Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Feb 2019, 06:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to change display resolution of AcerAspireOne 522?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2011, 04:47    Post subject:  How to change display resolution of AcerAspireOne 522?
Subject description: Puppy 525. Need 1280x720 *Solved*
 

Hi.
I need to change resolution on my netbook.
Acer Aspire One 522 10' (1280x720)
When i run xorgwizard — cant find this resolution.
So always auto change it on 800x600

ps puppy 5.25

Last edited by inkid on Sat 13 Aug 2011, 10:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3445
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2011, 16:24    Post subject: Re: How to change display resolution of Acer Aspire One 522?
Subject description: Puppy 525. Need 1280x720
 

inkid wrote:
Hi.
I need to change resolution on my netbook.
Acer Aspire One 522 10' (1280x720)
When i run xorgwizard — cant find this resolution.
So always auto change it on 800x600

ps puppy 5.25

That´s why I do not use 525.
wary has xvesa and xvesa has 1280x720 and I am happy with xvesa. Cool

Wish you get better answers Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11725
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2011, 18:27    Post subject:  

Puppy 5.2.5
On desktop click on Quickpet icon
Drivers tab->click here to test your graphics card
Install recommended driver
Follow directions carefully.
May help.

Puppy 5.2.5 is not designed to support netbooks, but does work.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Sat 06 Aug 2011, 03:43    Post subject:  

L18L wrote:
That´s why I do not use 525.
wary has xvesa and xvesa has 1280x720 and I am happy with xvesa. Cool

Wish you get better answers Smile

10x, maybe i will try wary

bigpup wrote:
Puppy 5.2.5
On desktop click on Quickpet icon
Drivers tab->click here to test your graphics card
Install recommended driver
Follow directions carefully.
May help.

Puppy 5.2.5 is not designed to support netbooks, but does work.

test dosent work with my card. (AMD HD 6250)

so, any thought, except wary, what i must try with my netbook.

10x a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Sat 06 Aug 2011, 09:11    Post subject:  

some apdate.

i try wary, luci268, fluppy — without luck. no xorg no xvesa:(
need some specific driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11725
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Aug 2011, 15:20    Post subject:  

Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 does not have the driver you need.

At ATI support the HD 6250 needs this driver.
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/linux/Pages/radeon_linux.aspx

Read the release notes for how to install.

You will probably need to install the DEVX package for Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 to have the programs needed to make the ATI installer work.
Get it here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65136

The DEVX package is a special SFS file.

If Puppy is a frugal install:
Put the DEVX file in /mnt/home
Use the program Bootmanager Configure bootup
To load the DEVX file on bootup.

If Puppy is a full install:
In a file manager program (Rox-filer)
Left click on file and it will install.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 13:12    Post subject:  

bigpup , i'm already try ATI drivers, but after aticonfig --initial Xwin not load.
buy the way, ATI Catalyst not load too. initiaization error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11725
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 16:32    Post subject:  

inkid wrote:
bigpup , i'm already try ATI drivers, but after aticonfig --initial Xwin not load.
buy the way, ATI Catalyst not load too. initiaization error

Need more details.
You do what?
You see what?
What happens at a certain step is a big clue as to what is happening.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 02:39    Post subject:  

1. boot Puppy525 from USB with default parameters.
2. run & install ati-driver-installer-11-7-x86.x86_64.run
3. in console type aticonfig --initial
4. reboot X
5. X don't load. So i run xorgwizard and set 800x600, then run xwin

6. ATI Catalist control center don't load with same error like in pic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 02:14    Post subject:  

after install ati driver, type aticonfig --initial:
Found fglrx primary device section

there is xorg.conf after operations

Code:


#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.
# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font paths to be set
# **********************************************************************
# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************
#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...
#PuppyHardwareProfile=AMD_ATOMBIOSAUO

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
   Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Files"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)
   FontPath     "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/X11/fonts/TTF/"
EndSection

Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.
# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
# This loads the font modules
#    Load        "type1"
#    Load        "freetype"
# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
#   Load       "xtrap"
# This loads the GLX module (if present). xorg 7.4/5 need explicit disable to disable...
# This loads dri module (if present). 7.4 loads it by default, have to disable...
#    Disable "dri"
   Load  "dbe"     # Double buffer extension
   SubSection "extmod"
      Option       "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
   EndSubSection
   Load  "glx" #LOADGLX
   Load  "dri" #LOADDRI
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.
#    Option "DontVTSwitch"
# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...
# with the old Xorg behavior (pre-7.4)...
#    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"
# Xorg 7.4, Ubuntu Jaunty, CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE is disabled by default...
   Option       "RandR" "on"
# With this, Xorg won't talk to HAL to add evdev devices and you'll be back
   Option       "AutoAddDevices" "false"
# For no-Hal, kirk also suggests this...
   Option       "DontZap" "false"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option       "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option       "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option       "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Driver      "fglrx"
   BusID       "PCI:0:1:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection



but Xwin still not load.

btw. 1 time it working, after install driver, i try redo algoritm, but i cant (
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1573
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 07:22    Post subject:  

Hello inkid

I have an ACER-AS5552 laptop here,
and the following procedure is what i found to work on Lupu-525.

    Step 1.
    Download both of these:

    Then use the BootManager (Menu > System > BootManager configure bootup)
    to load them, and then reboot.


    Step 2.
    Using the PPM (Menu > Setup > Setup Puppy > Puppy Package Manager)
    type: mesa
    into the find box
    and click Go
    You should get one result: Mesa-utils-7.7.1-Lucid
    click on it to install it.


    Step 3.
    Open a terminal/console
    and enter the following commands (one at a time)
    Code:
    cd /usr/src/linux-2.6.33.2

    Code:
    make prepare

    Code:
    make modules_prepare


    Now change directory to where you have your: ati-driver-installer-11-7-x86.x86_64.run file located,
    in my particular case, that was at: /mnt/home/downloads
    Code:
    cd /mnt/home/downloads

    Code:
    sh ati-driver-installer-11-7-x86.x86_64.run


    Now follow the sequence in the pics below (pics 1 to 5),
    then continue with the next step


    Step 4.
    In the terminal/console that you still have open,
    enter the following commands:
    Code:
    cd /lib/modules/fglrx

    Code:
    ./make_install.sh

    After running that last command you will most likely see this message:
    Quote:
    WARNING: Deprecated config file /etc/modprobe.conf, all config files belong into /etc/modprobe.d/.

    DO NOT worry about it, everything is fine.

    Close the terminal and any other windows you may have open,
    then REBOOT (do not simply restart X server)


    Step 5.
    When back at the desktop, you need to fix the menus,
    how you do this depends on what WM you are using.

    Before doing that,
    go here: /usr/share/applications
    and delete the file called: amdccclesu.desktop (note the su on the end)
    We do not need that as we are always root.

    If you are still using the default Openbox,
    do: Menu > Openbox > Refresh menu

    if you are using JWM,
    open a terminal/console
    and enter the following command:
    Code:
    fixmenus

    close the terminal,
    then do: Menu > Shutdown > Restart JWM

    If you now look in: Menu > System > System Status and Config
    you will see a new entry: ATI Catalyst Control Center
    if you click on that,
    you should get something similar to the image ati-lup525.png below.


NOTE:
Not once did i run the command: aticonfig --initial


Hope that helps
CatDude
.
1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   92.43 KB
 Viewed   7834 Time(s)

1.png

2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   13.82 KB
 Viewed   7737 Time(s)

2.png

3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   92.66 KB
 Viewed   7759 Time(s)

3.png

4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   89.83 KB
 Viewed   7777 Time(s)

4.png

5.png
 Description   
 Filesize   92.78 KB
 Viewed   7847 Time(s)

5.png

ati-lup525.png
 Description   
 Filesize   115.86 KB
 Viewed   7902 Time(s)

ati-lup525.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 04:44    Post subject:  

awesome. It works! thanks to you CatDude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1573
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 09:56    Post subject:  

Hi
inkid wrote:
awesome. It works! thanks to you CatDude

Cool No problem mate, glad i could help.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inkid

Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Ua/Kh

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 06:30    Post subject:  

2 CatDude
maybe you can help me with audio and sleep problem?

1. audio doesn't work anywhere.
2. netbook don't go in sleep mode, when i close it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 06:58    Post subject:  

CatDude you are a true Gem.

Even I would be able to do that thing following your description.

Much appreciated.

Quote:
netbook don't go in sleep mode, when i close it


It is not an easy thing.

Here is my usual very naive comment. Take it as a friendly smile. Here goes

Has Lupu 525 promised to be able to put a Netbook to sleep? Smile

Quote:
audio doesn't work anywhere.


This forum has many many threads about that problem. It has to do with how one do things in needed order and them have put in a delay that allow things to be in right order but it seems also to be dependent on how one act on cues from the pop up.

Now this late I guess you should either right click the loudspeaker icon in the lower right corner and chose full screen and up the needed bars there. Loudspeaker, headphone PCM and so on.

You can go into Menu > Set up... look for Alsa sound wizard in Set up.

But there you have to know which soundcard you have. Do you know that Smile

what if this guy has same problem or the solution is similar.
Test to read this thread
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70927

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0844s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]