card.
Opera 11 ran from mnt/home and downloaded Flash. Rebooted creating SaveFile without incident. My WEP setting had been retained and was able to immediately play a Youtube vid with sound.
One thing I've noticed with ALL recent dpups is that the tray volume icon Always shows the "x" one would expect when sound is muted. Left-clicking the icon will mute and unmute sound, but the "x" never disappears.

More later after I've explored some.

Edit: I miss having desktop partition icons. Anyway to get them?

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 03:48    Post subject:  

cant use package manager. busted link.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3420
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 08:18    Post subject: Squeeze 5x D-Lite  

Manusl frugal install, installed xorg_high.
Added devx and a few apps.
Sound,network okay.
It's working well Smile

Mon 8 Aug 2011 Operating System: D-Lite Puppy-5.0.5 Linux 2.6.39
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nv
X.Org version: 1.7.7
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa Project
OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.7.1

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600
Core 0: 1603 1: 1603 2: 1603 3: 1603 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 10:40    Post subject:  

Bert wrote:
Squeeze 5x D-Lite has problems with my wide screen monitor, a Samsung SyncMaster BX2235. Both 2.0.4 and 2.0.5 have this problem and so has pemasu's Esprimo...

Whatever I try with Xorg Wizard or with the screen's own settings buttons, there's a black rim to the left, not filled by the desktop.
Only the screen's maximal resolution (1900 x 1050 or something like that) is displayed without flickering, but still with the black rim, about 6 cm wide.

After selecting the 1900 resolution, I can go back to lower resolutions without flickering , but with black rims on both sides of the desktop.

When Firefox is maximized the buttons at the right hand upper corner are out of the window, so not available for use.

The taskbar/ tray at the bottom is barely visible, about 2 mm high. When clicked it rises maybe another 2 mm, but stays just an empty dark bar.

Just reporting Wink


Thanks for reporting Bert,

To be honest im not sure what is causing your problems or what to suggest to try and fix it - if you can open package manager maybe try installing the accelerated graphics from the debain repository:
libgl1-mesa-dri_7.7.1-4_i386.deb
and
mesa-utils.deb
Sorry i can't be of more help Bert Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 10:43    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:


do you have a wl.ko pet?


Hi Jim3630,
No i have no .pet for this - i wouldn't know where to start with compiling kernels and drivers and the like - maybe pemasu has posted a .pet for this as he seems to be well up on wifi ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [130 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0728s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]