Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 11:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.15
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 112 of 148 [2207 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, ..., 146, 147, 148 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 14:07    Post subject:  

Gerry. I am not sure if it is timing problem with initialization of wireless connection, problem of having 3 wireless wizards and several daemons...of if there is something which I should do differently with Frisbee. There is /etc/init.d/Frisbee demon script....I have in /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect as Frisbee. In /root/Startup/frisbee-tray which launches /usr/local/bin/frisbee-tray binary. And whole bunch of scripts in /usr/local/Frisbee. Also there is 2 setup for dhcpcd.
Sns with its own folder in /usr/local and also the old network classic wizard.
/etc/rc.d/rc.network script also handles wireless connection initialization.

So....it really goes over my horizon from where should I start to search for the fix.

If someone has an idea...I am all ears....er....eyes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 15:10    Post subject:  

That certainly sounds like a timing or load sequence problem, and it seems to me frisbee came into use to resolve an undealt with longstanding issue with DNS fails, as some routers aren't set for dhcp, thus failing to assign correct IP addresses - I lost count of the number of people I helped by sorting that out....but not finding wlan at all seems more like the driver not finished loading when frisbee tries to connect, which could be a kernel module or driver timing or sequence problem, and just maybe connected with trying to sort out the radeon problem hogging cpu cycles....best I can suggest

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 17:14    Post subject:  

Thanks both of you. Which program is it that puts up the pop-ups saying "eth0 is down" or "Acquired IP address...."? I found the menu entry for disabling Frisbee, and set up wlan0 using the old wizard. Now wireless springs to life ok. But I have no icon to tell me that I'm connected. The pop-ups still happen, so I can see it happen, but no on-going indication. The pop-ups used to happen when Frisbee was running, so presumably various programs are fighting. So if I could have an icon to show I'm connected.........

It's a pity we have several programs to do the same job- there must be one that's reliable enough to be sufficient by itself?

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 17:21    Post subject:  

The binary behind those popups is xpupsay.
You can install network_tray to have the traditional net connection tray app.
network_tray-2.4.3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  network_tray-2.4.3.pet 
Filesize  5.48 KB 
Downloaded  87 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 17:47    Post subject:  

Thanks gerry - happened with my 5.X.9 frugal install too on a ThinkPad T60 (widescreen, Raedon). While I suspected a load order/module conflict issue similar to that discussed elsewhere (in sc0ttman's Akita thread, from memory), I opted just last night to remove and install iguleder's GuyDog5.0.1 instead. (Doh!) Bit frustrating, as pemasu's PolarPup5+Frisbee is an absolute joy for eduRoam connections on the same machine (about 5 Puppies+WinXp). Please post a progress update 'cos I REALLY want to follow the dpup line.
Cheers too Aitch and pemasu for your rapid input here.

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 18:23    Post subject:  

I will check my laptop-tools-all-dpup package and search if there is incongruences regarding the app locations and from where Frisbee calls them.
I hope 5.X.13 is soon ready. I have done my kernel compiling and hopping now. 3.1.10 - 3.2.1 and 3.2.2 all works for me. Back to 2.6.39.4 with BFS or without.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 18:33    Post subject:  

@Puppyt- as you can see, I've disabled Frisbee. Sounds as if you would need to do something better, like delay frisbee. I might look at that one day, but can't promise anything.

With regard to the video, my problem is that xorg selects the default resolution, whereas my old eyes prefer a lower resolution. There are lots of xorg.conf files. xorg.conf is what xorg uses when it starts. There is also
xorg.conf.ATI_ATOMBIOSLP154W02_TL0 which is constructed at boot-up, and includes the default resolution, as well as xorg.conf.ATOMBIOS, which contains the resolution setting that I want.

At boot-up, xorg.conf is built using the ****P154W02_TL0 version, ie default values. If I later do RESTART X, then the plain ATOMBIOS one gets used, and I get the resolution that I chose in the xorg-wizard.

So the problem is to get xorg to start using the version that's been modified by xorg-wizard, instead of the nice fresh one that's just been freshly minted.

bedtime.....

gerry

_________________
75, and still learning
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 18:52    Post subject:  

@pemasu.... I've installed that tray pet, thanks, so I'm happily running with Frisbee disabled.

Not a solution really- just a work-around.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3259
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 21:02    Post subject:  

Note to pemasu:

I tried using the 'Trash' feature. I realized that there
is something wrong with the
version of xmessage that you have in exprimo.

The message is garbled. I think you must be using an old version.

I inserted Fluppy 013 's version of gxmessage and it
gave the message correctly.

Try one of these pets and see if it works for you.

One is xmessage from the recent Slacko
and the other is gxmessage from Fluppy 013
gxmessage-fluppy.pet
Description  Taken from Fluppy
pet

 Download 
Filename  gxmessage-fluppy.pet 
Filesize  10.25 KB 
Downloaded  91 Time(s) 
xmessage-slacko.pet
Description  Taken from Slacko
pet

 Download 
Filename  xmessage-slacko.pet 
Filesize  7.06 KB 
Downloaded  82 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3259
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 21:07    Post subject:  

Here's a picture of the message.
It should say that files are being deleted.


___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan 2012, 02:12    Post subject:  

Xmessage comes from woof2. It is inside xorg_base package-template.
I upgrade it to the newer version. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan 2012, 05:10    Post subject:  

I have pm`d to BarryK of my strange problems recently.
It looks like I have to start with fresh woof2. I have corruption with my used one.
Well....it means couple of days work, with my otherwise busy timetable with my other activities.
But I should have sane build then. The 5.X.13 specs are already almost done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan 2012, 14:01    Post subject:  

It went much better than I thought. I have uploaded test version now. Frisbee has gone through thorough checking and I have changed several application locations and I found couple of binaries unnecessary duplicated.

This upload serves as test for all recent Barry Kauler woof commits...including underdog probability. Whats that...use search...check Barry`s blog and you know.

UPLOAD finished.

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/DpupSqueeze5X/DpupExprimo5X13/

Last edited by pemasu on Wed 01 Feb 2012, 02:20; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan 2012, 14:07    Post subject:  

Downloading, will the existing kernel source be OK?

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan 2012, 14:09    Post subject:  

Jim1911. Wait 10 minutes. It seems that FireFTP uploaded devx sfs first and main iso takes 10 minutes still. Just noticed.
Kernel source is...and has been ok all the time. Link posted in the first page.
I didnt change the kernel to non-BFS version yet. I know that some radeon users will have problems because of that. But...I dont have any problem...and also many other wont. And...there is atm so many good Puppies to choose.

I could make non-BFS build also...if there is real wish for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 112 of 148 [2207 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, ..., 146, 147, 148 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1031s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0266s) ][ GZIP on ]